We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sun Members - Shinjuku: Excellent Value!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Members Tokyo Shinjuku

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sun Members Tokyo Shinjuku
Ranked #54 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Sun Members - Shinjuku: Excellent Value!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed at the Sun Members Shinjuka week of 5/7/12 with a group of 38 college students. After reading the limited number of reviews for this hotel, some of which were less than positive, I basically said, "oh well, it's good enough for students, the price is right, and we are in the Shinjuku area of Tokyo." Well, I have no idea why a previous reviewer said this hotel is 'inconvenient'. It is at most a 15 minute walk from Shunjuku station above or below ground (the underground JR-subway connection to the Tokai line runs to within a block of the hotel). Many Japanese noodle houses, including a Yoshinoya (cheapo rice bowl chain - $5-6) are within walking distance. The inexpensive ($10-12) 'Inishi Shinjuku', a hole in the wall located in the alley was exceptional for udon and gyoza. Four things to note about this hotel. First, super nice and attentive front desk staff - sufficient English, helpful and always smiling. Second, nice rooms with good firm beds, down pillows and down comforters (yes, the closets are small but worked fine for two of us in a twin room). Third, the hotel is very clean, and had plenty of non-smoking rooms. Finally, breakfast was great with a reasonable selection of both Japanese and 'Merican' food. All in a nice boutique hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adventurebuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    69
    54
    14
    9
See reviews for
51
31
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in January. Our room was a decent size but there was no place to unpack so we put our suitcases on the small loveseat in the room and lived out of our suitcases. The closet could only hold our 2 coats. There was only one person at the front desk that spoke english well so we made sure to ask her her work schedule so we could ask all our questions then. There was no view from the room since our room faced another building so we didnt not get much natural light in the room. There are many convenience stores and coffee shops nearby and the walk to the Shinjuku train station took about 10-15 minutes. There is a shuttle bus from the Narita airport which stops around the corner from the hotel(in front of the Washington hotel) which make the ride from the airport fast and economical. I found the hotel a good value for the money and I felt safe walking in this area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilana5055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights earlier in the month. Our room for 3 was pretty spacious and even had a cosy 2 seater sofa. Even though our room was on the 7th floor, a view outside the windows was non-existent due to presence of an adjacent building barely meters away. Not that we were complaining since we were out of the hotel most of the time. There are plenty of convenience stores (7-11, Family Mart, Lawson) coffee joints (Doutor etc) and eating establishments along the walking route between the hotel and the Shinjuku station.

The hotel is a 20minute walk from the JR Shinjuku station, with Takashimaya, Isetan and plenty of other shops and departmental stores located within a few minutes walking distance from the station. Walking to Kabukicho from the hotel took about 30minutes. The fastest way to get to the hotel from the train station is by exiting via the South exit, but for some reason we kept getting lost and took the slightly longer route out via the West exit on more than one occasion.

The Tokyo Metropolitan Govt Building is a stone throw away from the hotel. You should definitely check out the free observatory on the 54th floor of the govt building for great views of Shinjuku and Tokyo.

All in all the hotel is very good value for money given the fact that it is located in Shinjuku (though admittedly it is not located in a prime location within the area, but hey you cant have it all). We also managed to find an affordable and convenient airport coach service that took us to Narita Airport from the adjacent Washington Hotel, which was a nice way to bring our holiday to an end.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arbasith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

I was staying in a semi-double room on the 7th floor which only had one double bed instead of two for me and my girlfriend.
Although it was a small room, it was enough for short trips.
The staff were polite but those on duty at night spoke little english.
The heat in the room was not stable, i woke up too hot for two consecutive nights.
JR was our main mode for transport, this hotel is 15 minutes away from the west or the south exit of Shinjuku JR station.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ln4546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Stayed with my kids in this hotel and from our area we take the train to Disney land, universal studio and Tokyo. The tickets are expensive but i heard you can get a special rate by booking your plane ticket with jal. Shopping is abundant in the area . Restaurants are expensive eve at mcdonalds a few blocks away

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Solotraveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

We stayed here Feb 2010 so it's a late review. Hotel was older than some hotels in Tokyo, but the place was efficient and clean. Location was great, walking distance to gov building and other areas of interest. Best thing was the buffet breakfast which was exceptional, the food on offer was abundant and very good, western and eastern. It was definetely value for money and I highly recommend it. It's better than the other hotel we stayed on our way back, can't remember the name off the top of my head, and cheaper too.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fukuoka, Japan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

I chose this because of its proximity to a conference venue (Nat'l Olympic Youth Center in Yoyogi) and for that it was very good (~20 min walk). The hotel itself seemed to be undergoing some sort of work - it was shrouded in scaffolding and there were warning signs in the elevator: "Beware of paint smell." I was thinking, "Oh, great!" but experienced zero discomfort in that regard during my weekend stay. The room was clean, but a little tired-looking. That's why I've rated it a 3 instead of a 4. Semi-double bed was comfortable but I woke up at night because the room was hot and stuffy - I couldn't open the window because of the scaffolding outside. The staff were friendly and helpful - directed me to a good restaurant area and were unfailingly cheerful. All in all, a very average stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank expat_in_Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Washington Hotel Annex
Shinjuku
Keio Presso Inn Shinjuku
Keio Presso Inn Shinjuku
#32 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku New City Hotel
Shinjuku New City Hotel
#38 of 81 in Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku
Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Shinjuku
APA Hotel Higashi Shinjuku Kabukicho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Members Tokyo Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Members Tokyo Shinjuku

Property: Sun Members Tokyo Shinjuku
Address: 3-5-13 Nishi Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Members Tokyo Shinjuku 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN and Agoda so you can book your Sun Members Tokyo Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Members Tokyo Shinjuku Hotel Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing