We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want ONLY a great room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #12 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
kingston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“If you want ONLY a great room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel if your only desire is a wonderful room. After that it quickly goes downhill. Staff have very basic English skills, Internet is an add-on and there is NO wifi at all in the hotel. There is no onsite printing capability so if you need paper boarding pass you are out of luck. Gym facility is over staffed and hence very expensive 3150 yen for use of equipment that was in its prime in the previous century. Then they have the gall to charge another 3000 plus yen to use the pool. Remember this is per use NOT per stay. The food is way overpriced as others have commented. Hotel claims to have conceriege services but several attempts to use met with such rudimentary English skills I gave up. Just to ensure I was not being overly critical I visited the Four Seasons a few blocks away. Totally different experience - only caveat is that I did I not see rooms

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank socrates1375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    179
    47
    5
    2
See reviews for
115
63
39
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

I like this hotel because it is quiet and fairly priced. Rooms are good, we are in Japan and it is very clean. The area is very safe. I didn't eat at the hotel because of the prices. I would recommend it to travellers with some time at their disposal.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Granviaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I usually come to Shinjuku for work and in the past I had a hard time to find an hotel with rooms which could give me a little more space for living. This hotel has reasonably sized rooms so I come here all the time. Yes, it's not located right into the underground station but who cares? 5 minutes walk are good. Recommendable

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Athina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
612 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

I have gone back to this hotel as promised. I could repeat exactly the same words as last year, but there are two aspects which I would like to mention here:

- breakfast remains incredibly expensive and buffet is not as rich as last year: almost no fruit.

- there are many smaller but cheaper eating places behind the hotel on university campus; language might be a problem, but just point at anything on the menu or use sign language: it will be authentic and delicious.

If you are into shopping, you could use the hotel shuttle. The reasons why I came back: impeccable service and the size of the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gonzalo_de_Berceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
612 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

I must say I really enjoyed this hotel: excellent staff and incredible service. The rooms are huge according to Tokyo standards, and not too expensive if booked through Expedia or similar services. Of course everything is ultra-clean according to Japanese standards, but the building could use here and there a spot of paint. The lobby is impressive, and the interior decoration stylish. The location of the hotel is excellent if you have to be at Waseda University: just across the garden. But if you want to be in the hustle and the bustle of Shinjuku, it will take you a taxi or shutle ride.

On the downside: expensive wired Internet (no wifi), expensive movies, expensive food (2500 yen for buffet breakfast, and the other restaurants and bar in the hotel are even more expensive).

I will certainly go to this hotel again ... if I have to be at Waseda University.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gonzalo_de_Berceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

Disappointing hotel if location is important - states as being in Shinjuku but is most definitely not in the hub of things. The hotel offers a shuttle service from the nearest JR station but this only work from 9am to 9pm - there is NOTHING around the hotel and a taxi from the nearest station is 2000 yen -if you want to eat in the hotel then this will be expensive as well
Hotel itself is set up for the Japanese market few Westerners there, little English spoken, rooms could do with a freshen up and certainly nothing special.
Overall wouldn't recommend for sightseeing holiday due to location, and nothing special on the facilities front . Also most other hotels we stayed in Japan gave free internet this hotel charged

Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jsnowybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riedstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

I stayd at the Rihga Royal Tokyo for three nights. My room was very nice, quite large and very clean. The beds were comfortable (not too soft) and the room was quiet.
Good breakfast, very nice and helpful staff. Hotel offers a free of charge shuttle bus to the next station where you can find a shopping center and many restaurants.

Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank butscherona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,678 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,638 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#15 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo

Property: RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo
Address: 1-104-19 Totsuka-machi, Shinjuku 169-8613, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#8 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#10 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo, located on the edge of Okuma Garden in downtown Tokyo, is a luxurious and elegant retreat set in the centre of one of the world's busiest commercial capitals. Although our presence in Tokyo is recent, we have brought with us a legendary level of service and the experience of operating Osaka's premier hotel, The Royal, for over half a century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp and JAPANiCAN so you can book your RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rihga Royal Shinjuku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing