We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient, away from the central Shinjuku”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel is situated 2 stops away from the main Shinjuku station. We like its location in the quieter area but yet convenient enough. It is approximately 5 mins walk to the nearest subway station, Shinjuku Gyoemmae. There are many restaurants/small eateries along the way to the station. At Shinjuku Gyoemmae station, exit at Exit 2. when you get out of the station, turn left to go to a lane and turn left and walk along the lane until you reach a MAIN road, the last road, I think. Then, turn right, pass the 7-11, a few more steps and you will reach the hotel.

The subway line is Marunouchi line, which is one of the metro lines. So, you could buy a one-day pass to travel at all Metro subway line. If you stay further out, then there is extra to pay for the private suburban lines.

A few doors away from the hotel is a 7-11 shop, and another 30 metres from there is a Family Mart. So, it is rather convenient.

Free WIFI, many tv channels including a few English ones such as Disney and Fox. Just need to change the language. Bottles of water, Japanese tea, English tea, coffee, creamer and sugar are provided once per visit (not per day). However, if you need to replenish, you can always get more from the tray placed at the reception. Sewing kit, cotton bud, shower cap and one more (can't remember) is at the reception too. We booked a non-smoking room and there was no traces of cigarette smell.

We were grateful that they allowed us to check in early without extra charge when we arrived at about 12.30pm since the room was ready. Check in time was stated at 2pm. At another hotel in Kobe, we were charged extra by the hour for early check-in. When we requested for late check in on our last day, they were again gracious to allow late check out at 1.00pm without extra charge.

There is a gym and laundry room. Buy the detergent from the reception at 54 Yen. It cost 200 Yen for a 4.5kg wash, roughly 30 mins. The dryer costs 100 Yen per 30 mins. We needed 1.5 hours to dry our clothes. So, all in, 554 Yen.

One gripe is that the pillow is too flat, causing some pain in my neck. There is a kitchenette which we didn't use. No problem of language with the reception staff.

Overall, we are happy with the hotel. The rating for children activities is 1 because there is none, not because it is terrible.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank desa_plg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

907 - 913 of 2,110 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

I visited Tokyo at the end of May. Citadines gave me a great impression that the staffs at reception were good English speakers.
The room is cozy and big size. There is a tiny kitchen with full accessaries that we can cook anytime.The hotel located at the quite street and a lot of nice restaurants nearby.
I will visit Citadines Shinjuku again for my next Tokyo visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here feb, 2013. It's kinda away from shinjuku main district. However there is a metro station within less than 5 minutes away. The main Station is only a few minutes away by cab.

The hotel is only a few years old. The staffs are friendly, rooms are large for Japan standards, even has a separate sitting area, & a mini kitchen. There's even laundry facility in the hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Il0verice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here for one night during the epic snowstorm in February. The hotel was easy to reach. From shinjuku station we caught the marunouchi subway line and got off at the first station (shinjukugyoenmae) where it was a pretty easy 10min walk to the hotel, we managed to do it in ankle-deep snow/slush with fully loaded snowboard bags.
Room is nice and modern and the area around the hotel is nice and quiet; away from the main shinjuku area.
One tip, avoid the hotel breakfast it is basic and not that nice you'd be better heading towards the main area of shinjuku for some sweet ramen or similar.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank jrapha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Citadines Shinjuku offers a nice experience for travelers who are looking for a budget hotel with a premium quality. The price is very reasonable. The official web even offer 30% seasonal discount if you are an online member. As for the room, as you can expect from a Japanese hotel, the room is not too big but still manageable. We were staying for 3 people so there was a very limited space to move around for us but it is still OK. The sofa was turned into a sofa bed for the third person, but it is still comfortable. Some of us even thought that the sofa bed was more comfortable than the actual bed. The most notable facilities of this hotel was the kitchen set which was handy if you wish to heat some leftover food for breakfast in the morning. They even provide you a rice cooker and an electrical stove if you ever wish to cook your own food.

Location is quite okay since it is located near the subway station and the shinjuku station itself. If you are too lazy to walk by foot to the shinjuku station, you can even take a bus (bus no 61) which costs around JPY 210. The bus stop is located in front of the 7eleven market nearby the hotel. If you prefer to take a subway, it is on walking distance from shinjuku gyoenmae station, just take the 2nd exit, turn left, go straight, turn left again after you find the 1st turn, go straight again, until you can see the 7eleven sign, then turn right, go straight and you will find the hotel soon. There are lots of restaurant and department store as well near the hotel, my favorite was sukiya, which was delicious and affordable.

Overall, I had a pleasant stay and recommend everyone to try this cool hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank airawati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Citadines Tokyo offers reasonably priced rooms, each with kitchenette. This hotel seems to get a lot of traffic, so the common areas looked a bit worn. Overall, though, the room was comfortable and a good value. The staff was bilingual, friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic - walkable to Shinjuku station, or even faster from the nearby Sanchome subway station. Also near the bars of Shinjuku Nichome and Kabukicho. This is a place for independent types -- there is no restaurant, and the morning breakfast buffet is just average. That said, there are lots of great street food options nearby, and a 7-Eleven convenience store directly downstairs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and am very pleased with the stay. The unit is a good size with the small kitchen allowed one to have a simple meal in the unit. This is Tokyo so the size of the unit for a prize is worth it. It is a 2 stops from the heart of Shinjuku and the neighborhood is very quiet so always having a good night sleep. There are small eateries around and 7 eleven is next door makes it very convenient. I will stay hear again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank AmatrurLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,377 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,541 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,438 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Address: 1-28-13 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#4 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#9 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: £82 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of the Shinjuku East area, one of Tokyo's thriving urban centres, Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo is a contemporary residence which enjoys a prime location close to the Marunouchi and Toei Shinjuku subway lines. At Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo, you can look forward to a pleasant stay that combines the convenience of a hotel with the freedom and privacy of a Tokyo serviced apartment. The residence's range of optional services are customized to suit your business and leisure needs, allowing you a choice of short or long term stays. Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo is conveniently situated near restaurants, supermarkets, shopping malls, the Shinjuku hospital and Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Tokyo Shinjuku Hotel Shinjuku
Citadines Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Shinjuku Citadines Tokyo Hotel
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing