We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean budget hotel in Shinjuku” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Ranked #7 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Clean budget hotel in Shinjuku”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Hotel can be a little challenging to locate if you are not familiar with the Shinjuku area. It is about an 8-10 mins walk to the Shinjuku station. But once you figure your way, it's actually okay.

The hotel rooms are small which is typical of hotels in Japan. It is very clean and bathroom is of a decent size. They provide slippers, robes and a deodorizer which I found to be a thoughtful touch. We love usingthe deodorizer to rid of food smell from our outer coats/jackets as well as shoes and carpet.

Rates at this hotel are affordable and I would consider returning on my next trip to Tokyo.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mezzapazze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    925
    172
    25
    8
See reviews for
244
945
197
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I noted most of the review here vote the location down -- but if you're in Shinjuku and are shocked and appalled by the Red Light District and ample supply of adult stores, you clearly haven't done your research. The hotel was very comfortable, and was very reasonably priced for our stay. There is a convience store located below the lobby, which made it easy to load up on essentials. You've got more than enough choice when it come to food and drink in the area, just be careful who you follow down a dark alley. I must say, it was slightly annoying to be walking home after a reasonably large night out, only to be pestered by persistent Nigerian men, spruiking their girly bars. Be careful for this, lads. Other than that, a little bit of a walk from the nearest train station, but very central to the nightlife area. Would recommend for friends travelling to experience the raw Shinjuku.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Had a nice 3 night stay in february 2014. It was a little hard to find at first, walking from Shinjuku station as the the signing was limited and the hotel lobby was situated on the 3rd floor above a small convenience store. The staff were welcoming and helped with directions and bookings, but something was lacking. Comming back from day trips they would rarely take their eyes off the computer screens to welcome their guests. This was something very different from staying at a traditional japanese ryokan as we had done previously that week. The rooms were clean and modern but very small. With two large bags, we had very little space left on the floor. The rooms were well sound proofed from the busy streets but you could clearly here every single person that walked through the aisle. When it comes to location, it is good for the price but beware, it is bordering the red light district. When walking through this area we were constantly asked if we were interested in "tittybars" and so on. Later in the evening there were often african men following us up to the hotel elevator, trying to get us to follow them for "a fun night". This was a little uncomfortable. I do however recommend going to the "Golden Gai" district, behind the hotel. This is a series of very small streets with hundreds of very small bars (3-12ppl). We had a great night out, meeting local japanese people and singing karaoke into the early hours of the morning.
This is the perfect hotel for you who wants to experience the hustle and bustle of one of tokyos bussiest districts,and doesnt want to stay inside at the hotel all day. (no other sitting areas than the small lobby. no gym etc.)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LudvigH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairns
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

First stayed in February 2013 and was very impressed. Location simply outstanding with the rail station only 5-10 minutes easy walk away. Dining options galore, at every turn there's a great place to eat...too many to name. All the mod cons expected, well appointed rooms, staff helpful and breakfast great. We were aware that this was bordering on the "Red light" district of Kobuchiko, however it wasn't that apparent.

2014 very very different indeed. The "Red light" aspect of the area has greatly encrouched on the Hotel and is very very visible in the streets surrounding the Hotel of a night. There are men standing outside these establishments up and down the streets trying to coax people in...rather intimidating looking men.

As we returned this time with my Husband and 14 year old son the feeling we had was rather unimpressive of the surrounds and I feel that the area is rapidly declining due to this presence. Would we return to this Hotel based on this last experience.....I would say No!

Absolutely nothing wrong with the Hotel and if you weren't planning on venturing out at night then perhaps I may consider but not likely.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better and Shrine view. We were on the 4th floor and were awoken to fighti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank netballfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

In January I stayed at the hotel for one week, All was well until the last night.. I tripped over loose carpet in my room. The hotel went to denial mode. I broke teeth and my glasses. I photographed the carpet and emailed these to management who replied in poor English there was no problem with the room. They refuse to pay for the cost of damages, They will no longer answer my emails.

If god forbid there was a fire or earth quake you would not want to be here, they could not cope with a simple incident..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank grant m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Clean, quiet, in excellent location right on the edge of Kabuki cho (red light district) and 8 min walk from Shinjuku station. Staff is great, helpful, speaking good English. Nice breakfast. Affordable price. If I'll decide to stay in Shinjuku again, I would choose this hotel. However, I think it would be good to stay at other areas of this amazing city. Metro and train network is so intuitive and easy to navigate, and making Tokyo very easy to get around, being so huge. I enjoyed Shinjuku, very unique and safe, despite being a "red light district".

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kartch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We looked at various reviews on how to get to the hotel after arriving at Haneda airport and though most guests seem to have used to train system to get to the hotel the airport limousine buses are reasonable, efficient and there is no lugging baggage around. The airport limousine bus costs 1200y (~$12) per person, then when we arrived a taxi to the hotel was only another 700y. We arrived late a night and would definitely recommend this as an easy way to arrive.
The rooms are small - it's Tokyo space is at a premium, but we were pleasantly surprised with the well utilised space.
The hotel is going Eco friendly so if you are happy to pass on room servicing for a couple of days then you get 500y voucher per day, which we used toward the breakfast buffet.
The breakfast buffet is OK, fine but nothing to rave about.
Wifi was reliable.
Location was great, right in the middle of everything in Shinjuku (kabuchiko), 5 minutes walk to Shinjuku or Shinjuku sanchome stations, Golden Gai small bar streets behind the hotel. The area is considered to be the red light district but it felt very safe to walk around into the early hours, we even had touts helping us to find our way around.
Couldn't have asked for more, great value, great location, great hotel. For a 3 star hotel you can't expect much more.

Room Tip: Levels 11 upwards are secure levels only accessible by your door key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wabeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#15 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo

Property: Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Address: 1-2-9 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#5 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#8 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo offers a variety of rooms to meet your needs, including spacious 17.5M2 Single Room. All rooms offer complimentary wired high-speed and Wi-Fi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shinjuku
Shinjuku Best Western
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing