We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the bad and the smelly”
Review of Tokyo Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tokyo Plaza Hotel
Ranked #32 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The good, the bad and the smelly”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We had our family holiday in Tokyo Japan and stayed 5 nights at this hotel - one of the few we could find to accommodate 4 people - adults and 2 children - in the same room.

The location of the hotel is great - 5 minutes walk along the main street to the JR station which is just 1 stop from Shinjuku main station. Shinjuku is where most of the buses, airport express trains pass thru.

The room was reasonably sized, perhaps only a little tight for walking around. We usually like a cup of coffee or tea after a day I sightseeing but unlike most hotel/motels we've been to there wasn't any to accompany the hot pot. Recommend they add this little touch that would enhance the experience.

The toilet, however, had a strong odour, like waste water, and we had to buy a toilet freshener to kill the smell. This was only temporary however and we realized the smell was also in the lobby toilet. Seemed like a plumbing issue.

Would likely choose a different hotel if planning long term stay.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Melvyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    94
    61
    11
    6
See reviews for
73
42
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Located exactly in the middle of Okubo and Shin-Okubo station, so you could take either lines to your destination. I would recommend getting off at Okubo station on the Chuo line, if you have heavy luggage, because there is an elevator at this station. (No elevator in Shin-Okubo station.)

I wanted to stay close to Shinjuku, which was just a station away. It's located in the main street of Koreatown, which is a relatively safe area even when coming back at night, and plenty of restaurants and convenience stores in the area.

No complaints about the room, quite your standard Tokyo hotel, and everything was clean and rather compact. They have wifi in every room. Staff are generally tri-lingual in Japanese/Korean/English and were friendly.

Only gripe is that you have go to up a flight of stairs to the lobby area, and if you have heavy luggage it can be difficult. Daily breakfast was pretty standard, toast, eggs and sausage, with salad.

Wouldn't mind staying here again next time, it's a much cheaper alternative than to stay in the Shinjuku area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank voidod77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I did not come across this hotel until I went on Expedia and saw the discounts they had that day. It was $57 per night including tax for a single room. First, the location is in the Korean town area in Tokyo. The area is quite decent and safe - and very close to a transit system. It was very easy to find. When we got there, we go thru a short flight of stairs to get to the counter. The service is amazing and you leave your key with the counter staff when you leave the hotel. The elevator is very old school and tiny, and there is only one. The single rooms are quite nice. Each room has their own SSID/password for Wifi, and connection is amazing. The washroom is very small but that was expected. The room was a lot bigger than I anticipated for a single room. It was a double size bed, and lots of room to place luggage. Each night of stay comes with free breakfast. The breakfast included coffee, tea or juice. And eggs, toast and ham/sausage at the hotel restaurant. I would recommend this hotel to people. It is 20 minute distance from the shopping and main food area in Shinjuku.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Secyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very near Shin-Okubo station on Tokyo's Yamanote line (circle line) making it easy to visit the essential tourist spots. Room is clean, although the bathroom is very small. English proficiency is good, communication is not a problem. Lower floor rooms may have to deal with early morning noise, but it is not too disruptive to dismiss this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BKassim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

It is very close to everything, all you need for your surrounding is down the street, restaurant, coffee shop, train station and etc.
Very busy street when you go outside the hotel, it is a Korean town but it's safe and the staff is very helpful and fare enough to sleep comfortably.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Only 3-5 mins from Shin-Okubu or 8 mins from Okubu station, both JR and only 2 mins from Shinjuku by train. This place is really good for the price. The staff understands English and Mandarin too. Food is all over not a problem as well as 7-11 and marts. Though sound-proofing is not the best. Overall a pleasant stay for 8 nights.

Room Tip: Get the corner rooms away from the main road..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank houndy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is a really great place to stay when you are planning to visit Tokyo. It is absolutely convenient with lots of budget restaurants all along the entire stretch of Shin-Okubo ranging from ramen shops to sushi bars (all at about 500 - 800 JPY and large portions too!) and plenty of convenient stores like 7-11, Lawson & Family Mart. It is about 3 minutes walking distance to both Shin-Okubo Station (Yamanote Line) and Okubo Station (Chuo Line) so you can get around the city pretty easily. There is also FREE WI-FI in your room which is fast and smooth so you have no worries about keeping in touch with loved ones.

The staff there were top notch and showed great Japanese hospitality! I had to check-in before the check-in time and they offered to keep our luggage for us until it was time to check-in and would bring it up to our room for us. The overall hotel was cozy and very clean and the room was bigger than I expected with an adorable toilet equipped with a bath tub and DHC toiletries.
I was thoroughly happy with my stay here and if you have any questions about Tokyo, the hotel staffs are always pleasant and ready to help you to find the best way to your destination possible and at your best interest.

Would definitely stay here again next time and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daphnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Premier Hotel -CABIN- Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku New City Hotel
Shinjuku New City Hotel
#39 of 81 in Shinjuku
478 reviews
Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
#9 of 81 in Shinjuku
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku
Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku
#13 of 81 in Shinjuku
445 reviews
Shinjuku
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
#19 of 81 in Shinjuku
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyo Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyo Plaza Hotel

Property: Tokyo Plaza Hotel
Address: 2-15-1 Hyakunincho, Shinjuku 169-0073, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tokyo Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tokyo Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokyo Plaza Hotel Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing