We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Citadines Shinjuku on two separate stays during our recent Japan trip. As this was our first trip to Japan, we purposely went with a western style hotel to give us a sense of familiarity each day (something to combat the culture shock we expected we would feel visiting Japan). The Citadines was a perfect answer for this. The room was comfortable, clean and spacious. We had two different rooms on the 9th and 11th floors - both facing the street. Each was quiet, warm (we were in Tokyo during two quite severe winter storms) and with heavy curtains that blocked out morning light. The kitchen was a great convenience. We had very minor quibbles with some of the room features: there is surprising little desk surface, all of the light/power switches have tiny green lights on them which seem quite bright when all the room lights are out, but on the whole we had two great stays. Additionally the staff are extremely helpful and we benefitted greatly from their fluency in English. It is conveniently located less than a five minute walk from a metro station, and about 20 minutes walk from Shinjuku Station.

Room Tip: There is currently construction on the back side of the building: street facing rooms on the front w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank parleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

946 - 952 of 2,083 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and were very pleased with the price, especially in Shinjuku.
First the good bits, it really is a great price, and the staff speak excellent English. The room is well equiped with internet, cable TV, kettle, toaster etc. There's several convenience stores close by, where you can get everything from tea and milk to hot dinners.
On to the less good bits. The room is pretty tiny. This isn't that unusual for this price in Tokyo but if you plan on taking more than on suitcase each then you might struggle for floor space. Similarly the bathroom only fits on person.
The bed is low and pretty hard, as is the sofa. I think the sofa converts into a bed but how any more than 2 people could possibly function in here is beyond me.
The room can be noisy too, you can clearly hear conversations in the hall outside. This becomes quite annoying when there are a lot of drunken 20 somethings shouting in the middle of the night.
But the big on is the location which isn't convenient. Really in Shinjuku as a tourist you want to be as near as possible to Shinjuku station as this will be your hub for exploring the city. It's also where all the restaurants and shopping is centred. Citadines is about a 25minute walk from Shinjuku station and it's just too far. If you're travelling around by train to different suburbs every day this walk becomes a huge pain. I'd seriously recommend the hotels just to the West of Shinjuku station as a much more convenient alternative, for example the Keio Plaza.
Overall I wouldn't recommend Citadines, there are much better choices than this.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank geoffrey_matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Very clean and modern hotel within walking distance to Shinjuku. It's a BIT of a walk from the busy area to the west of Shinjuku station, say about 15 minutes, but easily doable. There is a really nice garden to the south as well.

The rooms are clean, comfortable, and have a couch and kitchen area which is nice. They are a bit cluttered as they're trying to pack a LOT of facilities into a small space, but they did not feel claustrophobic.

My only two negatives are that there isn't really anywhere right nearby for breakfast (didn't try the continental offering at the hotel as it's only for limited times), and they were not responsive to requests sent through an Australian supplier. I could see the request for adjacent rooms in the booking, but the hotel claimed they had received no request on check in. They fixed the issue quickly, though it did require moving rooms half way through the stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fest_mkiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Ideally located for access to shops and train station. Do what the locals do and have your luggage sent to the hotels as travelling with lots of luggage to and from stations can be laborious.That said a short taxi trip can also cut the hassle. Shinjuku station has so many levels and department stores and plenty of exits and entrances.Travelling around was great apart from the rush hour. Harajuku and other areas are not far away. Get a JR rail pass before you enter the country and buy a Suica card to use the subway. Found we could get to most places using the Yamanote line which was above ground and it meant that travelling was relatively easy and familiar after a while.Plenty of food opportunities in Shinjuku. The basement of the main department stores had magnificent food halls..
The accommodation was spacious and very clean. Towels and toiletries were provided. If you did not want to wash up then the housekeepers did it for you. There is a launderette on the ground floor with tumble driers although did not quite get the hang of using just one type of wash option

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The building has 12 stories with 15 suites per floor. We had a front suite on the 9th floor facing the main street. The back faced a lane and another building which, at the time of our visit, December 2013, was undergoing construction. A notice in the room informed us that construction was scheduled from 9 March 2013 to 28 February 2014 from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. except Sundays. There was also building construction across the street from the hotel front; however, we had no noise problem from this during our stay.

While there is construction at the back of the hotel, try for a suite at the front of the building, away from the lifts-elevators, and on the highest floor possible. Above the 9th floor front you will have some view over the buildings opposite and towards the cityscape in the distance. After construction has finished, suites at the back probably would be quieter, but will face the building opposite across the lane.

We used the hotel as a base to sleep, shower, relax, leave our luggage and go sightseeing. We did not use other facilities. All the reception staff whom we encountered were pleasant, courteous, cooperative and helpful, and spoke good English. Mr. Takekawa was exceptionally patient, efficient and reliable in the course of our arranging to hold for pick-up an item we inadvertently left behind. Housekeeping staff were particularly attentive and thorough in cleaning and servicing the suite daily; it was probably the cleanest accommodation that we had ever stayed at.

On our arrival, the suite had two complimentary bottles of water plus sachets of coffee, tea, sugar and powdered creamer. At the side of the reception desk, on your way to the lifts-elevators, were baskets with more sachets to take and replace what you had used. At the front of the reception desk was a basket containing razors and shaving cream, combs, cotton buds and shower caps. Toothbrush and toothpaste sets were already in the suite.

The suite was larger and more spacious than the impression we had gained from photographs on TripAdvisor sites, and better value compared to other Japanese accommodation around the same price. The suite had charcoal colored ceramic tile in the entrance-kitchen area and charcoal colored carpet tiles in the lounge and bedroom areas.

The galley kitchen, to one side as one entered, had crockery, glassware and cutlery sufficient for two people plus a toaster, kettle, microwave oven, saucepans, frying pan and a drainage rack. A notice above the sink said that the housekeeper would wash up. Reception sold a small sponge and soap at Y105 to wash up yourself, and a large sponge and soap at Y210. Below the counter was a bar fridge. Also provided was a humidifier. Opposite, there was also a built-in closet just inside the entrance door.

A peculiarity we noticed involved the exhaust ventilator above the single, built-in, counter hotplate for cooking. It seemed that the exhaust pipe terminated at the outside of the building such that it channeled the sounds of traffic into the suite. We were able to mitigate this by turning on the exhaust fan at its lowest setting. The resulting white noise effectively covered the street noise which entered. Soundproofing between rooms and floors seemed good as we did not hear anything.

Opposite the kitchen facilities, the bathroom had a full-size bath with a hand shower hung from a wall mount. Provided were liquid soap, shampoo and body lotion plus bars of solid soap, hand and bath towels, face cloths and a bathmat. The electrically operated toilet had an automatic, light-flush mechanism which was activated when one sat on the seat. This was irritating as we did not determine how to turn it off, and it wasted water. You flushed the toilet normally by pressing a lever at the side of the cistern.

The wash basin was to the side outside the bathroom. Below it were a hair dryer and a set of scales for weighing yourself. Above to one side was a wall-mounted, magnifying shaving-cosmetics mirror. The central mirror in front had a wall-mounted light on either side which evenly illuminated one's face and so good for shaving or putting on cosmetics. The wash basin was of the type which sits on top of the counter and so limited the free space on either side on which to put things down.

The wardrobe-closet next to the kitchen area had bathrobes and slippers for use during a stay, and a safe (which would accommodate an average-size laptop computer) with two shelves underneath. Next to it was an iron and ironing board.

The suite had a chair and work table with a router and Ethernet cable, telephone and lamp. We used the Ethernet cable provided for Internet connection; it worked well, though response was a bit slow at times. We cannot comment on the WiFi. Instructions in the room provided details of the user name and password required. Opposite the work table was the lounge area with a fold-out sofa and two pillows, a coffee table and a floor lamp in the corner.

Separately beside the work table and facing the bed were a flat-screen TV, cable-channel box and a CD-DVD player on a shelf. By far most TV channels were in Japanese with some in English. Of two remote controls, one was for turning the TV on and off, and selecting the input type, and the other for the cable box to select on/off, channels and volume.

The bedroom area had another closet in the far corner and was separated from the lounge area and the rest of the suite by a partially transparent glass partition. This did not reach up to the ceiling or closed completely to isolate the bedroom area. We found comfortable the queen size platform bed. The pillows were very soft; however, we asked reception for firm pillows and housekeeping brought them up shortly after. There were lights on either side of the bed and above the bed head.

Central air conditioning-heating were controlled by a thermostat on the wall. Occasionally a whiff of cigarette smoke entered the suite which we mitigated by turning on the exhaust fan over the kitchen hot plate.

As with most of the hotels where we have stayed, sounds of activity from the corridor outside entered the room through the gap between the door and floor tiles at the entrance. The bedroom window facing the street was single-glazed and so admitted some noise from the street below, which carried only light traffic at night and early morning. The window had privacy and room-darkening curtains.

Reception has a map of the area between the hotel and Shinjuku station showing main attractions of interest and use such as convenience and department stores, restaurants and entertainment areas. Walking to Shinjuku-sanchome station (with an entrance across the street from Isetan Department Store) on the Toei Shinjuku Line takes about 15-20 minutes, and to the east side entrances of Shinjuku station about 20-25 minutes.

Near the hotel are three convenience stores. On the left corner from the hotel is a 711. As you continue walking down the main road, Yaskuni Dori, towards Shinjuku station is a Lawson's and a bit farther along a drugstore and a local 24-hour diner.

There are lots of restaurants in the small, back side streets as one walks in the direction of Shinjuku station and on the upper floors of department stores in the area. Often they have menus in English and models of dishes with prices also displayed.

From Citadines you can walk to Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden (there is a modest admission fee payable at vending machines beside the entrance). This is actually an extensive park with an interesting and attractive tropical greenhouse, and English, French and Japanese themed gardens. To get there, at the corner with the 711 convenience store, walk all the way down the street, Yotsuyadenwakyoku (which you might have walked up to get to Citadines), till you reach a T junction with the park in front of you. Turn left and continue walking as this will take you to the closer entrance and the greenhouse. There is another entrance in the direction of Shinjuku, but this is farther along.

We found it straightforward to get between Narita airport and Citadines by train. After you have arrived at Narita Airport and left the customs area, go to the lower level of the arrivals hall where you find access to trains into Tokyo. Directly opposite and across the concourse from the barriers for going down to the train platforms is a "JR East Travel Service Center" where staff speak English. Buy a "Suica-N'EX prepaid e-money card (show your passport to get a tourist discount). You can use the refillable card for travel on the metropolitan train system and for making purchases in certain stores. At the end of your visit, return to the Service Center to obtain a refund on the card and any credit balance.

The Narita Express airport train takes about 65 minutes between Narita and Tokyo station. The Rapid train on the Japan Rail Sobu-Yokosuka line is cheaper but takes around 90 minutes as it makes a few major stops along the way. At Tokyo station change to the Tokyo Metro Maranouchi Line as this is easier than changing at Shinjuku station which is larger and more complex to get through.

Alight at "Shinjuku-gyonemae" (not at Shinjuku main station). Leave the station from Exit 2, or Exit 3 if you need to use the lift-elevator (if you leave by Exit 1, you will be at the opposite side and street end, that is, diagonally opposite, to where you need to be). At the corner to your left, turn left and walk up the street, Yotsuyadenwakyoku, past small side streets and restaurants till you reach the T junction with the main road, Yasukuni Dori. Turn right at the 711 convenience store on the corner; Citadines will be on your right about 100 feet along the street. You can see a sign for Citadines in the distance. The walk takes about 5-10 minutes, depending on whether you have luggage.

Room Tip: While there is construction (till 28 February 2014) on another building at the back of Citadines, tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Chelydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Nothing at all wrong with this hotel all the good things written buy previous posters are correct and we did not experience any of the negitives. Lots of snow when we were there. The view from the Government Building is a must do and costs nothing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Had 2 nights in Tokyo on our way to Hokkaido and chose this hotel from TA reviews. Once again most reviews were spot on and we found a clean hotel in a convenient location which was close to metro stations and to the main Shinjuku train station area. Lots of restaurants to choose from in the surrounding streets and a very comprehensive 7/11 located next to the hotel. We arrived very early in the morning and would have loved one of our 2 rooms to be available which sadly wasn't the case but they offered to store our luggage until we returned and checked in the late afternoon. Rooms were as big as many I've had around the world and bigger than our hotel in Rome. Would not hesitate to recommend or return to.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seeyahale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,355 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Tokyu Stay Shinjuku
Tokyu Stay Shinjuku
#2 of 83 in Shinjuku
452 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Address: 1-28-13 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#4 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#9 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: £64 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of the Shinjuku East area, one of Tokyo's thriving urban centres, Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo is a contemporary residence which enjoys a prime location close to the Marunouchi and Toei Shinjuku subway lines. At Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo, you can look forward to a pleasant stay that combines the convenience of a hotel with the freedom and privacy of a Tokyo serviced apartment. The residence's range of optional services are customized to suit your business and leisure needs, allowing you a choice of short or long term stays. Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo is conveniently situated near restaurants, supermarkets, shopping malls, the Shinjuku hospital and Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Tokyo Shinjuku Hotel Shinjuku
Citadines Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Shinjuku Citadines Tokyo Hotel
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing