We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
APA Hotel Shibuya Dogenzakaue
Nearby Hotels
US$375
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$334
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sakura Hotel Hatagaya(Shibuya)(Great Value!)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$478
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$266
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
29
153
74
22
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
153
74
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstravelling lightquick strollfunctional hotelgreat budget hotellast minute bookingminute walkbig tvcomfy bedcherry blossom seasonscramble crossingrooms are smallwestern standardsamenities providedexcellent locationvending machinelots of restaurantslaundry room
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Very close to Shibuya scramble crossing, the hotel is a nice small hotel, rooms are very very tiny, I know that's common in Japan but this one was comparable size to a small cruse cabin. Location is very convenient and every other aspect in the hotel was pretty good, but room size made my stay uncomfortable

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Shared a standard double with my daughter. Beds were hard, pillows harder. Tiny room. Since I booked late, there were not many good choices in Shibuya around New Year's. I prefer the Cerulean by far but it was already booked.

Water pressure in shower and the heater for the room were good. Cleanliness, not so much. The carpet looked dirty in the room as well as in the hallway. A non-smoking hotel which I appreciated.

About a ten minute or fifteen minute walk to the heart of Shibuya, including the famous Shibuya crossing. I like to go to the Starbucks at Shibuya crossing. You order and get your drink downstairs then go upstairs to sit since the upstairs looks over the crossing. Hundreds of people crossing at the same time, especially beautiful on a rainy day when there are a sea of colorful umbrellas.

An odd thing about this hotel. The politics of your hotel owners may or may not matter to you. If not, skip this paragraph. There were books in the room advocating for extreme right-wing positions, minimizing the rape at Nanking, etc. My daughter and I found it offensive. With the lack of cleanliness and the political positions of owners of the APA hotel chain, we will stay somewhere else next time we are in Tokyo.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loveworldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I picked the hotel since it was the only hotel available around shibuya area during the new year eve 2013, all hotel were fully booked since 2 weeks before NY. However, i found my self enjoying the hotel very much, its around 800m from the shibuya station hatchiko exit and the famous shibuya crossing.There are at least 2 7-11 and a number of other convenience store you can find between the hotel and station. Harajuku and meiji shrine is 1 station away and you can actualy walk from shibuya station.

Finding the hotel was a bit of a challenge at first since i couldn't connect to the internet. The closest station to the hotel is obviously the shibuya station, take the exit no 6. Once you came out to the street level, find a tall 109 building and walk up the hill to the left side of the building. After 200 - 300m walk, you should find KFC at your left, by this time the APA signboard should be visible on the horizon, keep going for another 500m, you should find the hotel.

Room Tip: If you are not a smoker, make sure you get a non smoking room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agung S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The hotel exhibited the very essence of Japanese design - compact, clean and efficient. I shared a double room with my husband and even though we only had a 21" carry-on, it took up all the free space on the hotel floor when I opened it up.
The room was well-designed and utilized very inch of space: a work station, chair, mini fridge and a double bed flushed to the wall pretty much took up all the space and we had the the "large" room. Do note there were no wardrobe but they provided a couple of wall hooks and hangers to hang up your coats etc.
The bathrooms were clean with had a mini bath-tub adequate for a hot Japanese-style bath. APA provided good quality toothbrushes and combs which was very helpful as I'd forgotten to pack mine. I also liked the fact that they had 2 different colors for the towels, so you are unlikely to mistakenly use another person's.
The bed was comfortable but we couldn't lower the temperature in the room (it was set to the heating mode for winter), so it became stuffy at night and we didn't sleep too well in those couple of nights.
Hotel WiFi worked fine and we didn't have any issues connecting to it.
The hotel is located about 300M from Mark City - a large shopping mall which sits on top of Shibuya Station where you can either take a bus or the Narita Express (speed train) to Narita Airport. The hotel is also surprisingly close to the world-famous Shibuya Crossing and 109 Shopping Centers. Walk all the way through Mark City and when you exit at the other end, you can't miss all the neon lights marking the area. If you need late night feeding, there are many ramen noodle and fast food restaurants along the street.
Overall, it's a decent choice for a short 2 night stay and to explore Shibuya but could get claustrophobic if you stay on longer.

Room Tip: Book the biggest room you can get and leave your big luggage(s) with the front desk. Otherwise, you won't have much walking space in the room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

If you're uptight, a little claustrophobic, or one of those travelers who has clothes laying EVERYWHERE around the room....this place isn't for you.

But if want some welcomed discipline in keeping things neat and orderly for space' sake, and up for a little adventure, then check out the APA...at least for a night or two.

It is very close to the station. Why anyone would walk from the Shibuya station with lots of luggage up the slope to the APA is beyond me, when you can jump in a taxi for a 4 minute ride and a $7 fare and have them drop you off right in front. Granted, you may not be the most desirable passenger for such a short trip, but they do it all the time.

As other reviewers have stated, this is a boutique type of hotel with very small rooms. Apparently, it's Japanese style. I travel light and tend to do laundry often, and even with a small suitcase, I found the only place to keep it was behind the entry door. You have to keep things picked up and in their place, or it makes a small space even that much smaller.

First off, the hotel is located right in the heart of Shibuya. It's several blocks away from the famous Shibuya intersection/crossing. It's a 5 minute walk to the Time Square of Tokyo. Take a trip down any side street and alley and you'll find a treasure of wonderful small restaurants, bars and standing sushi bars. The staff at the hotel is extremely kind and helpful although their English is really difficult and not the easiest to understand. A little patience and you'll get there.

The Rooms are very clean, promptly kept/bed service, a small bathroom and small work space counter. The bathroom for being small, was very functional for it's intended use. If you're a bathtub type of person, enjoy the tiny tub. As far as the shower goes, the water pressure is great and there's plenty of room to wash up. If you're wanting a great view from your room, don't count on it. Remember, the rooms are small so they're the perfect wrap up of a long day or working/shopping/sight seeing, whatever. THere is so much to experience in Tokyo that your room should be to crash, flop, pass out. :-) Because the APA is sandwiched between two tall buildings, it's not known for breath taking vistas of the city scape. It's not for viewing the city or hosting friends. Do that in the bar down by the lobby.

Right behind the hotel is the famous Kaikaya by the Sea restaurant. And a bunch of others! INCREDIBLE food, INCREDIBLE wait staff. You'll feell like a very welcomed guest. It seats about 30 people so you'll want to go early or sometime after 9 to get a table. Between 6 and 9, forget it without a reservation. As is true for many of these great little restaurants in the neighborhood alleys off the main thoroughfare in this district.

PROS: In the heart of the action, super clean, great and friendly staff, a very comfy bed, and very affordable for the awesome location, and lots of restaurants and shopping all within a few minutes walking distance. It's worth a try. LIve a little, move outside the pampered comfort zone and have some creative fun.

CONS: Very Small rooms, and there's only one elevator (lift). IF you're on one of the high floors, it may take you a good while to get down. Staff english is poor.

Room Tip: Unless you can get a room which faces the main street, there's really no awesome views. So i'd suggest being as close to the ground floor as possible because there's only one lift / elevator and you can wait a good 5+ minutes, especially during checkout, to get down to the lobby. The lift only fits about 4 people with luggage.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews