We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value in a prime Shinjuku location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent value in a prime Shinjuku location”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights in February 2014. This was my first visit to Tokyo, and I wanted to be within walking distance to the Shinjuku Station. With a little advance planning I didn't have any trouble finding the hotel by walking from Shinjuku Station (about a 7min walk). The location is relatively quiet (for Tokyo) but just steps from the heart of the Shinjuku entertainment district with a plethora of dining, drinking, and entertainment options. The front desk staff were polite and spoke fluent English. My room was a decent size...I was expecting something unmanageably small for the price I paid in such a central location, but I was pleasantly surprised. It was actually a bit larger than single hotel rooms I've stayed at in Paris. The room was quiet, had a nice view, and the bathroom was a decent size and very modern. The housekeepers did a great job everyday and the room was always spotless when I returned from sightseeing.

Most importantly, this location is excellent for transit options to explore Tokyo, and it is also a one-seat ride from Narita Airport to Shinjuku Station on the Narita Express train (about 75/80mins).

The only negatives I can think of were the free breakfast (limited options and some rather strange dishes for breakfast time) and that you have to take an escalator or lift from street level up to the 3rd floor, then take a different lift to the guest rooms. Overall, this is a great choice for travelers who looking for a clean, modern, mid-range hotel without paying the crazy prices of the Park Hyatt, etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobbieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    1,009
    189
    29
    8
See reviews for
271
1,036
203
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Knebworth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel is in Shinjuku and as other reviewers have commented, Shinjuku is not a family place. The hotel itself is ok, but the rooms are small (even for Tokyo). Breakfast was nice and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B_Mark_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Location: The Best Western was a short walk from the JR Shinjuku Train Station. The hotel was easy to locate using google maps navigation. Close to 24/7 store, several restaurants and international ATM facilities.

Hotel: Very boutique in style, the Best Western is located on the second floor, with a lift facility. Staff spoke limited English, but we're very helpful with any request.

Room: Average room size. Modern bathroom facilities. Fairly hard bed and pillows. Wifi and safe included.

View: No balcony with not much of a view.

Summary: This was the first hotel we stayed at upon arriving in Japan. Would book again. Couple in 20 - 30 age bracket. Stayed in a double non - smoking room.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

As it was our first trip to Japan, and we weren't quite sure what to expect, we chose to book into a chain as we thought the English language of the staff etc. would be better. Finding the hotel from the station was a bit of a challenge, especially as we had arrived rather jet lagged, in the dark and bitter cold, but by sheer luck we managed to get there. It would be easy to walk past as the sign is at first floor height, but once we were in, we were very pleased. Yes the room was small, but we had anticipated that based on the fact that when we booked one of the pieces of information about the room was its square feet! Having researched we knew that the hotel was in the red light district, but to be honest, from what we saw it was no different from being in somewhere like Soho, and we experienced no problems. Location is good, it's on all the main train lines. Would stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ling_M_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Myself, wife and 12 year old son stayed at the Best Western Astina in January 12th for 5 nights.

We did a fair research on where to stay in Tokyo as we have never been to the city before. We chose this hotel because it had good reviews, the location and importantly it's ability to accommodate my son in a twin room.

This is what I liked about the hotel.

The beds. The single beds are what I would call king singles. They can easily sleep two.
The room. Clean with a table and chairs and a good size.
The Location. Brilliant. Everything in Shinjuku was at your doorstep. The place had a buzz to it. The red light district was very tame and completely safe.
The Staff. Kind, courteous and efficient.
The breakfast. Included in the price was quite ok without being anything special.
The price. We booked directly 3 months ahead and got a good discount on the room. Excellent value compared to other places we stayed.

In summary. We couldn't fault this hotel and would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hansard6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Hotel can be a little challenging to locate if you are not familiar with the Shinjuku area. It is about an 8-10 mins walk to the Shinjuku station. But once you figure your way, it's actually okay.

The hotel rooms are small which is typical of hotels in Japan. It is very clean and bathroom is of a decent size. They provide slippers, robes and a deodorizer which I found to be a thoughtful touch. We love usingthe deodorizer to rid of food smell from our outer coats/jackets as well as shoes and carpet.

Rates at this hotel are affordable and I would consider returning on my next trip to Tokyo.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mezzapazze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I noted most of the review here vote the location down -- but if you're in Shinjuku and are shocked and appalled by the Red Light District and ample supply of adult stores, you clearly haven't done your research. The hotel was very comfortable, and was very reasonably priced for our stay. There is a convience store located below the lobby, which made it easy to load up on essentials. You've got more than enough choice when it come to food and drink in the area, just be careful who you follow down a dark alley. I must say, it was slightly annoying to be walking home after a reasonably large night out, only to be pestered by persistent Nigerian men, spruiking their girly bars. Be careful for this, lads. Other than that, a little bit of a walk from the nearest train station, but very central to the nightlife area. Would recommend for friends travelling to experience the raw Shinjuku.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,285 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#14 of 82 in Shinjuku
963 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo

Property: Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Address: 1-2-9 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Shinjuku
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#5 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#8 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo offers a variety of rooms to meet your needs, including spacious 17.5M2 Single Room. All rooms offer complimentary wired high-speed and Wi-Fi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shinjuku
Shinjuku Best Western
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing