We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied our sushi craving!”

Numazuko, Shinjuku Honten
Ranked #65 of 8,772 Restaurants in Shinjuku
Cuisines: Sushi
Neighbourhood: Shinjuku
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Shinjuku
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Satisfied our sushi craving!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

After searching the internet for a good, cheap sushi place in Shinjuku, Numazuko came up in several places so we thought we'd give it a try.

The restaurant's a bit hard to find; It's actually in a mall (connected to Shinjuku Station) and is not located in the street. I believe the restaurant's website gives you detailed instructions on how to get there.

The sushi was quite good and fast -- you're never left waiting for food because you can just pick up another sushi plate as it moves along the conveyor belt. My only comment is there wasn't a lot of variety of sushi on the conveyor belt, and you're bound to see some of the sushi you've already tried go by time and again.

The cost was quite reasonable at 4,200 Yen for two people with a small bottle of sake.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richardsmyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    69
    27
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
277 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Very Delicious Fatty Tuna”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Read good comments about this restaurant from Tripadvisors.com. Initially, the dishes we tried were nothing special and we just managed to order one portion of Uni as it was sold out. Until we had the chance to try the high quality fat tuna, it was really thumbs up and best we ever had. It really melted in our mouth and we ended up just eating them. At Yen 700 for 2 pieces, we could not get such good value and quality overseas.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cutiedoggy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Low quality”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I came here based on positive TripAdvisor reviews. Not sure what everyone is on about. Tuna and yellowtail tough/chewy. Salmon had sinews in it. Not good. One or two pieces were dried at the edges, downright old. We get significantly better Sushi in London and in Tokyo I would hope you could do better. Avoid.

Helpful?
2 Thank akselrod17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TakahiroG, オーナー at Numazuko, Shinjuku Honten, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your comment and we are sorry that your were not satisfied on our product quality.
Regarding the tuna or yellowtail that we serve, they are all freshly delivered from Tsukiji fish market daily, early in the morning which means their texture are tougher or chewy compared those once frozen or longer sliced fish.
Most of our salmon should not have sinews in it because these slices are from the belly part. So what you have seen is actually the fat. We use the Aurora salmon brand from Norway which is the favorite one for Japanese taste.
We apologize if you felt some dried pieces that you have probably picked up from the running belt, that is why we recommend to order directly to the sushi chef to prepare the freshest pieces.
Last but not the least, serving the freshest sushi to our dear customer is our main policy and we hope on your next visit, we will clear some misunderstanding that might have occurred...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great sushi, friendly and fun chef and extremely reasonable price !”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We found this restaurant after having read a review on this site. Would recommend going to Numazuko web site and noting the detailed instructions on how to locate - it's a bit challenging. Nothing on sign outside restaurant actually says name in English.

We were the only westerners in the restaurant and sat at the counter - seemed like many others might be regulars. Only about half full at 5 p.m. but got steadily busier over the next hour. Our chef spoke less English than we did Japanese, but was able to communicate clearly with gestures and expressions - a very entertaining and jovial gentleman who made us feel welcome and comfortable. We got the impression that he was having as much fun serving us as we were with the whole experience.

If you don't see what you want on the conveyor they will make a personal order for you and hand it to you directly. There is an extensive menu with English labeling sorted according to price category (i.e. plate colour).

Food was excellent and the value was a pleasant surprise - eight plates plus two small sake came to less than 2500Y. Can't even come close to that at home in Vancouver!

Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gord L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Good quality and affordable conveyor belt sushi in Shinjuku”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My husband, our 20 month old son and I came here for dinner one night. It was a bit hard to find but with the very detailed (and photo) instructions from their website, we were able to find it.

There was a small line when we arrived; I want to say we waited maybe 10-15 minutes or so? Not too bad. We also wanted a booth (as opposed to counter seating) since we had our son with us, which made waiting a bit longer than needed.

Once we sat down, we would just grab plates off the conveyor. There is a menu with English words that is available at each table but we just decided to grab things that we thought we'd enjoy.

Fish was fresh and prices were extremely reasonable. The sushi chefs were also accomodating; since they didn't speak English, we had to resort to pointing and gesturing, which was fine with them. I would point to something someone near us was having and the chef would make it for us.

Would highly recommend and would love to come back next time we're in Tokyo!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Numazuko, Shinjuku Honten also viewed

 

Been to Numazuko, Shinjuku Honten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing