We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo(Shinjuku)
US$438
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$302
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shinjuku Prince Hotel(Shinjuku)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$388
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$757
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$470
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveller rating
82
215
100
23
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
215
100
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyour luggagelocker keyone nightalarm clockshoe lockerslight sleeperfemale floorlocker arearemove your shoescoin opprivate showermen and womenfourth floornormal hotelbring earplugsbit hard to findmister donut
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 438 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2011

The hotel was hard to locate upon arriving in Shinjuku. It is actually located between the 3-7th floors of a building. I managed to walk past it a couple of times. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Staying in a capsule is unique and cheap experience. Basic toiletries are provided complimentary. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AMJ726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The experience I gained from staying in my first capsule hotel was unique. I was full of apprehension and nervousness before I first entered the capsule hotel as I just didn't know what to expect when I got there. I was pleasantly surprised though with my experience overall. The one thing I got to notice about this hotel is that the hotel owners and most of the guests place a massive emphasis on cleanliness. I could not fault the cleanliness of the hotel. In fact the whole place has to be vacated at 2pm everyday for 2 whole hours so that the cleaner (1 young Japanese man who worked so hard he reminded me of a robot) could go to town on the place, and when you came back to the hotel it was spotless, and I mean absolutely immaculate. If there is one problem with the hotel then it is that you only have a capsule and nothing else, and you have to always keep making trips to your locker to get a change of clothes etc. If you are travelling light then it is an ideal place to stay, especially seen as you can just wear all the clothes provided by the hotel when you are staying here. make sure you make full use of the washing facilities as well, which in itself is a unique experience to a westerner as the Japanese spend literally hours washing and grooming themselves, something I found amusing at first, but gradually began to accept as part of their culture. Also if you have never used a toilet in Japan, you will be astonished at the technology used on Japanese toilets. It had a wonderful array of buttons and gadgets that I found myself pressing. In my opinion it is worth staying in this hotel just to experience going to the toilet, and I'm not even joking!! As for the area itself, if you are visiting Japan what more could you want? Shinjuku station, the world's busiest station just around the corner, the red light district with its bright lights and busy streets that literally never sleep. Fantastic, would definitely go back to this hotel if travelling alone again. Beware of the South African men hanging around Shinjuku at night though, they offer you the promises of beautiful women in strip bars, only to be led down an alley way and forced to hand over your money for no service. Never happened to me but I heard a story from another British guy out there. Just try and give them a friendly 'no, I'm not interested thanks', but be warned the guys really hassle westerners.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Location : 5 mins from Shinjuku Station and Studio Alta east exit. Branching off line for
many metro lines, and trains to major cities like Osaka/Kyoto. JR Yamonote
circle line and Chou Express to Tokyo Stations included in JR pass.
Very difficult to find when you first arrive
Nightlife : one if the busiest in Tokyo, lots of neon lights and billboards, strip clubs and husslers, pinochet arcades
Room : capsules stacked two high, included tv with 10 japanese stations, shelf, mirror, roll down bllind
Clothing : Japanese style robes provided with all toiletries with unlimited refills (towel, shampoo, soap, toothbrush, razor, shaving cream, comb, hairdryer)
Bathing : communal sit down showers, hot tub, massage tub, sauna
Clientele : mostly japanese businessmen, hardly any tourists
Gender : mens only
Food : restaurant with eggs breakfast or cooked fish available for purchase
Storage : lockers provided and seperate room for large luggage
Power outlets : no plug outlets to recharge batteries except at reception desk
Language : reception all speak good english
Extras : clean set of clothes for purchase next day (shirt, tie, socks, underwear)
Pros : best authentic japanese capsule experience, great atmosphere
Cons : roll down shade still has light from hallways, some noise from other capsules
Recommend : yes, would definately stay again

Room Tip: Try to get a corner capsule against a wall
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LondonE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: 部屋は選べません。ネット予約がおすすめです☆
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews