We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shin Okubo International Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$414
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$338
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$751
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$466
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo(Shinjuku)
US$613
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Shinjuku Prince Hotel(Shinjuku)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$311
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$284
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
22
39
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
39
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssimple hotelgood sizesubway stationbed roomminute walklocation is greatannex buildingroom servicesinkjapanamenities
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Great little hotel in a great area (Korean Town), just one stop away from the bustling Shinjuku and just a 5 minute walk from the station. Friendly staff and a big, clean room! Bathroom was a good size with lots of amenities and strong, hot shower. Great place for its value!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadMich24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The hotel is good value for money. We were in a group of 8 and booked out 4 rooms right next to each other and often chilled in the communal lounge area. As with all Japanese hotels, this one was very very clean. The room is decently sized. Both of us could have our luggage open and still have enough walking room. The location is also really good - only a short 10 minute walk to Shin Okubo Station where you can find a great variety of shops such as supermarkets, a really nice local homely ramen place and a couple of chain restaurants such as Yoshinoya, McDonalds, burger chain etc. There is also a Matsumoto (Japanese chemist) where you can buy lots of cheap cosmetics and skincare products. It is also close to Shinjuku, the main shopping district. If you are coming by train, note that Shin Okubo station doesn't have any lifts so you will have to carry your luggage up and down flights of stairs. The rooms are not very sound proof.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marchetta a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We arrived 2 hours early for check-in, but the staff didn't even mention it. They checked us in and let us go up to our room straight away. We stayed here for 9 nights, and it was my favourite of the 5 hotels we used during our 3 week trip around Japan.

All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room and all communal areas were spotlessly clean. Our twin room was a really good size - enormous by Japanese (and particularly Tokyo) standards. The shower room was only separated from the rest of the room by a curtain which may not be ideal for some, but combined with the shape of the room it gave enough privacy and didn't cause us any issues. Whilst amenities, furniture and bedding are basic, they all perfectly serviceable and comfortable. The hotel has 2 top loading washing machines which are coin operated, but very reasonably priced. Washing powder and tumble dryers are provided free of charge.

Apart from all of the above, the hotel's main selling point is its location. The bright lights of Shinjuku are just 10 minutes walk away, with another 5-10 minutes to the main station platforms. This makes it incredibly convenient both for sightseeing in this part of Tokyo, but also as a base for visiting the rest of the city and wider area.

This hotel represents excellent value for money. I would definitely recommend it to others, and would definitely stay there again if I was to return to Tokyo.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nic J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We wanted a room just for a night as we were enroute. SOIH proved way beyond our expectation. Location wise, its excellent. 7 mins walk from Shin Okubo train station, and if you choose to walk to Shinjuku, maybe 15 mins. It surrounded by many shops and restaurants and is smack centre in Korean town of Tokyo.

But what really takes the cake is its cleanliness and decent size rooms (Tokyo wise). Everything here is spotless and you can eat off the floor of the bathroom. We had our own ensuite and everything we needed was there - toiletries, kettle, tea, TV, aircon/heater, hair dryer, fridge. Even the sparkling potty had a bidet! The beds are western style type and very comfortable.

Service is friendly and welcoming. We left our bags in the hotel as we were early and when we came back to check in, they were magically all in the room!

The only "downside" is there is a "shoes off" policy, the moment you enter the small hotel lobby. This is not a bad thing as it keeps the hotel clean and heh, this is Japan! I reckon this is one of the best value for money hotels in Shinjuku area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovethefold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Our stay was divided into 2 nights each with an excursion to Hakone in between. Access via Shinokubo station is a challenge if you bring toddlers as there is not lift or escalator to the platform. Location-wise, Shinjuku is only 10-15 minutes walk away but hookers abound at night. I found it interesting that they were quite cultured (no harassing) but not all people would be comfortable staying on such a backdrop.

The hotel is relatively new and we liked the compartmentalized toilet, sink and shower concept. Room was very clean and in good condition. The fridge was even better than some of the relatively higher end hotels we stayed in. Free Wi-Fi available throughout. Bed mattress need to be improved as we could feel the springs. Walls were a bit thin so it may be a bit unpleasant if you have noisy neighbours. Also, the dryers were not effective and it took a long time for the clothes to dry out so take note if you plan to do laundry.

The staff were top notch. Polite, friendly and very helpful. We returned from Hakone to find that our luggage was already moved into the room. Held our luggage after check out before our late evening flight home. For those travelling via budget airlines especially, this hotel had all the necessary tools to get ready; weighing scale, masking tape etc. I was able to properly seal my extra box of souvenirs and managed to pre-purchase the right weight of check in baggage hence saving a lot of grief at the airport.

Overall, I was pretty impressed with my stay here and I would definitely recommend this hotel. For those travelling as a family, just note the disadvantages of staying in this area. If you are fine with it (as I was), this place could be for you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elmseah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews