We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mitsui Garden Hotel Yotsuya
Ranked #21 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Incredibly central location”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

- Location is so incredibly central. JR and subway line across the street from each other and barely a five minute walk away. You can pretty much get anywhere in dt Tokyo in 15 mins. You can take the JR Chou rapid line and Shinjuku is only one stop away, Tokyo Station is four stops away (non-Japanese speaking people worry that they'll end up way outside Tokyo on a rapid line that doesn't stop at every station, but don't worry, there's no way that would happen, esp when terminating stop is Tokyo Station). Although the JR overhead map at JR Yotsuya station is only in Japanese, the signs over the train tracks directing you to the correct platform for major train stops (including Shinjuku and Tokyo) are in English.

- The small food court is in a building called Atre in the *JR* station, not subway as another reviewer stated.

- Lots of bake shops and cafes, interesting omiyage (souvenir) shops for mochi/yokan, about a 5 min walk on Shinjuku dori in opp direction of the train station and across the street from hotel is a 100 yen store (called "hyaku-en shoppu"). Also a larger drugstore across the street (sign in Eng says "Healthcare and beauty" or something like that) with a lot of items.

- Restaurant downstairs (Pizza Salvatore) can be very long wait (30 mins+ after seating) for dinner when there's a lot of customers.

- Can also look for (cheaper) dining options one subway stop away or 15-20 min walk at Akasaka-mitsuke.

- The room is very clean, but small, but you get used to it. Bed was a bit too firm and the pillows were filled with buckwheat beans, but I admittedly didn't bother asking if there were other pillow options.

- Complimentary two 16 oz bottles of waters each day in mini-fridge.

- Wifi is speedy, but not fast enough for Skype.

- If the int'l news (BBC, CNN, etc) on your TV screen is dubbed with live Jpnse translation, just keep pressing the "bilingual" button on your remote, and the dubbing will turn off -- people tend not to know it's an option to turn off.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank yoshiiiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    148
    33
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
105
53
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed 6 nights at this hotel, and the experience was great. The room was clean and comfortable. Its about 3mins walk to Yotsuya station, which is near most attractions. However, when booking the room you will have to be careful. The semi double room has only 1 bed and is extremely small. It is recommended to get an upgrade unless you are a solo traveler. I stayed with my younger sister and my mom, and had to do an upgrade as the bed would not fit us.

The bakery at the back of the hotel, Yotsuya bakery chot cafe serves really nice bread. And since the 1000yen breakfast had very limited food, the bakery was where i spent most of my breakfast.

At night, the Italian restaurant at the ground floor will be open and the food there is great, nice pizzas and very friendly staff. Highly recommended especially when you get sick of too much sashimi / sushi. Convenient stores are located around the hotel, with plenty of Japanese restaurants at the back so you'll never be hungry.

Cab to Haneda airport is about 7500yen.

Room Tip: Be careful of room type when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanna n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

we stayed here for 10 days in April. The staff is nice and accomodating,helping us with directions etc. The rooms are small- but most japanese hotel rooms are small- but tidy and clean and the shower was top notch. the restaurant downstairs i dont think was good for breakfast, it costs $10 but there arent many options. but the lunch there is very good! the pizzas were some of the best ive ever had!! one complaint i do have as that the ac turns off when its cold outside, but hot in the room. we tried to get this fixed with the staff, but with our limited japanese and their limited english it was not resolved so we spent nights with the windows open which was not ideal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jg26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at Mitsui Yotsuya for a week in May but were hesitant on booking our entire week in Japan at the same hotel in case it wasn't that great. We weren't disappointed! This hotel is literally a 2 minute walk from the Yotsuya JR train line, staff are amazing and will give you directions to everything in English and also book restaurants for you. The only thing we found was that the room was very small..but it actually wasn't a problem- by the end we didn't even notice it!

What we found to be bonuses-

- 2x Family Marts across the road, the one closest to train station sells pharmacy items in case you get sick late at night.

- Another small convinience store right next to hotel.

- Coin operated Laudromat 1 minute walk from hotel (go out the back door of hotel, take your first right and then it's just on your right) ¥200 for wash and I think the same for 10 minutes of drying.

- Rooms were cleaned as soon as you left the hotel..2x complimentary bottles of water every day.

- In the shower there is big pump bottles of soap, shampoo and conditioner which is very handy, and a very deep bathtub. Also, complimentary toothbrush, toothpaste, comb and razor.

- KFC on the corner in case you get sick of the Japanese cuisine (hopefully that won't happen!)

- Food galore in the side street next to hotel! Best gyozas when you turn left out of hotel entrance, first left street and then on your right- YUM!

There is so many great things about this hotel but to sum up- LOCATION, FOOD, SERVICE!!!
We would stay again in a heartbeat! Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ZoeB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

As everyone has mentioned, the Mitsui Garden Hotel Yotsoya is extremely convenient to both JR and subway lines. If you want to walk, Shinjuku Station is about half an hour away, and you can do most of the walk in the beautiful Shinjuku Gyoen Park, which parallels the street the hotel is on. They are very strict about check-in time being 3:00 p.m. but were happy to take my luggage while I struck off to see the city. Had good pasta/salad bar for lunch in Pizza Salvatore Cuomo, which is attached to the hotel. I had a room on the ninth floor facing the street and heard very little street noise. Lovely linen pajamas and robe provided. The shower/bathtub (deep!) included a retractable clothesline for hand laundry, always appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed having a bath tub while in Tokyo and this hotel had a deep one. Very close to Yotsuya station for both metro and JR lines which gave us easy access to Tokyo plus our day trips to Saitama and Narita. The staff were always friendly and helpful, giving us clear directions in English when we sought assistance to the 100 yen shop (Lawson 100 is a little one but had a great little hanger for laundry for a very small price) and to train connections to a number of places, including Tokyo Sky Tree. We would not hesitate to stay here again for its good central location and price which is much less than a similar room at the Mercure in Ginza, where we stayed last time we visited Tokyo. We didn't take up the 1000 yen breakfast but enjoyed delicious pizza in the restaurant downstairs.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kb_3095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

My second time staying here. Very near Yotsuya station which is very conveniently located near shinjuku but not near enough for it to be very noisy and busy. Yotsuya station also has both JR and metro trains running through making it very easy to travel around Tokyo. The hotel itself is very good, very reasonably priced w friendly staff. The rooms are of a decent size given the premium for space in Tokyo. There are also many convenient stores nearby for a late night snack too! I'd definitely stay here if I can next time I'm in Tokyo!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tb Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#15 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsui Garden Hotel Yotsuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsui Garden Hotel Yotsuya

Property: Mitsui Garden Hotel Yotsuya
Address: 1-24 Yotsuya, Shinjuku 160-0004, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mitsui Garden Hotel Yotsuya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mitsui Garden Hotel Yotsuya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsui Garden Hotel Yotsuya Shinjuku, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing