We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good enough” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tokyu Stay Nishishinjuku

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tokyu Stay Nishishinjuku
Ranked #22 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Manila
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good enough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I like this hotel because the regular room is relatively bigger than the regular business hotel rooms in Tokyo. They offer free breakfast.

I like the corner room because the bathroom is bigger and I love the shower.

It's around 20min walk to main Shinjuku station. The government building is 5-10min walk for free entrance to the Observatory if you want to view the Tokyo skyline.

I would return here when I'm in tokyo. There's a nearby train station which is 1-2stops from Shinjuku main

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vhanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    122
    38
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
75
48
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Lovely hotel with restaurants and convenient stores nearby. The room is clean and the toilet is big and bright. Didn't like the pillow though as it's too flat. It's 15-20 mins walk to Shinjuku south exit but I didn't mind the distance. If you feel lazy that day, Nishi Shinjuku Gochome station is just nearby. It's 2 stops from there to Shinjuku station.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hammiroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

A very nice place to stay. Though small room but Comfy. There is a washer/dryer inside and its very convenient. There is also a nice green tea spray bottle for the room you can use. Friendly staff. Breakfast is ok for not high expectation people. McDonald's, Curry Rice restaurants and convience store are all nearby. Walking distance to Denny's Restaurant. Around 5-7 mins walk to the subway and 10-15 mins to the Supermarket. Bus stop heading to Shinjuku is also walking distance. A definate place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

After reading the reviews I was concerned about the room size and breakfast but after staying there are no concerns at all! We had a standard room that had plenty of space for bags, it had a fridge, microwave, wahshing machine, bowls, cups etc as well as plenty of desk space for charging phones etc. the air cond was great and the tv worked well.

Breakfast was really great if you are will to branch out a bit. I had tomato rice, a really lovely chicken (honey soy) and some salad before taking on the slightly unusual bread offering. Again I thought it was excellent.

I would stay here again

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor with a view of the Government building towers and the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaycogal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

As noted, rooms are small but clean-Although bathroom was more about efficiency than style, the shower water pressure and temp. were excellent. My travel pillow was used at night as the hotel pillow was like a bulky foam rock. The beds were extra firm but surprisingly excellent for sleep quality. Hotel staff was neutral- answered questions but not much interaction beyond required greetings. You will get a nice walk going to shinjuku. Walk a route staying to the north of the park when going to and from the hotel to avoid the many homeless living under the overpasses. You will also pass a 24 hour grocery store that is quite convenient. The beer garden at the nearby Hilton was nothing more than plastic tables and chairs on the rooftop and beer was expensive-skip it unless paying $30.00 per person for all the beer you can drink meets your needs for value.
There was no cozy place to hang out in the hotel lobby...to play cards or have a beer-as the lobby is quite sterile and the rooms are too small.
We went to McDonalds for coffee pre-breakfast every morning as the hotel coffee cups were very dainty...The hotel breakfast lost appeal after 3 mornings and egg mc muffins at McDonalds next door tasted glorious for our 4th morning. The McDonalds is clean with a local mix and the workers hustle and are really friendly so it's like you're not even in McDonalds.
We chose this hotel as we were traveling with a budget conscious couple and although no regrets as we had a fantastic time, I would pony up some cash for a bit of additional aesthetics and to be closer to trains for the next visit. Can't beat the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plantingqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We are family of 4 and had to stay in 2 separate rooms because rooms are really small. Not a problem, but rooms do not connect to each other. Rooms have small frig, microwave, and hot water pot. We liked the location, few restaurants and coffee shops around, and short walk to Government Building where you have to go to see the view of Tokyo for free. The breakfast was okay but its a good thing my kids will eat anything! When riding the subway there are many Nishi stops - the closest is the Nishi-Gochome, although we went to wrong station and it was not a long walk.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I'm a bit torn with this hotel. It was ok.

Positives...

It is in a good location (by a subway station but not by Shinjuku Station - 30 min walk). There are some restaurants nearby but you will mostly be taking the train to another area or walking at least 30 minutes to the heart of Shinjuku.

The hotel was clean when we arrived.

It has a washing machine. This is very beneficial.

There is a 24hr McDonalds downstairs.

The price. This hotel was MUCH cheaper than other hotels in the area.

Negatives...

We were not advised when we booked the hotel that our room would not be serviced daily. No one will make the bed, change sheets or remove garbage or do a general clean. We stayed 8 days and the room was cleaned once.

The staff are ok but not overly friendly and one gentleman was very rude.

The breakfast is ok for travellers on a budget that are ok with toast and a small selection of pastries and soup. We only had the breakfast once.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to travellers on a budget. It isn't terrible. I probably wouldn't stay here again though (at least not for an extended stay - longer than 2 nights).

Room Tip: The pillows are flat and hard. We requested another pillow and were unable to get it for the first 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Tokyu Stay Shinjuku
Tokyu Stay Shinjuku
#2 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
#9 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyu Stay Nishishinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyu Stay Nishishinjuku

Property: Tokyu Stay Nishishinjuku
Address: 5-9-8 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tokyu Stay Nishishinjuku 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Tokyu Stay Nishishinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokyu Stay Nishishinjuku Shinjuku, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing