We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value with all basic necessities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Hotel Lonestar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
City Hotel Lonestar
Ranked #43 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great value with all basic necessities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Our main hotel during our stay in Tokyo. We didn't know how to speak Japanese hence we got a police officer to bring us there :). If we had done out research and landmarks properly, looking for the hotel would have been easy.

We stayed in a double standard room(no smoking). It was a simple room. The size is like most Japanese hotel - adequate for your luggage and a small walking area. For the price and since the room was just meant for sleeping it was good enough. The bed was a double bed - could fit 2 man like me (1.8m) just right.
Free wifi, common hot and cold water dispenser at every level, breakfast was simple and filling (croissant, variety of jams, soft buns, toaster to toast, coffee and tea).
The hotel was also located near convenience shops, some restaurants and a very nice stall that sells wonderful ramen - you can ask for more soup if you still have noodle left. The serving was huge and the soup was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luffygomomono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    96
    34
    6
    2
See reviews for
14
46
55
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Good economy hotel. Small room with barely enough space for our luggage. The room was non-smoking but smelled like smoke anyway.

The staff was really nice. I ended up losing my rental cell phone in the cab on the way there and they were super helpful with getting it back for us. They went out of their way to be the liason between us and the cab company and we got it back in the end!

There is a beer machine in the lobby and it's close to a lot of small, good looking authentic restaurants, though we didn't try any of them out.

They have wi-fi in the small cafe/lobby/eating nook - which is where, in the morning, they set out a simple breakfast spread. The breakfast was great for us, a few pastries, fruit, soup, coffee and juice.

This is a great place for a quick overnight - like we did - or a business trip. Though we did have a hard time finding it from the station and ended up taking a cab (approx. US $10).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beckside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geneva
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Nice little hotel and great position close to tokyo's gay scene

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank odeyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aust
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stayed here twice, in March and then April 2012 for about 4 days. The first time in March, I booked a single non-smoking room. The second time, I booked the deluxe single non-smoking room.

HOTEL ROOMS:
The hotel rooms are very small so I think that they work better for small-ish people (I'm 5'2", 55 kg). It really doesn't work for big people with huge luggages. Also the single rooms tend to face the nightclub which plays music up to 3am if you happen to stay over on a Fri and Sat night. I spoke to the receptionist and the deluxe single rooms face the other way (where it's quieter). Also the bed is slightly bigger for the deluxe single rooms and the rooms are only slightly bigger than a single.

I sleep easily so the loud club music didn't bother too much. Also I only had a small luggage as I live in Japan and come to Tokyo for visits/conferences so it was ok.

LOCATION:
The location is very convenient. It's near the Shinjukusanchome metro station (where 4 lines intersect) and on a good weather day, takes about 10-15 mins to walk to Shinjuku station from the North East exit (it's a nice leisure walk along Shinjuku dori which is closed to cars on Sunday!). I generally stay around the Shinjuku and Shibuya areas when I'm in Tokyo and I think that it's a great location if you are there and plan to go out at night.

The hotel is located in the gay area of Shinjuku and generally I found it to be clean, very safe and as a single small Asian woman, I had no problems with people bothering me when walking on the street. I enjoyed walking around and looking at the shops etc. During the day, there are some interesting places around; a great Indian place and a nice Thai place. It's not too far from Shinjuku dori so you can walk there leisurely where there are banks with international ATM. Also the post office around the corner can be used to withdraw money for international travelers (except on Sundays).

CONS:
I don't recommend this hotel for very big people (you'll find that you will have problems with the shower, bath, luggage space) and families (it can get noisy in the weekends). But the staff were helpful and some spoke English (though I speak Japanese so I didn't have any issues).

Also I notice that the beds are very hard. I am used to sleeping on the floor and on futons so I don't mind hard beds so much but if you care, this may not be for you.

INTERNET:
I used the internet computers in the lobby once and found that the net tends to cut off! I had better luck when I used my laptop (only wired internet) in the rooms. The internet is fast enough and served my purpose for looking up emails, watching youtube videos and checking google maps and where I wanted to go. Japan generally doesn't give wifi access and you'll find that most places have LAN access only.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcalex22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Excellent location but despite the renovations, this is still a basic but clean hotel in the shopping mecca of Shinjuku. OK for its price but have stayed in better hotels in this area. Go to the Citadines Shinjuku instead.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaschmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Staff are very happy to help Not a bad location Right near subway and walking distance to centrel Shinjuku Over all good

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GNinja357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed here for 1 night stopover for when we were travelling between Sapporo & Hakone. This hotel is located about 15mins walk from Shinjuku JR station, the hotel is located on a quiet street far from the hustle and bustle of Ikebukuro.

The room was actually very small to our surprise, had you put your suitcase by the corridor of your room you would not have room to walk anymore. Room had all the basic amenities, the bathroom was extremely small as well, lucky for me I was rather small build therefore had no problems, if you were tall, you would probably have to squat down or bend your back when you shower. The bed was rather uncomfortable to sleep on as well, it felt like sleeping on a hard piece of board.

The hotel also as a weird policy of when you go out, you need to leave your room keys at the reception and pick them up again when you return. Not sure why it had to be that way.

The best thing bout this hotel was the free breakfast they offered in the morning which had a fine selection of bread & cereal. The staff was also very friendly and helpful.

Would probably not recommend for long stay and just a short stay and it's extremely small and makes it hard to move your things around the room.

Room Tip: Don't miss out on the free breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ca1ebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Hotel Tateshina
Hotel Tateshina
#59 of 81 in Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Shinjuku
APA Hotel Higashi Shinjuku Kabukicho
Shinjuku
Tokyu Stay Shinjuku
Tokyu Stay Shinjuku
#2 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku New City Hotel
Shinjuku New City Hotel
#37 of 81 in Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Shinjuku
APA Hotel Shinjyuku Gyoenmae
Shinjuku
Hotel Listel Shinjuku
Hotel Listel Shinjuku
#39 of 81 in Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Lonestar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Lonestar

Property: City Hotel Lonestar
Address: 2-12-12 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Lonestar 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shinjuku: Tokyo's second city center. There is a place to relax in this bustling neighborhood, center of many of Tokyo's main transportation routes. The lobby features a modernist touch, with black Italian tile and leather stools. Guest rooms have a minimalist, modern design, accented by framed artwork selected by our own graphic designer. The location offers easy access to the rest of the city, perfect for both business and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Rakuten, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your City Hotel Lonestar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Shinjuku
City Hotel Lonestar Shinjuku, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing