We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is excellent, room size small, staff average at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
Ranked #19 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed at 3 different hotels throughout our trip.

This hotel seems to have the most english-speaking staff but yet don't appear to be the most friendly

Don't get me wrong, they are not rude or anything ... they will gladly assist, but it's just a bit different from the other hotels -- might be due to the configuration / layout of the front desk and lift entrance / exit points.

In any case, with this many english-speaking (and some quite fluent actually), I expected the staff to be a lot more pro-active in engaging their guests (vs other hotels)

Anyway, not much problem encountered during our stay. Location is really just beside the Subway Station (and just across the road is Mcdonalds, 1st floor of the hotel is Tully's coffee and beside that is Lawson ... similar to 7-11 convenience store)

Good to use as a base to explore the northwards and southwards areas of Shinjuku (because this Subway Station is an interchange with 2 main lines > the Oedo Line and Fukutoshin Line)

It's about 20mins walk from Kabuki-cho restaurants / cafes / etc

Room size (as expected) is ridiculously small.

Bathroom is practical but also small (even for typical smaller sized Asian male / female)

Priced at slightly more than Y10,000 a night (for 2 pax) seems like a reasonable deal for this location and age of hotel

Washing machine and dryer available for DIY laundry (if needed).

Room cleaning is done daily.

Room Tip: hmm ... ask for a bigger room? =D
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pettypoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
イーホテル東新宿, フロント オフィス マネージャー at E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for staying in our hotel.
Your feedback is very important to us.
Im sorry that the staff was not being to friendly.
i apolgies for that and i will have a talk with all the staff regarding that issue.
We really hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel is just next to metro station. Nearby got a lot of restaurants. Walking distance to Kabukicho (red-light district in Shinjuku).
Rooms are small but clean and well organized. Only can fit for 2 person and no space for big luggage. Since you only need a room for bath, rest and sleep can go for it la, most of the time you be outside not in the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jace_lingling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Recommended for low to mid budget travellers prioritising location and who plan on being out most of the day. We stayed 4 nights were very satisfied with our stay. We would consider this hotel again.

Location (8/10):
+ Next to Higashi Shinjuku station. Easy to find, easy to access and fast to get to from Narita express. However if you have many bags take a taxi, there are a lot of stairs in the subway.
+ In the Shinjuku area. Lots of shopping, dining and bars.
+ Next to Lawsons, which is like a 7-11.
- Not the closest to Harajuku, Omotesando, Meiji Dori and Shibuya shopping areas, but still within easy distance (about 20-30 minutes from the door by subway to these areas).

Value (8/10):
+ Good considering the location in Shinjuku.
- Breakfast is not included in the price, but can be bought at the hotel canteen or from Lawsons.

Rooms (6.5/10):
- Small. After laying out our 2 large luggage bags on the floor there wasn't much space to walk.
- Curtains were thin and did not entirely cover the bottom of the window. We used towels to block out the light. The head of our bed was next to the window so this didn't help.
- Bathroom is extremely small. Literally an aeroplane bathroom plus a small shower area.
+ Clean.
+ Satisfactory sleep quality.

Service (8/10):
+ Friendly
+ English speaking
+ Checking in / out was quick
+ Bags can be left at lobby
+ Helped us activate our local sim card (very complicated process)
+ Pyjamas are provided

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorldWideWalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
イーホテル東新宿, フロント オフィス マネージャー at E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you very much for your feed.
We are glad to hear that you would like to stay here again.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel was a great find for our trip to Tokyo! It's located near a Toei Line station, and is surrounded by great, quick restaurants and a Lawson's (a must in Japan). It is also in the heart of Shinjuku, with multiple themed bars and shopping within walking distance. I was also pleasantly surprised to find that the beds were much softer than you typically find in an Asian hotel. It is an economy hotel, so space is limited, but you should expect that in Japan. Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skerk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
イーホテル東新宿, フロント オフィス マネージャー at E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your stay.
We are happy to hear that you would stay here again.
We really hope to see you again in the future.
If you have any questions in the future, please feel free to ask.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The E hotel in Higashi, Shinkuku is well located, literally next door to the Higashi station.
Walking distant from all shops, H&M, Forerver 21 etc. And pleanty of restaurants and bars within walking distance.

The hotel itself, is modern, clean and the staff are very friendly and speak great english. However, the room is tiny, the bathroom is unbelievably small.

For myself and my partner, it was ideal as we never spent much time in the room and had one large bag as luggage between us. However, if you had more than one suitcase you would struggle for storage space in the room. And if you are like my partner, tall, you will touch the roof in the bathroom when in the shower.

Would only recommend a short stay for a couple of nights, we were there for four nights. Which was fine, but any longer i think i would have got frustrated with the size of the room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurenDAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Considering that accommodation is expensive in Japan, this hotel is a good find.
The room is unbelievably small without a cabinet, not recommended for travelers with many suitcases.. but everything else works properly including the internet.

Location is great, next to a subway station. Restaurants and supermarkets are nearby.
Shinjuku shopping area is walking distance.
We enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank queenlinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
イーホテル東新宿, フロント オフィス マネージャー at E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay,
we really hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Best part of the hotel is the location, conveniently located next to the train station and within walking distance to Shinjuku. There's a Lawson and 7-eleven around the corner. Heaps of eateries along the street. Staff speaks very little english but they are helpful and will try to help you as much as they can.

Like what others mentioned, its so tiny that you wouldn't have much space to open your luggage. There have no wardrobe also. If you are staying here, bring small luggage. The toilet are designed for midgets. It's hard to not bang into anything when you are in the toilet. It's so small that they have to position the toilet bowl at an angle, otherwise you wont be able to sit on it. I have stayed at other hotels in Tokyo but this seems to be the smallest of them all. However, given the price that we paid and the convenient location we think its great and we have no complaints.

If you need a room for a good shower and sleep, with convenient location than this is the hotel for you. We didn't spend much time in the room anyways. The checking time is at 3pm and they will not allow you to check in earlier. I think this is a standard with hotel in Japan.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dinmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
イーホテル東新宿, フロント オフィス マネージャー at E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you very much for staying in our hotel.
We really hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,374 reviews
Shinjuku
APA Hotel Shinjuku Gyoemmae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#13 of 83 in Shinjuku
997 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Shinjuku New City Hotel
Shinjuku New City Hotel
#30 of 83 in Shinjuku
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku

Address: 2-3-15 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range: £61 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 1 min from Higashi Shinjuku subway station. We are contemporary style hotel which is located in the central Tokyo. Accessible via public transportation to Shibuya, Roppongi, Ikebukuro, Harajuku, Asakusa, Ginza and even Yokohama. E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku is within walking distance of Shinjuku City's most famous attractions, including Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden, Isetan department store, Kabuki-chou, Golden gai. We completed renovation in August 2015. Providing guests with modern amenities such as air conditioning and free High Speed Internet(WIFI). Bottled water is supplied by complimentary to all rooms(1 bottle per 1 pax / 1 night) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing