We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The location is good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Best Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Shinjuku
Foster City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The location is good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

My room was clean when I walked in. In fact, the toilet had one of those paper ribbons wrapped around the toilet cover that said "sanitized for your need" or something like that
which was surprising given all the negative comments about this hotel.

I also wanted to address a lot of other negative comments about this hotel. Kabukicho is Tokyo's biggest red light district. The Best Hotel sits on the northern fringe of this red light district.

That is the reason why you occasionally have
street walkers in this area. The hotel itself is not located in Kabukicho but is very
close. And, like every part of Tokyo, including Kabukicho, it is perfectly safe with many throngs of people constantly coming and going.

The wifi is pretty good. It's not blazing fast. I am able to watch YouTube videos so that's good. I've switched over to my pocket wifi because the hotel wifi is fast, but not that fast. Expect perhaps 5-6mbps down although I noticed the wifi router is right outside my door so I might be getting a better signal than others.

Toilet is western style in my room and actually has it's own little room separate from the shower. I've never seen this before in any hotel room. It's just a normal toilet, no fancy electronic clean up dials on the side like you see in other Tokyo hotels.

Place looks a bit old and run down but it is clean and the man downstairs (he was Korean) printed out a schedule how to get to Ginza.

I had bim bi bop for dinner at the restaurant next door for around $10 USD (cheap for this area). Not sure if it was a Korean restaurant. They all look alike to me.

There is a large Samsung flat screen in the room. Only Japanese channels. It sits on the fridge which I have not used yet.

There is a convenient light switch by the bed which I love. It allows me to turn off the main lights from my bed.

If you have an iPhone 5 like me, you don't need an international plug adapter. I can plug my little square white USB straight into the wall and it successfully charged my phone. iPad Mini too.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahadragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    19
    28
    8
    6
See reviews for
14
18
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Arrecife, Canarias, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We went there 12 days 20 days ago... the location is great next the Shinokubo station, restaurants, seven elevens and a few Konbinis stores. The bad point is... there is not clean service at all... they will remove the dirty towels everyday but not the bed sheets so we stayed 2 weeks with the same bed clothes. The positive point is... they will give it to each of you tooth paste and brush every day.

There are 3 receptionist... one of the girls speak some english and after a first try asking his college for an extra bed, she was able to understand us and made us the big favor herself!thank you so much girl!! sorry but I didn´t get your name! ;)

The open hotel`s wifi is also very fast... and you can even upload videos and photos in a few minutes.

The room( type traditional)... it was not too bad... actually they need to modify the equipment, an example: ...we were forced to turned off the fridge because it was too noisy...
and the tv had just japanesse channels but we didn`t bother...and you also had air conditioning...

So... the hotel it was not good but not but either... and we went there after 18 hours in a plane y 2 in a train to know the city costume... culture...etc not to stay the entire day at the hotel....so it worth it,it is confortable and you can rest during the night( if the jetlag give you a break) without any noise.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thami Ta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We were moved to this hotel upon arriving at the Hotel Empire also in Shijuku as the Empire was having water problems.

its a very basic place and not recommended for those of you who want modern cleanliness.

if you're just looking for somewhere to sleep and enjoy the local nightlife, its acceptable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeD653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shinjuku hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

The hotel is about 3 blocks away from the Shin Okubo JR line. Room was clean, nice size. i got the double room and the bed was a decent size. i was expecting smaller so it was above my expectations. Hotel staff was very polite and spoke English. It was as a little hard to find at first as it is on a side street. in room wi-fi was a plus. would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jacob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

This hotel was one of the cheapest I found in Tokyo. It's located in Shin Okubu (Korea Town), within walking distance from Shinjuku and on a convenient rail line. The area is great for Korean food, with amazing chicken houses in particular. Unfortunately it's also a red-light district, but it did not feel at all dangerous. The hotel itself was extremely basic - I'd say it was clean, but in a state of disrepair and it felt a bit stale. I would stay here again if I wanted to save money, but would prefer the similarly-priced Hotel Empire - the sister hotel of this establishment which is 3 minutes walk away. Both places have free wifi which is always a plus.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Waltz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Nearby Shin Okubo JR Line and Kabukicho, walking distance to East Entrance of Shinjuku Station. This area is just like little korea full with korean restaurant. You will have to walk a further far to Kabukicho if you want to try the Japanese food. The room is a basis room attached with a bathroom and small toilet. The elevator of the hotel is small too, typical japanese style hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank autumnjing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Clean and nearby to Shin Okubo J-Line. The area is also known as Little Korea due to its concentration of many Korean bistros and people living in this area. Bed was comfy and the toilet was specky clean. Receptionist does not speak English so a bit hardy for certain English-speaking tourists. Only downside will be the loitering of prostitutes around the vicinity at night

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rkk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
#19 of 81 in Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,679 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#15 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Hotel

Property: Best Hotel
Address: 1-2-3 Hyakunincho, Shinjuku 169-0073, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Best Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Hotel Shinjuku, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing