We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, great location!!”
Review of Shibuya Tobu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We loved our two night stay at the Shibuya Tobu Hotel. Very clean and comfortable. Really nice room. It is very close to the JR station and within walking distance of lots of shops and restaurants in the area. The staff were really helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blaire7074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

No-frills hotel located in the hip Shibuya city, 5 mins' walk from the famous Shibuya Scramble Crossing.

Surrounded by countless eateries and shopping malls, it is bustling with life.

It may be difficult locating the hotel from the train station at first, but follow closely to the map and it should take no more than 15 mins.

Simple hotel with small rooms but great concierge staff who were helpful and could speak basic English.

Free WiFi only in the lobby.

Overall good for a shopping trip but would not recommend if you have a lot of luggages because hotel is located on a slope!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank wintryposy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Really amazed at the location. Easy access to rail and people very friendly and helpfull. The place is always buzzing. Recommend the Chelsa Hotel for the live music scene. Endless choices of little places to eat out of.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grinners71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed in a twin smoking room. Location is fantastic. 5minute walk from Shibuya Station, Hachiko exit. 10 minute walk to Harajuku station and Takeshita Dori. 10minute walk to Yoyogi Park which has 2 outdoor basketball courts! Room was big enough for me and my father, I didn't realise I'd booked smoking which kinda sucked, you can definitely smell it, but that was my mistake. I'm not usually too fussy with pillows, but I found these quite uncomfortable. That would be my only complaint. The staff were fantastic, their english satisfactory, we were able to leave our bags in the lobby on the day of check out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liams511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The location of this hotel is absolutely fantastic for someone who wants to be in the heart of things, both day and night. Shibuya Crossing is just around the corner, restaurants are everywhere (a great noodle place next door), convenience stores within a couple minutes walk and within walking distance of Yoyogi Park and Harajuku.

The hotel itself is quiet and clean. Free wifi and information pamphlets in the lobby. Enough English spoken by staff for quick checkin, luggage hold and some small gifts for sale. The rooms were decent sized by Japanese standards with a couple English channels on the TV. The fridge and toiletries are very handy. The only negative I can think of is the pillows were like rocks but I don't think that's uncommon in Japan.

I stayed 5 nights here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel or to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandaBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed for 6 days in this clean and nice hotel. It's in the center of everything in Shibuya may be in Tokyo. You can easily walk everywhere and go everywhere. It's so close by walking to Harajuku also. I highly recommend this hotel. And I will be staying for sure for the second time. Small Hint: Don't stay in the rooms which are back side of the hotel. It might be a little bit noisy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GGursel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

After a one night stay back in November 2011, we chose to base ourselves at the Shibuya Tobu for the duration of our 10 night stay this time. Shibuya is such a fun part of Tokyo that it makes a fantastic base. The heart of Shibuya can be a bit manic, yet at only 5 minutes' walk away the hotel is in a much quieter area.

Service is competent and polite, semi-double room is small but clean, location is FANTASTIC! One little annoyance is there's no luggage rack in the semi-double. Even this small and basic addition would have made a big difference in terms of space, as it means everything (eg two large suitcases, plus whatever shopping you do!) has to sit on the floor - and there's not a lot of floor to spare!

You may not realise, but no more that 5 minutes walk away (in the other direction to where you will normally be coming from) is Yoyogi Park. A nice quiet green space, well-utilised by Tokyoites wanting to escape the hustle and bustle, do some exercise or walk the dog. Keep going through the park and you will eventually reach Meiji Jingu Shrine and Harajuku. Yoyogi Park also hosts great markets some Sundays.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here again on our next trip to Tokyo.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lola_sharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shibuya hotels
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
#12 of 29 in Shibuya
352 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#7 of 29 in Shibuya
719 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Sakura Fleur Aoyama
Sakura Fleur Aoyama
#11 of 29 in Shibuya
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shibuya Tobu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Tobu Hotel

Address: 3-1 Udagawacho, Shibuya 150-0042, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range: £83 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shibuya Tobu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Shibuya Tobu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shibuya Tobu Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing