We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable and quiet hotel with all the basics you need”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinjuku
Ranked #43 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A comfortable and quiet hotel with all the basics you need”
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Very nice simple hotel without any excessive luxury. We stayed here for two nights and we had a nice room with a very nice Japanese style bathtub. Even though the rooms are small, which they might be in any other place as well, the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast we got served in our room was quite tasty as well.
I would recommend this place for anyone who wants to go to Tokyo and doesn't want anything too fancy, but still would like to enjoy some luxury.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdejong83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    76
    41
    5
    1
See reviews for
10
57
22
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

The Villa Fontaine is an easy hotel for a short stay in one of Tokyo's busiest spots, with fast accessibility to the rest of the inner city.

The hotel itself is no-frills - no onsite restaurant, no room service, a very basic breakfast that you eat in your room. There's no sense of the hotel pampering you. On the other hand, why would you want to be cocooned indoors with the wild variety of food and drink, sightseeing and entertainment just streets away?

Based on previous reviews we chose a superior room, and it delivered - large (QS) bed by Tokyo standards and comfortable (important for my 6'2" partner); a really good bathroom in the traditional Japanese configuration (wash/shower followed by a deep bath for relaxing). There's coffee-and-tea facilities, and a small bar fridge. TV is local, but you can buy access to a good selection of movies with a pay-as-you-go service. The rooms are quiet, with little to no interference from neighbours or outside.

The high-speed LAN is great if you have a laptop (we did) and it really is free (no half-hourly logins, or other conditional access).

The hotel is located smack in the middle of the red-light district, surrounded by love-hotels and bars, but we never felt our safety to be compromised. JR train and subway stations abound within just a few convenient minutes' walk. It meant we could easily adjourn there after a day's sightseeing, to freshen up before heading out for the evening.

Immediately near the hotel (1-3 streets) are an abundance of typical Tokyo eateries - ramen, yakitori, katsu restaurants and others, as well as a burgeoning Korean quarter to the south, so be adventurous. If the immediate area is a bit too seedy for you to hang out in, walk a few blocks north and west - you'll find high-end shopping options including Isetan, and excellent restaurants and bars close by.

The hotel staff were friendly and efficient, and spoke more than enough English to help you with basic needs including location maps, arranging taxis, etc..

As multiple-time visitors to Japan and Tokyo, overall, it was a good experience for us.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissAnd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

My husband really wanted to stay in Shinjuku pon or last trip to Tokyo, and we found this place at a decent rate so booked it. It was a 8 minute walk from Shinjuku station through lots of hustle and bustle. Staff was friendly and helpful ( note they don't take cards, which should not have shocked me.) Room was funky and very clean, TV was nice and big, and the Bathroom I could have actually taken up residence in... I have traveled many places in Japan, and I must say for Tokyo this was a big bathroom. We had a shower area and a huge deep bathtub that I definitely luxuriated in. As well the toilet was a good 3 steps from the bathroom door, as opposed to being at the door which does happen in many hotels. Shinjuku is a nice place to stay as well if you want easy access to the city and Shibuya. It is also a perfectly safe area. It is also very quiet for being in the middle of Shinjuku, but it is a couple of streets away from the busiest areas. there are also thousands of bars, clubs, restaurants, and the like all around you, so if you are going for nightlife than this is the place for you (although a good portion of the entertainment is more pointed toward Japanese people,specifically Japanese men). Overall cool place to stay, and easily accessible.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmericanLadyInUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Service - service is efficient and friendly but do not expect the staff to go over and above their duty to you. Do not expect the staff to lay out the red carpet for you and wait on you 24 hours a day. However, if you are like my friends and I, we don't really want to be pampered by the staff and we would sooner prefer to have efficient and prompt service which is exactly what we got here.

Room - like all tokyo hotel rooms, the ones in this hotel are small. Very little space to do anything except jump into bed. However they do make very efficient use of the space available and most of yr necessary items can be found in the rooms. It even has a mini bar fridge! Plus it also has access to internet broadband.

Location - I think this is the best feature of the hotel..right in the middle of Shinjuku. Within walking distance to everything! And you get to see all sides of life in Shinjuku just by walking around the vicinity of the hotel. A lot of different eating options. A lot of shopping options.

Likes - location. Broadband internet available. clean rooms.
Dislikes - small room but this is to be expected in Tokyo.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inception
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

My fiance and I stayed in this hotel for just over a week and it rounded off our trip perfectly.
Despite the fact that it is located in Tokyo's red light district, if you didnt know it you would think it was like any other street in Tokyo.
The hotel itself was a little hard to find and we found ourselves navigating through the maze of alley ways and side streets (a more detailed map could be provided) but as soon as you enter the reception all is forgotten.
The reception desk area is well lit and clean, there are vending machines for guests, and the staff are extremely polite and speak reasonable english.
The rooms are fantastic. Beautifully designed and are full of all the comforts of home. Our room (1007) was on the top floor and we had a fantastic view over Shinjuku. As soon as you closed the window, all the sound from the street was shut out which made sleep come very easily.
All in all, a fantastic place with a subway station just around the corner for easy access around the city.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kawaii_shika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Surrounded mainly by love hotels in Shinjuku's red light district Kabukicho, this "normal" hotel offers a central location just 10 mins from Shinjuku or Shin-Okubo stations, respectively. It has boutique hotel flair, has modern facilities, is very clean and - for Tokyo - Villa Fontaine is good value for money. Try to get a room facing the street, though, otherwise you'll have a room with a window touching the concrete wall of the neighbouring building - and no daylight at all. Breakfast ist brought to your room and is medium airline standard. No wifi.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Hotel is located in a fun district with many bars, clubs as well as noodle shops and other eateries. It is close to the metro and train stations (10 min walking). The map provided on the website was quite accurate and we found the place right away.
The room was small but clean and cosy. If u r there only for a few nights it is OK. The breakfast (small sandwich and snack box) is delivered up on your request to your room, because there is no restaurant in the hotel.
I really liked the location of the hotel, you could really walk anywhere. The Shinjuku area is very lively and interesting to explore. I recommend to have a drink and snacks at nearby bars with locals!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Premier Hotel -CABIN- Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
#9 of 81 in Shinjuku
893 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#14 of 81 in Shinjuku
938 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,231 reviews
Shinjuku
APA Hotel Shinjuku Kabukicho Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinjuku

Property: Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinjuku
Address: 2-40-9 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinjuku 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontaine Shinjuku
Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing