We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
J residence Shinjuku
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really Nice”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Mini apartment in one of the best district of Tokyo. 2 mins by walk from higashi shinjuku metro station and 15min from shinjuku and kabukicho. Fully furnished. Perfect for a few days...
Just the bathroom was seriously TOO small, but still enough for a fast shower before going to sleep!
Recommended!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank GretaGre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    19
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Located in one of the most interesting area of Tokyo, the hotel is 10 min walk fro Shinjuku train station, close to the metro and you can find a lot of restaurants around to eat at a good price.
The room was small but very clean and well equipped. Free WiFii, hairdryer, iron, microwave, fridge, coffee and tea etc.
Very good price/quality/location report.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alex_antony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed at J Residence for 5 days in January 2014.

The apartments are very good value for money and I thoroughly recommend staying here especially if you are two people on a budget.

The apartments themselves are small but that is to be expected in Tokyo but not so small that you feel too cramped - also you probably don't intend to spend much time in there anyway! You walk into the kitchen/hallway which has a small one ring hob, a large fridge freezer, microwave and rice cooker. The room then leads into the bedroom with the bathroom opposite the kitchen.. The bathroom is very small and the shower a little cramped but it is clean and easy to use. The beds are a single bed with another single that pulls out from beneath, that you can put away during the day to create more space. If you are friends this makes it a good option as you are not in fact sharing a bed. The duvet and pillows for the second bed are stored in the wardrobe which is next to the bed. There is a tv at the end of the bed but we didn't watch it and a small balcony which is good for putting washing out and also for airing coats etc as they do still smoke in lots of places in Tokyo so you will notice smoke smells on your clothes! The air con/heater is very good and works quickly. We were in Jan so a little cold but the heater was great. There is also a hairdryer which was handy.

There is a coin operated laundry on the roof which takes 100 yen coins

The apartments are centrally located and easy to get to all things. Shinjuku station is a 5-10 min walk away depending on how fast you walk! But there are loads of shops, bars and restaurants around the apartments too so it is a great location. Shinjuku is the most central place to stay that is also buzzy and fun and therefore I can recommend it. It is however not too noisy at night in the apartment which is good because it is on a little side street.

Taxi drivers tend to know the area well but when we arrived at the airport I asked the tourist information to write the address down in Japanese and this is definitely very helpful as they can then type it straight into their sat nav and find it easily.

I would take a train from the airport to Shinjuku station (you want the Narita Express - desk is in the airport) and then a cab if you have heavy bags. It will cost you about 1,000 Yen so around 10 GBP or $15USD. When you get to the station follow the signs for the East Exit! Take that exit, not Central East, but the East Exit and this is will be the entrance you will use when you go to the station in future. Also if you do a tour to Mount Fuji or anywhere with the main operator JTB then this is the exit that the buses pick you up from so very handy. Shinjuku is the busiest station in the world (statistically not metaphorically) so be prepared for a big station!

Also a big thing to note is that the apartments have wifi which works well HOWEVER if you want to have wifi when you are out and about you need to do a few things:

1. Before you leave home register for the wifi on Narita Express trains and also Starbucks. There are Starbucks everywhere but you have to have registered before to use it. Also internet cafes will not let foreigners use the internet because of a new government rule therefore you need to be prepared!
2. Get a SIM card from the AIRPORT. You cannot get one in town and the airport is 1.5hrs away so once you leave there you won't be popping back for a SIM!!! Pick it up as you arrive! Nowhere else sells them and you will struggle without it!

My other piece of advice is be prepared for limited English speakers in Tokyo generally. People will try to help but they rarely speak good English. Use a point sheet to help - the apartments can give you one or there is one in the back of the Tokyo guide the Tourist information gives away. There is a tourist information at the Tokyo Metropolitan Government office which is in Shinjuku - West Exit of the station and follow the signs. There is also one at Ueno station which is good.

Most of all enjoy Tokyo and if you stay at J Residence you will find a wonderful team to help you. The gentleman who is there at night and greets people speaks good English but the young lady less so and she is normally there in the day so ask your questions at night.

Overall a fab place to stay!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor which was good as it is away from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Beau2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I was booking in a hurry, therefore didn't look into this place's detail. It was converted from apartment building to hotel. Pretty convenient location with access to Shinjuku in just couple mins of walking. Room is pretty clean with lots of amenities such as microwave and stove. If you like cook your own meal during stay, this is your place.
My only complain is that the quilt is a bit short of covering my foot, and I wish they have wifi inside the building. For the price, this is very cost-effective in Shinjuku area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yusiye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights.

This place is easy reach depending on the mode of transportation. If you are using the subway, then things get easier. The subway station for this place is Higashi-Shinjuku on the Oedo Line of Toei Line. If you are coming from the Shinjuku station, in that case you have to change at Tochomae Station for Higashi Shinjuku. Exit A1, turn right and then turn right down the first side street you come to. The property is 90 metres ahead, the building at the very end of the straightaway. Just as you come out and turn right, there is this E-Hotel, Higashi. The lane adjacent to E-Hotel Higashi is the way to J-Residence.

The rooms are of usual size as per Japanese standards. It has a kitchen with the necessary utensils. Great if you want to cook. The cleanliness is not up to mark. Just o.k. So if you plan to stay for long periods take note of the same. There was a balcony attached to the room .So for smokers, that is welcome addition. I believe all the rooms have balcony. There is wi-fi facility, though we had problems connecting to the network on the first day and people there couldn't help. However, next day onwards it was working properly. The toilet is tiny and just about manageable. There is also a T.V in the room, in case you are interested in watching japanese channels, which I did at times. The room was fitted with A.C.

Overall a very decent stay.

Room Tip: We opted for single beds and not the bunk beds as was displayed in the booking site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adsalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is a great choice if you prefer to cook in Tokyo. With the kitchen you can save a lot of money on food. But for gourmet hunters like me, there are better options around. Cleanliness is not up to Japanese standard. So if you have allergy problems, be prepared.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Safarimeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I stayed there for three nights in September, arriving on the night Typhoon Man-yi descended upon Japan. Initially I had difficulty locating the place as the city of Tokyo was eerily quiet, with barely a dozen pedestrian walking around. The transport system was in locked-down except for a few ‘brave’ taxi drivers who could barely understand what I was saying. After having located the place, in a small laneway next to the Higashi-Shinjuku Station way past midnight, I found a note dangling on the reception door telling me that my room was unlocked, and money will be collected the next day. How very meticulous and trusting. I was woken up the next morning by howling winds and splashing rain.
The room was small but self contained, with a microwave oven, and pots and pans, fridge, and some utensils included. The usual toiletries were provided. It was neat, quiet and cosy, with a separate toilet and shower unit. Internet reception is poor, so don’t rely on that if you want to connect to the outside world. Very good value for money, especially in a city like Tokyo. The whole building was very quiet considering it was fully occupied. Higashi-Shinjuku station was only a 2 minutes walk from the residence, and there are plenty of convenience stores nearby. Korea Town is within walking distance. If you are coming by taxi, tell the driver to drop you off at E-Hotel (well known). The residence is located at the end of the laneway between E-Hotel and Higashi-Shinjuku Station. All in all, very happy that I have found this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnMyLastLegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
#19 of 81 in Shinjuku
760 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,261 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#14 of 81 in Shinjuku
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J residence Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J residence Shinjuku

Property: J residence Shinjuku
Address: 2-3-7 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Speciality lodging in Shinjuku
Hotel Class:2 star — J residence Shinjuku 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Rakuten so you can book your J residence Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J Residence Shinjuku Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing