We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly the sushi you have been looking for!”

Numazuko, Shinjuku Honten
Ranked #80 of 9,146 Restaurants in Shinjuku
Cuisines: Sushi
Neighbourhood: Shinjuku
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Shinjuku
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I have been visiting all over japan for one month and I found this place in shinjiku, having been on a sushi quest this place hits the mark. The food is exquisite and well priced and the people who made the eating experience possible at the restaurant made the whole thing easy and friendly. I would highly recommend this place to everyone visiting tokyo who is looking for the best sushi, which I know is nearly everyone. Thank you so much numazuko. Jonny from London

1  Thank jonnybayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 122 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

After being a bit overwhelmed by the pricey-ness of tokyo, this was a welcome change. Pricing is clear and includes tax. Pick up what you want. You can see the chefs put down fresh dishes and can pick them up. As with many other reviewers, we ordered some quality tuna and it was melt in the mouth delicious. We went back two nights later

2  Thank sazzle_kazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 June 2014

After searching the internet for a good, cheap sushi place in Shinjuku, Numazuko came up in several places so we thought we'd give it a try.

The restaurant's a bit hard to find; It's actually in a mall (connected to Shinjuku Station) and is not located in the street. I believe the restaurant's website gives you detailed instructions on how to get there.

The sushi was quite good and fast -- you're never left waiting for food because you can just pick up another sushi plate as it moves along the conveyor belt. My only comment is there wasn't a lot of variety of sushi on the conveyor belt, and you're bound to see some of the sushi you've already tried go by time and again.

The cost was quite reasonable at 4,200 Yen for two people with a small bottle of sake.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank richardsmyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Read good comments about this restaurant from Tripadvisors.com. Initially, the dishes we tried were nothing special and we just managed to order one portion of Uni as it was sold out. Until we had the chance to try the high quality fat tuna, it was really thumbs up and best we ever had. It really melted in our mouth and we ended up just eating them. At Yen 700 for 2 pieces, we could not get such good value and quality overseas.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cutiedoggy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I came here based on positive TripAdvisor reviews. Not sure what everyone is on about. Tuna and yellowtail tough/chewy. Salmon had sinews in it. Not good. One or two pieces were dried at the edges, downright old. We get significantly better Sushi in London and in Tokyo I would hope you could do better. Avoid.

2  Thank akselrod17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TakahiroG, オーナー at Numazuko, Shinjuku Honten, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your comment and we are sorry that your were not satisfied on our product quality.
Regarding the tuna or yellowtail that we serve, they are all freshly delivered from Tsukiji fish market daily, early in the morning which means their texture are tougher or chewy compared those once frozen or longer sliced fish.
Most of our salmon should not have sinews in it because these slices are from the belly part. So what you have seen is actually the fat. We use the Aurora salmon brand from Norway which is the favorite one for Japanese taste.
We apologize if you felt some dried pieces that you have probably picked up from the running belt, that is why we recommend to order directly to the sushi chef to prepare the freshest pieces.
Last but not the least, serving the freshest sushi to our dear customer is our main policy and we hope on your next visit, we will clear some misunderstanding that might have occurred...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Numazuko, Shinjuku Honten also viewed

 

Been to Numazuko, Shinjuku Honten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing