We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for a short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tokyu Stay Yotsuya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tokyu Stay Yotsuya
Ranked #36 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value for a short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Room was clean but cleaning & bedmaking service is provided only once a week if you stay longer than 6 nights. I stayed here for 7 nights so this was a real downside.
Located in a quiet neighborhood still in the very central of the city. Close to Yotsuya station which crosses 2 metro lines and JR line. Convenient store is on the ground floor.
The breakfast is served in a resturant that has its entrance outside of the building.
Staff at the front desk were nice but less organized.
Good value if you stay less than 6 nights.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globaltrotter09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    70
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
10
37
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Excellent location only one station away from Shinjuku. Minutes on foot to subways and JR Station on a wide pedestrian path straight line one will not be able to miss. Lots of good restaurants in Yotsuya which is a high class residential area for Japanese. Minimart, 24 hour convenient shops all within the same block of the apartment. Equipped with washer n dryer in room. Ask for rooms with small kitchen and crockeries are provided for 2 persons.

Room Tip: Shinjuku Rd facing; noisier as the main drag but when dbl glass doors are closed, no noise No swimm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisatan188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Stayed here a few years back and returned due to it's excellent location near the train stations (2 different train stations). The rooms are compact but have everything you need. The prices are affordable compared to many places in Tokyo. You can walk to Shinjuku (around 20 mins) if you want the exercise. Booking well in advance is advised as it is a business hotel which is why it's cheaper than many. I was unable to book all the nights I needed online, however, once I was at the hotel I managed to get all the nights I needed. The benefit of booking well ahead is that you can avoid the smoking rooms if you're a non-smoker. My fault for leaving everything to the last minute. i just opened the window to air out the room... Including the breakfast option at Jonathan's next door is definitely worthwhile.

Room Tip: nice to have a room facing the main road - you don't hear the traffic but it's nice to be ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monster Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I just returned from a week at the Tokyu Stay Yotsuya and I will definitely stay here again if I'm in Tokyo. The hotel is a few hundred meters from the Yotsuya train station where you can catch the JR line or the subway. From Narita airport I took the Narita Express reserved seat train to Shinjuku station. From Shinjuku you can take the subway to the Yotsuya station. I believe you can also transfer at the Tokyo Station as well.

The hotel room was fairly small but had several amenities including a small kitchenette, HDTV, wired internet, and a washer/dryer unit! The washer/dryer took a few hours to complete the full cycle, but on the extended trip it was really needed.

There are restaurants, convenience stores, and groceries adjacent to the hotel, though no restaurant/bar within the hotel itself. The rate included breakfast at family style restaurant next door, Jonathan's. Most people I encountered in the area did not speak English, but the front desk clerks did speak English, albeit somewhat limited.

I really liked the vending machine that dispensed cold beverages as well as hot coffee in small cans. The beer vending machine was a hit too!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingughidorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

Clean rooms equiped with small fridge, washer/dryer, electric kettle, and microwave. all rooms has split AC. All these things have Japanese instructions, had to go down to reception to switch back my AC to cold air after I found it set to hot.
Bed was a little short but that is very common in Japan. Also on my first night in Tokyo I woke up on a strange buzzing alarm sound which I thought was fire or earth quake alarm to discover that my bed has a built in clock and the alarm was set to 4:30 AM.
the furniture in the rooms looked a little old. The bathroom was okay, they supply you with all what you need, toothpaste and a brush, combs, etc..
Helpful staff that will go an extra mile for your requests, basic knowledge in English though, you might need them and on some shifts no one speaks English.
Breakfast was served at next door Johnathan's with 10 different options of continental breakfast or traditional Japanese, very friendly staff, great service. Various tea, coffee and juice choices.
Rooms facing the main street might be noisy when balcony's door is open, try to get rooms at the back or on higher stories.
Tv has all Japanese channels not very much useful for kids or family.
They also offer a wired internet at rooms, on some rooms you can get a wireless signal from the lobby or so. You might need a small router as I needed one for all the wifi gadgets as my phone and tablet.

Metro station and JR station are a block away, grocery store and restaurants are in walking distance. So much to discover on your morning run or night walk on the back of the opposite street.
I enjoyed staying in there the area and the hotel. If I'm travelling to Tokyo again this will be my first option.

Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Hasson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Have stayed here a number of times now and is my usual stay in Tokyu. Very clean and well run, with great breakfast at Jonathan's next door. Is very close to subway and JR lines and convenient for getting around central Tokyo. And good value.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are away from the main road and have great views towards Shinjuku if you are on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voight-Kampf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed here for a week during my Tokyo Marathon trip. Mine was single room (breakfast included) that was ¥9,000 a night.

Reception staff was really friendly, and even helped me to check in 5 hours in advance. Exterior facade of the hotel looked a bit old, but the surroundings were clean. Room was equipped with kettle, washing machine/dryer, fridge and utensils. Only thing that surprised me was the wardrobe that spanned only 20cm (now, that's really tiny!), otherwise the room was clean and just the right size for me. The LAN wired connection enabled me to access on the Internet via my laptop. Stayed on the 10th floor, facing an office building (?), and hardly any noise could be heard from my room.

Location couldn't be better. It's a 5 minute walk to the JR and Tokyo Metro stations. At least 3 convenience stores, 1 drug store and a couple of small restaurants in the vicinity. The breakfast menu at Johnathan's was great, alongside friendly service too!

I can hardly find any fault with this fantastic, no-frills hotel. The next time I visit the Tokyo area, I am most likely to seek accommodation here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eugeneyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Yotsuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Wing International Premium Tokyo Yotsuya
Shinjuku
Tokyu Stay Nishishinjuku
Tokyu Stay Nishishinjuku
#20 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Hotel New Shoei
Hotel New Shoei
#74 of 81 in Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Shinjuku
Tokyu Stay Shinjuku
Tokyu Stay Shinjuku
#2 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Shinjuku
Hundred Stay Tokyo Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyu Stay Yotsuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyu Stay Yotsuya

Property: Tokyu Stay Yotsuya
Address: 2-1 Yotsuya, Shinjuku 160-0004, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tokyu Stay Yotsuya 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking: 5 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tokyu Stay Yotsuya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokyu Stay Yotsuya Hotel Shinjuku
Tokyu Stay Yotsuya Shinjuku, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing