We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable price and comfortable room”
Review of City Hotel N.U.T.S

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
City Hotel N.U.T.S
Ranked #47 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Bandung
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Affordable price and comfortable room”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I travelled with a small group (4 women, 1 child) and we decided to book the apartment type room for 5 nights. The apartment type itself is located near the hotel, about 5 minutes walk.

The pros are:
- The price are more affordable than book a hotel room
- they provide great quality of toiletries, the towel is changed every day
- the room can accomodate up to 5 people, but of course, it's a little bit cramped if you bring big luggage
- in that sort period of time, we could experience the life of the local people who live at the apartment and the neighborhood is really friendly

The cons are:
- the bathroom is small.
- the security lock at the door could be really upsetting, especially if you're in a rush. So, be careful with it.

Overall, I'd really love to reccomend this hotel (the apartment type room) for those who travelled with a small group and want to live in a secluded, friendly, yet not far from tourist area. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Risa_Prameswari_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    70
    51
    11
    14
See reviews for
40
22
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights with my girlfriend in late March for the hanami (cherry blossom season) and we were very happy with our stay!

Here are the pros and cons to why:

Pros:

+ The hotel's location is perfect. It's located in the heart of Shinjuku, which is debatable the heart of Tokyo. We were in Japan for the blooming of sakura, and were happy to find out that it was only a 5 minute walk to one of the best cherry blossom sites in the country, the Shinjuku National Garden Park. A beautiful place, a must see if you visit the area.
+ There was a soft drink / coffee dispenser in the reception, and clean glasses at your disposal. Three glasses were allowed per day, and you could choose between CocaCola, orange juice, ice coffee and water.
+ You could take a free mirror from the reception which were pretty high quality, and had a lighting function and they usually cost around 3000 yen.
+ Elevator was really quick and of high standard.
+ All the receptionists were really helpful, especially the one with the short hair who spoke brilliant English. There were maps and guidebooks in the reception as well and if you had any questions about translating, tips or sightseeing in general she would write you notes in Japanese, tell you where to go in order to see what and what restaurants you could go to for what meals. Amazing service in general!
+ We stayed in both the western and Japanese style room, and both were nicely furnished with huge TVs and nice lighting. The bathrooms all had different type of beautyproducts for both men and women, such as shaving cream, shampoo, bodylotion, conditioner etc. There were all sorts of accessories as well, like a comb, toothbrush, razor etc.
+ The Japanese style room (which I would recommend dearly) had very comfortable futon beds and a huge bathroom including a electrically warmed seat for the toilet, amazing!
+ We decided to spend an allnighter at a local karaokebar and asked if we could have the luggage at the hotel overnight, which was okay for a price of 1000 yen.
+ Very close to the Shinjuku-Gyommae station which is a very central metrostation in the jungle that is the Tokyo subway. A 3 minute walk from the hotel.
+ The hotel does laundryservice.


Cons:

- Not all of the staff spoke English, which would be confusing at times.
- Smoking was allowed in the reception, which gave the hotel a bad first impression, short lived, but a negative influence nonetheless.
- The western style bathrooms were sort of outdated, and looked as if they were in a countryside hotel in Cambodia, not in the middle of Tokyo. Clean, ofcourse, but sub-par standard compared to the other rooms in Japanese style.

Room Tip: Japanese style!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ado D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Japanese style 'tatami room' for five - though with a party of four. Great central location, close to many of the Tokyo sights, a 2 min walk to the subway and with plenty of places to eat/ convenience stores etc. nearby. The room was clean and the tatami mats surprisingly comfy. Bathroom amenities and free orange juice/soda in the foyer a plus. Only downside to our stay was the weak wifi signal which wasn't always able to be accessed in the room (though easily accessed from passageway and front foyer) and the 'smoking areas' which were everywhere except in the rooms such that the passageways, foyer and lift lobbies were filled with smoke - and subsequently our room if we opened the door at the wrong moment. Otherwise a great stay and for the price and convenience, highly recommended.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ceejay101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We recently stayed at NUTS and it was a good hotel for its price range. It is very close to the Shinjukugyoenmae Station, the room was clean, bathroom was a little outdated but clean and they provided great toiletries. Overall a good place to stay and would recommend it if you don’t want to pay a lot for accommodation in Tokyo but want somewhere central and clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HkTraveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This was one of our first hotels we stayed at in our trip to Tokyo. The rooms were spacious and we had traditional Japanese style room with really comfy floor beddings. There is a TV, a small kitchen, and a clean bathroom. Though I'm not fond that smoking was allowed in the halls and reception area. Really good bargain. It's located in a quiet neighborhood near the Gay district and quite close to the subway.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loraborax3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This hotel was great! I stayed in the 'Japanese Style' room. It was super clean, and I found the staff helpful. The location is great...10 minute walk to the main Shinjuku area, and 2 minutes from the subway. This was definitely not a love motel, as it was filled with travelers!! The bathroom was on the small side, but it did the trick. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lexxa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

This is place was the only bad thing about my entire 3 week stay in Japan. It was so terrible after trying to change to better rooms (or at least the sort of room we had been promised in the booking) we decided to cut our losses and just go to somewhere else.
I could go on about how terrible it is and how bad the service is forever but no point- just avoid it at all costs.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shinjuku hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Hotel Tateshina
Hotel Tateshina
#58 of 81 in Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Shinjuku
Hanabi Hotel
Hanabi Hotel
#57 of 81 in Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Shinjuku
APA Hotel Shinjyuku Gyoenmae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
City Hotel Lonestar
City Hotel Lonestar
#45 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Shinjuku
Sun Members Tokyo Shinjuku
Sun Members Tokyo Shinjuku
#54 of 81 in Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel N.U.T.S? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel N.U.T.S

Property: City Hotel N.U.T.S
Address: 1-16-5 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Hotel N.U.T.S 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located two minutes away from the subway station Shinjuku-Gyoenmae on the Marunouchi line (red line). Situated right by the Shinjuku Park, which has fantastic landscapes and shows all the beauty of Japan as its colors change from season to season, you will enjoy a very restful stay in a quiet area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Rakuten, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel N.U.T.S reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Shinjuku
City Hotel N.U.T.S Shinjuku, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing