We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Ranked #13 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon trip to Japan, and we loved it. The room was small (as is to be expected for Japan) but very comfortable and clean. The room also had a great view! There was no minibar, but each floor had vending machines with snacks and drinks (alcoholic and non alcoholic) and the rooms had a fridge to put drinks in. We really liked this system, as there was much more choice than a minibar, and you don't have to worry about the bill at the end. The location of the hotel was great - easy access to Shinjuku station, and close to restaurants and shops etc. The price was also very reasonable and I would say good value for what it is. We really enjoyed our stay here, and would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Higher floor for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

368 - 374 of 997 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed only 1 night here but would stay again in a millisecond.

I was thrown off at first that after my boyfriend checked us in, the reception asked for my passport as well. I asked why they wanted a copy of my documents if the room wasn't under my name and he said that all guests staying were required to do so. ((I later found out that this hotel is right near the "Red-Light" District and this was possibly a deterrent for Johns trying to bring girls in))

The room was exactly like the website pictures and immaculate.

The bed, amenities, and the view were just awesome.

Also, it felt a bit random but this place had THE fastest elevator ever. I mean, we literally pressed the button and no matter if we were on our floor (20) or in the lobby it came in 5 seconds!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views Ask for a second towel if you need to use 1 for your hair and one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This hotel is close to the Shinjuku train station. It's a big hotel. Check-in etc was uncomplicated. The rooms are small, but well designed. One hears a bit of street noise (even on the 16th floor where I was), but it's not too bad. The check-in staff were not super-professional (or their English was limited), and couldn't answer some of my questions about the internet. But as it turned out later in the room, it was all no problem and it worked just perfect. The rooms are not very sound proof, so I heard some of my neighbors at times (but this may not be untypical for Japanese hotels I discovered).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anglosuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I am glad that we only stayed here one night because I wouldn't be able to handle it

The first thing we noticed about this hotel was the smell when we arrived on our floor, when we entered the rooms it did not get any better, and the bathrooms smelt worse like sewerage. Considering we were in Non-Smoking rooms there was no reason for it to stink so badly!

You are right next to the train line and that was all that I could hear all night, I don't know if the other side of the hotel is any better, but the trains were really loud and noisy and kept me awake for a couple of hours after getting to bed.

My sister and her partner were in the room next to us which smelt even worse then ours, I did not envy them at all!

The only positive side to this hotel was that the bell boys were super helpful and were able to recommend places for us to eat and make booking for us.

In all I would NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shorty I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were in Shinjuku both at the start of our Japanese holiday for one week when the Prince was full until our return for two final days. So we were able to contrast the Prince in the heart of Shinjuku with a hotel 20 mins walk on the edge of the area (see my separate APA hotel review if interested). The Prince won hands down being bang in the centre of this exciting vibrant area.

All around are the throbbing Shinjuku shops and department stores, restaurants and night-life including some adult clubs, plus within 5 - 8 mins walk through pavements, alleys or the station, access to the platform for trains to the Osaka / Kyoto Shinkansens.

Our booked standard room was so claaustrophobic I'd swear if you walked from the door to big window - just 3 or so steps - and didn't stop, you'd end up floating down over the red light district 15 floors below. At reception in a trice, bought an inexpensive upgrade (not available when originally booking) to a deluxe room which was exactly twice the size, well featured with a small separate seating area, huge picture window over the main station and around, comfy big bed and lovely bathroom.

WiFi in the room wasn't too cheap and not massively fast, but we bought one night and were able on the 2nd night to find a different connection anyway.

The foyer was a disappointing area lacking much seating, the staff English skills varied for moderate to non-existent and the lack of a coffe shop or bar meals area in early evening was a surprise.

Needing an early checkout for a 7:00 am train I did everything possible at Reception the night before, but was still asked to call at Reception in the morning. Thankfully with no queue then, we were away in a few seconds.

We had a really happy exciting three weeks in Japan this Spring and the Shinjuku Prince was a great way to spend our last 2 days. I do read other reviewers' reviews and if our holiday had not been so exciting, I am sure some of the hotel's shortcomings which they and I noticed may have dampened our enthusiasm, but thankfully this was not the case. We had a great stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade or book a deluxe, they are spacious enough whilst the standard rooms are claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Pros:
- Inexpensive
- In a happening area
- fairly responsive staff (so-so english)
- safe area, although it looks unsafe

Cons:
- rooms are noisy because of constant train traffic
- No WiFi inside the room (even if you are willing to pay !)
- wired internet inside the room is very slow
- WiFi available in the lobby, but no place to sit !
- No coffee (just green tea)...plus you will have to walk down the hallway to get hot water
- Cafe in the lobby is expensive and bad food
- It is very very crowded in the lobby as well as when you step out
- The rooms are very small (even by Japanese standards) , no closets.
- airport shuttle stop is 5 minutes away
- no Gym

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank assamese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

As this is a Japanese hotel chain , communication with the hotel staff in English could be a challenge.
On my first day, I was v frustrated as i was not able to get directions by the concierge staff.
I decided to take a cab to shinjuku station to get a sense of direction ( cab fare was below USD 10)and managed to find my way . Lots of restaurants ( including a 24/7 ramen shop), convenience shops, even a 100yen shop .

There is a train station next to the hotel - but that
Is not useful for any the key sightseeing spots.

Rooms are clean - would recommend that one tops up for the bigger room . It would be good to have more English channels on TV though.

Free Wi- fi is only at reception - you see lots of people sitting around the front desk on their devices - I would rather pay a flat fee to get access in my room ...

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinklemelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,374 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,432 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Prince Hotel

Address: 1-30-1 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-8487, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: £97 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shinjuku Prince Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 571
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shinjuku - a city constantly on the move. Here in this fast-paced subcenter of Tokyo, you'll find the striking, brick-colored tower of the Shinjuku Prince Hotel, which boasts 571 guest rooms and the trendy shops of the Seibu Shinjuku PePe. Located near the towering Tokyo Metropolitan City Hall, this elegant hotel is just a few minutes walk from the skyscrapers of the financial district and the neon lights of the famous Kabuki-cho, a constantly humming nightlife quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Expedia, Rakuten, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shinjuku Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Shinjuku
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Shinjuku Prince Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing