We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing sushi when we walked past by chance”

Himawari Zushi Shintoshin
Ranked #9 of 8,743 Restaurants in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Shinjuku
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing sushi when we walked past by chance”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

A group of friends and I walked past this cosy little restaurant and were greeted with open arms from the friendliest chefs and waiters you could ever meet. Of course, you'll notice that the hospitality in Japan is one of the finest in the world, whether or not it is a fancy 5 star restaurant or an average store you'll find in your neighbourhood.

They have a variety of different types of fish presented in different ways - from sushi, sashimi to bundles of rice with fish on top, or those seaweed cones with rice and fish inside (forgive my lack of Japanese dining vocabulary). English-friendly. I ordered my items without wasabi and the request was granted with no issues in the slightest. Very cheap - I had 9 dishes (that's a lot) including 2 drinks and all up it was around $25-30 AUS dollars - no complaints here!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    83
    22
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Good sushi ”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Walked past this place and asked if they had any vegetarian sushi, they did :) The staff were very friendly. Around 6 vegetarian options on the menu and veg miso soup. We ended up going back for take away for the journey home. Reasonable prices.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cheap delicious sushi in a friendly setting ”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Best sushi by far that we had in Tokyo. Took some difficulty to find the place but was well worth it. Very welcoming, friendly, simple, unpretentious conveyor-belt style sushi joint with the most delicious sushi selection and at a cheap price. Loved it and definitely going back on our last night in Tokyo.

Helpful?
Thank Dylan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average! Not more”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I was following the advices and was very disappointed. The most average round sushi I had in Japan. Much better places in Shinjuku, not sure why and why the excellent reviews.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
102 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great sushi even on a budget”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Very fresh fish, friendly staff, if something you want is not on the conveyor they will prepare for you in no time. Not the best sushi I've ever had, but still among the best. A place to return to if we ever go back to Tokyo

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joao_PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Himawari Zushi Shintoshin also viewed

 

Been to Himawari Zushi Shintoshin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing