We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“woken up at 10:30pm”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of City Hotel N.U.T.S

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel N.U.T.S
Ranked #49 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“woken up at 10:30pm”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

I was asleep when reception rang about swaping rooms. I said that I would deal with it in the morning because I had flown a long way. but they kept ringing back and wouldn't let me get back to sleep. they were friendly but kept me awake

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    69
    51
    11
    14
See reviews for
39
22
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Location was good. Only a few steps away from subway.

The room we stayed in has seen better days. Heavy staining in the washroom, and a very present smokey odor in the room(was non-smoking).

Staff had set up an extra bed as requested via booking website.

Staff was very clear on rules, and when asked about the area she seemed bothered to help us. Map and pamphlets provided on request.

For money paid I'd expect more from the room and better service than offered. Glad only stayed one night here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a night. The lady receptionist spoke little English and was really helpful. Location is good if you want to stay in a quiet suburb place. Conveniently located next to a subway n food outlets. Took a walk and n it's really quaint so good points for location. Not bad locating the hotel. Room size is small but washroom is spacious. They also offer Shiseido hair n facial toiletries. For the price paid, no complaints n best for travellers who tend to just wash up, sleep and then head out again. Not too shabby!

Helpful?
2 Thank Choojx
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Tucked down a little alley, this is a good find for staying in Tokyo. Near the night life area, though I did manage to accidently arrive in the gay and lesbian district by mistake... twice. My girlfriend is now worried ha ha. We had a great stay, everything we expected for the price pad thus the highest rating. I marked the location in my guidebook map before I arrived otherwise it will be hard to find. 2 minutes walk from a subway stop and 10 minutes from the JR station at Shinjuku (East exit). Good Hotel for couples on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chewie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed at City Hotel N.U.T.S as part of a trip involving Kyoto and Osaka. It was a decent (I want to rate it Average-Very Good) but dated place, the surrounding area was good with some enticing options for eating and the subway really close.
I would reccommend it but would delve deeper in looking for a hotel next time to see if there are other options out there further afield in Tokyo but for the price we paid, no complaints.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

I went with 4 of my friends MID april. This hotel was good, clean and location was very toursity, restaurants around were expensive! you get what you paid for, bare minimum. staff were ok, noone spoke english

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niushak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg District, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

1. Very good location near the metro station, on a quiet side street but within 2 minutes from some nice local bars and restaurants.
2. Clean rooms, well equipped bathroom.
3. Inexpensive.
4. Free soda in the lobby

but:
5. Room was tiny for the designated number of guests.
6. Some of us had poor wifi (3 out of 5 had to access it from reception area).

In general, worth considering, especially if you are not planning to stay for more than just a couple of days.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lukasz555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Hotel Tateshina
Hotel Tateshina
#59 of 81 in Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Shinjuku
Hanabi Hotel
Hanabi Hotel
#57 of 81 in Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Shinjuku
APA Hotel Shinjyuku Gyoenmae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
City Hotel Lonestar
City Hotel Lonestar
#43 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Shinjuku
Sun Members Tokyo Shinjuku
Sun Members Tokyo Shinjuku
#51 of 81 in Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel N.U.T.S? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel N.U.T.S

Property: City Hotel N.U.T.S
Address: 1-16-5 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Hotel N.U.T.S 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located two minutes away from the subway station Shinjuku-Gyoenmae on the Marunouchi line (red line). Situated right by the Shinjuku Park, which has fantastic landscapes and shows all the beauty of Japan as its colors change from season to season, you will enjoy a very restful stay in a quiet area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel N.U.T.S reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Shinjuku
City Hotel N.U.T.S Shinjuku, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing