We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but clean and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
Ranked #17 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Small but clean and convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The E hotel in Higashi, Shinkuku is well located, literally next door to the Higashi station.
Walking distant from all shops, H&M, Forerver 21 etc. And pleanty of restaurants and bars within walking distance.

The hotel itself, is modern, clean and the staff are very friendly and speak great english. However, the room is tiny, the bathroom is unbelievably small.

For myself and my partner, it was ideal as we never spent much time in the room and had one large bag as luggage between us. However, if you had more than one suitcase you would struggle for storage space in the room. And if you are like my partner, tall, you will touch the roof in the bathroom when in the shower.

Would only recommend a short stay for a couple of nights, we were there for four nights. Which was fine, but any longer i think i would have got frustrated with the size of the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenDAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    360
    205
    48
    20
See reviews for
80
344
102
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Considering that accommodation is expensive in Japan, this hotel is a good find.
The room is unbelievably small without a cabinet, not recommended for travelers with many suitcases.. but everything else works properly including the internet.

Location is great, next to a subway station. Restaurants and supermarkets are nearby.
Shinjuku shopping area is walking distance.
We enjoyed our stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank queenlinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
イーホテル東新宿, フロント オフィス マネージャー at E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay,
we really hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Best part of the hotel is the location, conveniently located next to the train station and within walking distance to Shinjuku. There's a Lawson and 7-eleven around the corner. Heaps of eateries along the street. Staff speaks very little english but they are helpful and will try to help you as much as they can.

Like what others mentioned, its so tiny that you wouldn't have much space to open your luggage. There have no wardrobe also. If you are staying here, bring small luggage. The toilet are designed for midgets. It's hard to not bang into anything when you are in the toilet. It's so small that they have to position the toilet bowl at an angle, otherwise you wont be able to sit on it. I have stayed at other hotels in Tokyo but this seems to be the smallest of them all. However, given the price that we paid and the convenient location we think its great and we have no complaints.

If you need a room for a good shower and sleep, with convenient location than this is the hotel for you. We didn't spend much time in the room anyways. The checking time is at 3pm and they will not allow you to check in earlier. I think this is a standard with hotel in Japan.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
イーホテル東新宿, フロント オフィス マネージャー at E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you very much for staying in our hotel.
We really hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Many reviewers have mentioned how small the size of hotel rooms in Japan. And we were expecting really small but to our surprise it wasn't that bad for a couple like us. Yes it is smaller than your average hotel room, but it was quite alright for us. If both of you are fuss free, neat freak and exploring adventure type. This may be for you! It is really clean too! Also, it is very convenient to have a washing machine and dryer at each floor to wash your clothes! At the end of the day, we only came back to the hotel to sleep as we were busy exploring the city and theme parks. Positioned just next to the train station was a plus point! It was really easy getting to Disneyland Tokyo and even the city centre. It was really good, people were awesome too!

One down point was when we arrive, there was a huge group checking in as well, it was 34 degrees and it was getting stuffy as the reception was full with people!
Also there's no bank around, you need to walk a little bit further in the daytime to the nearest bank where you can exchange your money which I find it a nuisance. When you ran out of local currency in the middle of the night and no food places around the area accept credit cards and the hotel doesn't do cash out either! Lucky we still have a few yen left to cover us for supper! Lesson learnt!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anathyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We arrived at this hotel at 1am thanks to a delayed flight out of Hong Kong but luckily it turned out to be 24 hours and the staff were on hand to check us in. The rooms were nice but as there is nowhere to put luggage it still felt on the small side and the bathroom is very compact! They do have a strange policy of you having to hand your room key in every time you leave, but at least the reception is on the way out. The hotel is within walking distance of Shinjuku and we walked to Shinjuku Sanchome 新宿三丁目 Subway station which is about 10mins walk away when we wanted to travel further afield, although Higashishinjuku 東新宿 is even closer. There are several FamilyMart's or 7Eleven's nearby for snacks/breakfast etc and there tonnes and tonnes of restaurant options available in Shinjuku for evening meals. Area around hotel was safe and had no problem walking around at any time of night. Hotel seemed very full when we stayed and I would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emsped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
イーホテル東新宿, フロント オフィス マネージャー at E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your stay.
The reason why we tell customers to hand in the key is because
if by any chance the customer loses the key there will be a 3000 JPY fee
to reissue the key.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Our experience at the hotel was just satisfactory due to the fact that the room and service were indifferent. We enjoyed the convenient location as we can walk into the city or take the Metro which is incredibly close by. The room and bathroom were extremely small comparable to hotels in other countries. The check-in time is at 15:00 (3 pm.); do not expect the hotel to check you in any earlier than the time indicated. If you arrive at the hotel in the morning, you can leave your baggage at the hotel (at your own risk) as there wasn't any security measure…only baggage tag is given. The hotel also required that guests check out no later than 11:00 (11 am.). What do you expect…you get what you pay for….I have neither complaints nor compliments for this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunchaiYam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
イーホテル東新宿, フロント オフィス マネージャー at E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback.
by any chance if you do stay in our hotel again which we really hope you will,
the Check Out time is 11am. However if you would like to stay until 1pm you
can pay 30% of the amount you paid for the last day and you can stay until 1pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Pros,
1) Location is good. Just a few walk next to 東新宿 station, or 10 mins walk from 新宿, LAWSON and DONKI are also very near.
2) Service is perfect. We must say we're not a good customer because we made the room such a mess, but when we go out and and back to our room, the bed make so well and supply are all set. But, not a very big deal, on the last day I think they hadn't clean the floor so well, but that's totally OK.

Cons,
1) Room is really small that we couldn't open our luggage, but all we need is good shower and good sleep, and this hotel doing so well.

In conclusion, I will book this hotel again because of its location and nice service. Room is very very small, but at this price and consider of Tokyo's prices, it's not thing to blame at. I must say we do enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosetta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
イーホテル東新宿, フロント オフィス マネージャー at E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your stay.
We are really happy to hear that we were able to satisfy your stay.
We really hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#14 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Shinjuku
APA Hotel Shinjuku Kabukicho Tower
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku

Property: E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
Address: 2-3-15 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 1 min from Higashi Shinjuku subway station. We are contemporary style hotel which is located in the central Tokyo. Accessible via public transportation to Shibuya, Roppongi, Ikebukuro, Harajuku, Asakusa, Ginza and even Yokohama. E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku is within walking distance of Shinjuku City's most famous attractions, including Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden, Isetan department store, Kabuki-chou, Golden gai. We completed renovation in August 2015. Providing guests with modern amenities such as air conditioning and free High Speed Internet(WIFI). Bottled water is supplied by complimentary to all rooms(1 bottle per 1 pax / 1 night) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing