We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stone throw from Shibuya station in Immaculate affordable value unmatched!”
Review of Shibuya Tobu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
SG
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Stone throw from Shibuya station in Immaculate affordable value unmatched!”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Tokyo is an exciting city, so are railway (world's expensive) and hotels ( pricey)! But Tobu hotel is your above average hotel - get twin singles than double ones as they're bigger in size! Took limited express train around 1000 yen, remember change train at niporri station, get out and change to yamanote line ( green), alight at shibuya station. Once out, (abt 7 min plus walk, pass by lots shops, eatery) look for star bucks, walk along right side, walk towards oicity mall, disney shop, parco. Hotel is Opp denny's. Note difficult get non- smoking room. Got highest floor and each floor has vending machines - beer, drinks! They have free ice too! Recept 24-hr with decent english friendly staff. Gonna go yoyogi park, meiji shrine stone throw away. Hotel extremely clean with exterior brown marble. They don't offer free breakfast but come on, lots of goodies outside! Love diy order of spicy beef veggy soup, egg, rice and fried beef w free drink at 680 yen - will get hold restaurant name later! Will try bullet train bk...slightly more pricey. Be visiting hakone for snow and disney!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammie_lee_kw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    304
    112
    21
    9
See reviews for
112
178
88
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. The location is fantastic for nightlife, it's very close to the clubs so easy to get back to your room.

The lobby is beautiful, but once you get into your room it's a different story altogether. The rooms are small, as to be expected, but what I didn't expect was the lack of effort to put in any kind of storage in that small space. There is no wardrobe or drawers, just a shelf with two hooks to hang up two items of clothing. Made our two week stay a little awkward.

Our room was quite noisy throughout the night, despite our window facing a wall. Lots of chatter from the streets and some kind of generator noise. It did not stop us sleeping, but it's something to bear in mind if you are a light sleeper.

On some days our room appeared not to have been cleaned, just tidied a little.

The staff were always pleasant and helpful, and everyone who served us had good English, I cannot fault that. Internet in the room was included too.

We did not try any food as it felt expensive and the hotel is surrounded by cheap places to eat. I especially recommend the udon shop next door (turn left out of the hotel, it is right in front of you and down some steps.)

It's a 10 minute walk to Shibuya station, very useful for getting about as it links to Shinjuku which will take you anywhere. You can also walk to Shinjuku in roughly an hour.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babytarragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

A friend and I spent 4 nights in Shibuya Tobu Hotel in early February. Shibuya Tobu is in great location about a 4 minute walk to Shibuya station and the famous Shibuya crossing. It is close to restaurants, shops and bars.

Staff were friendly and helpful ( they did send me the wrong way once or twice - but that equals some laughs!). The lobby has free wifi and the hotel has some good restaurants underneath the complex. The rooms were roomy for Japanese standards in Tokyo and most importantly were clean.

Would stay here again in Tokyo and if I was in the Shibuya area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wah_wah02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Suberb service for such a small hotel Super freindly Staff always avaible and English was fairly good

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GNinja357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This hotel is terrible. We checked in and learned that we were put in smoking rooms. We asked that they be changed to nonsmoking per our reservation request and they simply said no. They did not even try to change them. Then we went to the rooms, and discovered that they were both double beds. One room was for our daughter and nephew and suppose to be two twins. We went back downstairs and asked for that room to be changed - again, without looking they said no. We then asked for a cot, they said no, but would give us bedding for the floor.

The rooms reeked of smoke as did the whole floor. The windows were frosted so one couldn't see out of them. The room was dirty. The rooms are very small, but that is typical and not of concern to us.

When I ran the water in the bath to take a shower, it poured out on the floor - from under the bathtub! Same was true for the sink in my daughter's room. Back downstairs to report this - ad the desk attendants said they would 'check it'. They never did and we had 4 days of a nonfunctioning shower in one room and sink in the other.

We ate the breakfast on only one morning - it was terrible - cold where it was suppose to be hot, crust and stale tasting - whether it was Japanese or western fare.

The price is not right - the experience was terrible - and we would have forgiven a lot of it if they were the least bit interested in our problems - but they were not. Stay at the Shibuya Creston nearby - beautiful, less expensive, and great food. I wish we could have switched, but we had paid ahead and they would not refund our money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sfterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Rooms are very small but that is typical in Tokyo unless you can afford a suit. The location is unbeatable! 5 minutes walking distance from Shibuya Station which catches almost all of the major train lines through out Tokyo.

Shibuya is one of the most fun, safe, and interesting districts of Tokyo.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2012

If look forward to nov 2012 If dream to before heregain

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindymamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shibuya hotels
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#8 of 28 in Shibuya
671 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
#12 of 28 in Shibuya
320 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Sakura Fleur Aoyama
Sakura Fleur Aoyama
#9 of 28 in Shibuya
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shibuya Tobu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Tobu Hotel

Property: Shibuya Tobu Hotel
Address: 3-1 Udagawacho, Shibuya 150-0042, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shibuya Tobu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shibuya Tobu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shibuya Tobu Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing