We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Ranked #3 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

3 of us stayed in one room and 2 in another for 4 nights at the beginning of our trip. The room was surprisingly large enough for 3 ppl, always very clean each day and a great location in Shinjuku.
Breakfast was ok each day, and it helped that we had a fridge and kitchen to prepare simple meals ourselves.
Nice place and well recommended.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    936
    822
    110
    12
    10
See reviews for
578
782
87
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
united states
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

MY son and I just retuned from a self-made tour of Tokyo and we stayed in this hotel as part of it. I choose it because of the positive reviews here in combination with the the price for what it offered. We also stayed at the Citadines in Kyoto.
The room, while small by US standards, is comparable to other Japan hotels and it was clean and well laid out. The kitchenette was great but we only used it for breakfast a few of the days because we were on full tour mode and ate out all day. There is a continental breakfast offered for around $7.50 PP (at the time I wrote this) if you choose. It's an adequate breakfast of hot, cold, American and Japanese offerings, but nothing to write home about. In fact my son and I had fun making breakfast in our room for most of the mornings using supplies purchased at the 7-11 next door (Which also has an ATM that dispenses Yen and accepts takes US debit cards- it was a better exchange rate to do it that way.)

The front desk was friendly and helpful when I asked for directions etc. While it is not AT the Shinjuku stop it is less than a 5 minute walk from the Shinjuku-gyoemmae stop on the Marunouchi Subway line (two stops from the main Shinjuku Subway/train station.) The entire subway system is easy to navigate once you get the hang of it.

For the price, cleanliness, atmosphere, space, and amenities I felt like we picked a winner. I'd stay here again and will book with this company again if they are available where I travel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank joius24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Extremely helpful staff. Room had everything needed for the three of us (2 adults and 1 child) for a little under a week. Quite a few kids staying there which meant it was a little more relaxed. Its not too close to the crazy of the central Shinkuju Shopping area. You can use your JR pass for some Tokyo stations from Shinkuju. Hotel has washers and dryers which is great for a longer stay. Get the included breakfast for an easy start to the day. Definitely recommend this place.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 3people2dogs5chooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for a week and had a really positive experience. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful, and they also spoke very good English. Room we stayed in was small, which is what you expect to find with most accommodation in Tokyo, however if you are like my girlfriend and I who spent a majority of our time outside of our room doing the “touristy” things, then this shouldn't be a problem. The gym isn't too bad with 2 treadmills, a bike, an elliptical machine and free weights and a bench. The location is very good, close to a lot of eateries and there is a 7-11 and a few other convenience stores all a short walk away. It’s about a 15-20 minute walk from the "busy" part of Shinjuku, I didn't really see this as a problem. The Shinjuku-gyoemmae subway station is about a 5 minute walk away, however if you are catching the Narita express to Shinjuku station and then the Subway (Marunouchi Line) to Shinjuku-gyoemmae, I highly recommend catching a taxi (about ¥1000) from Shinjuku station to the hotel as there are definitely no escalators and I am 99% certain that there was no elevator at Shinjuku-gyoemmae subway station, so if you have heavy luggage or multiple bags, lugging these things up the stairs might be an issue for you. The breakfast on offer is pretty sub-standard so I recommend purchasing breakfast provisions from a nearby convenience store and utilising the kitchen in your room. Citadines Shinjuku provides clean and affordable accommodation with friendly staff in a great location and I highly recommend this place to other travellers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vinL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in April. Not the biggest of rooms but extremely well organised, everything you could want for, spotlessly clean and a great location. Small kitchenette area included but we didn't use it as there are too many great restaurant choices in the Shinjuku area. Continental breakfast very basic and a bit poor, but inexpensive, so you only get what you pay for.
Overall a no frills, convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
99 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. A quiet and cozy area of Shinjuku, about 10-15mins from the main Shinjuku JR station and 5mins from the nearest subway.

If you don't mind being slightly away from the main area and are able to walk some distances, then this could be good for you. Very nice, clean and with warm and friendly staff. We stayed in the Studio apartment and it was small, but no smaller than any other Tokyo hotel.

Would definitely recommend this to singles, couples and families with older children. But if you have toddlers and elderly, then the walk to subway could be long for these folks

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Etonian8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a feel of the city after 5 days in urayasu . We chose this based on trip advisor review and a family member who had a good experience . It's quite a walk from the station especially if you have luggage . Otherwise it's close to the shopping areas , close to small restaurants and there's a 7-eleven next door . Check in was easy . You pay for your stay as soon as you check in . Room was clean and ready when we got there . No waiting . The room is small especially since they set up the sofa bed for my son . You get used to the space after a day or two . It's a compact room . A double bed , sofa bed , a writing area , TV , a sink outside the toilet , a bathtub and the best part : a well equipped kitchen . The kitchen has a stove, toaster , ref , cooking implements and plates and utensils for 2. You can just rent if you need extra . The room is very clean .there were minor issues but these were resolved right away . Staff is very eager to please and efficient . It's a good place to stay in shinjuku . Safe , quiet , very clean and a few blocks away from the station . I would recommend this for small families . I find it convenient that a kitchen is available for breakfast and for simply eating with real plates and utensils at the convenience of your room for the nights you get home late .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JVGermar_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Property: Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Address: 1-28-13 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#4 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#9 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of the Shinjuku East area, one of Tokyo's thriving urban centres, Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo is a contemporary residence which enjoys a prime location close to the Marunouchi and Toei Shinjuku subway lines. At Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo, you can look forward to a pleasant stay that combines the convenience of a hotel with the freedom and privacy of a Tokyo serviced apartment. The residence's range of optional services are customized to suit your business and leisure needs, allowing you a choice of short or long term stays. Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo is conveniently situated near restaurants, supermarkets, shopping malls, the Shinjuku hospital and Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Tokyo Shinjuku Hotel Shinjuku
Citadines Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Shinjuku Citadines Tokyo Hotel
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing