We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Shibuya Tobu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Tobu hotel is a really good example of value for money in tokyo, compared to other hotels on the same region, that Can be double the price. If you are on holidays and don't spend to much time at the hotel, that should be a good option. The worst point is that the internet Wifi only works at the lobby, that is shame when you think about the technology in Japan.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Giullian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel, it's around 10 minutes away from Hachiko but with so many sites to see along the way the distance from the station is a breeze. One minute away from the hotel is the lively side of Shibuya, but the hotel itself is quiet and calm. Nice restaurants around the hotel (great udon place called Hanamuru) there's a nice Kirin drinking bar and a nice Pub just 2 minutes away!!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Jay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Was recommended this little gem by a friend and it was great!

Convenient location: 5-8 min walk from Shibuya Station (Hachiko Exit); lovely tree lined 15 min walk from Harajuku Station, both on the main JR Yamanote circle line so you can use your JR pass and train for free. 10 min walk to a side entrance of Yoyogi Park (the main entrance was at Harajuku Station); 15 min walk to Takeshita Street in Harajuku. There are a few cafes and convenience stores located nearby in case you need anything as well.

Good sized: We got a standard double room, beds are 140cm wide, which is actually 3 cm larger than the standard Australian double. Room was large enough so they didn't have to put the bed up against the wall which is good night. In other hotels, between hubby and I, whoever sleeps up against the wall has a tendency to knee it in the middle on the night! Hubby had travelled to Japan before and was impressed by the size of the bathroom by Japanese standards (i.e. the shower wasn't directly over the loo). There was a bathtub with a curtain and a shower head instead.

Clean: The hotel room and bathroom was clean and they provided shampoo, conditioner and body wash in dispensers. There were also some other amenities such as toothbrushes, razors, shaving gel, disposable hairbrushes - things that you would not think of really!

We didn't try to find WiFi as we had our own, but I believe there was complimentary WiFi or cabled internet available in the lobby.

Staff at the hotel were friendly, nice and spoke sufficient english (some spoke english incredibly well) to help us with anything we wanted.

We asked for a non-smoking room and actually got a non-smoking room - hubby's past experience (at a different location) wasn't so.

Can't think of any negatives - we loved this spot!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 621. It faced the street but that didn't hear anything. It wasn't a noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vanessaquake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Desided to stay in Shibuya while visiting Tokyo. I haven't noticed any negative sides of the hotel. It is neat, there is Internet access via cable (which was the thing I needed), very polite personnel, many cafes and FamilyMart nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sir_Shurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at the Shibuya Tobu Hotel for three nights. It is in a fantastic location. There is a Family Mart right next door and it is a short walk from the Shibuya train station. Take the Hachiko exit, cross the very busy intersection and stand facing Starbucks. Take the street on the right, then the second left. Pass Parco an your left and it is just up the road. The hotel staff spoke quite good English and were very helpful. The breakfast was ok. It was a mixture of Japanese style and Western style. I had bacon and eggs and toast. There was also fruit, cereal and yoghurt on offer. We had a twin room of a pretty good size by Japanese standards. The bathroom was small but perfectly adequate and very clean. No free wifi in the rooms was a big minus. It was free in the lobby but we didn't find out until our last day that we could have hired a router from the hotel for a cheap rate (we were told by another tourist that you could get wifi for ¥500 per day). Still not sure if that is true because we didn't know about it and we were leaving when we heard out about it. We caught the Haneda airport bus from bus stop 92 which is located on the fifth floor of the Shibuya Mark City East building (across from the Shibuya station). The Narita bus leaves from around there too. I would stay at this hotel again especially if Wifi is available in the rooms. There are lots of restaurants around and great shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dotty3400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The most positive point for the hotel is its location near Shibuya station (if you like shopping, restaurants and bars). Not too expensive, but no free wifi in the rooms and we had a leak in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank virginiec22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The Shibuya Tobu Hotel was exactly what I needed for a short stay in Tokyo. It is close to the major Shibuya Station, with lots of great restaurants and attractions within walking distance. The room was immaculate, and the staff extremely helpful (even with limited English). Safe area at all hours. I cannot imagine a better place for my needs while in Japan.

Room Tip: Keep to non-smoking -- and as close to elevator as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shibuya hotels
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
#12 of 30 in Shibuya
360 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#7 of 30 in Shibuya
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
HOTEL UNIZO Shibuya
HOTEL UNIZO Shibuya
#17 of 30 in Shibuya
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shibuya Tobu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Tobu Hotel

Address: 3-1 Udagawacho, Shibuya 150-0042, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range: £78 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shibuya Tobu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Booking.com, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shibuya Tobu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shibuya Tobu Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing