We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel right next to Waseda University”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #11 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

It is fairly traditional, with grand lobby, lots of meeting spaces, and somewhat grand European-leaning elegance. Service is very good, and breakfast is great, with many interesting Japanese options. Seems more oriented to Japanese businessmen and visitors, saw few Westerners. Staff is polite and helpful. I had a nice room (1200) overlooking the beautiful garden and with good views of the city. The room was surprisingly quiet, much appreciated in this busy city. Comfortable bed, and room very well-appointed all around. Nice touches, including slippers and bathrobes, and real-china tea set (kelp tea available!). Some quibbles: major one is that this must have been a smoking room, at least at some point, and they could not find me a non-smoking one. But bothered me less than I thought. Also, the hotel looks ju-u-ust a little frayed around the edges here and there. Also, not that close to the subway and train station but they do have a shuttle, which helps. Some reviewers have commented that "not much to do around". True, no real tourist destinations but the neighborhoods around are "real" as opposed to touristy, so plenty to see if you want to get a feel for the real Tokyo, which feels a bit scruffy and grimy, and incredibly packed. I liked it.

Room Tip: Like facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idichev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel is fairly good and, in comparison to others in Tokyo, it is fairly big rooms. The staff is extremely friendly and has good English. The choices for breakfast are quite limited and they never change. The location is all right but not too close to undergrounds and, if you like to use their gym (a decent gym for a hotel, I would say) you need to pay approx. $30.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elidsa2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This hotel is comfortable and has decent amenities. The gym was closed during our stay so that was a big of a let down. Breakfast buffet is the only meal I had at the hotel. The choices leaned more to asian tastes but was fine never the less. Easy access to Narita City to see the sights. Booked here due to work at airport. May choose another location if there is a next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRB_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This hotel is qualified as a luxury one in terms of fascilitiies,
, despite relatively incovinient location.
I love the garden neighboring a prestigeus Waseda Univ.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magurozuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Once upon a time this must have been one of the great hotels in Tokyo…it is still quite a hotel, although I agree with other reviewers that it could use some new breath blown into it….perhaps a coat of paint or so and some newer furniture would help a bit ..We were located in Room 805 -- a wonderful and spacious bathroom, with gold painted tub fixtures…double sinks and lots of water pressure….the old fixtures could use some refurbishing, our room probably could have used a coat of paint….but lets talk about the positives…A grand lobby, wonderful staff and very attentive service. Try, if you can, to get a room with an odd number…those rooms (ours was a suite) look out on a magnificent view…panoramic view of the city, along with a view overlooking Okema Park, a beauty of a traditional Japanese style park with ponds and streams, statuary, koi, small traditional structures and stepping stone paths over the water features. The rear of the hotel actually opens directly onto the park, but alas the park is only open for strolling from 11-4 each day. Upside: if you have an odd number room…it is open for viewing all day and night 24-7! While the hotel is a good walk from the subway, they do offer a complimentary shuttle to and fro on the hour and half hour. Room was very comfortable. Caution: there are no English language stations on the TV, including CNN (overdubbed in Japanese so loudly you cannot hear the English...)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TommyBars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This was a decent place to stay in Tokyo. We didn't have much choice as everything else was fully booked. The room was clean and had all the amenities you'd expect. It urgently needs an upgrade though because the decor feels very much 1980s. Also it seems to cater to a mostly Japanese clientele making it a bit difficult for international guests. For instance there were no foreign language TV channels and staff seemed to struggle with English. In the absence of decent alternatives it's an ok place to stay but I wouldn't make it my first choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cyba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I stayed at the Rihga Royal because I was attending a conference here; if I were booking my own accommodation in Tokyo I would not stay here.
The property itself is actually OK, but the details are a let-down:
- Gym access costs $30 and only opens at 7am
- Breakfast only starts at 7am
- Staff speak very little English
- Not a single English-speaking TV channel; CNN has a voice-over in Japanese
- Difficult to get to from Narita Airport
- Breakfast buffet is expensive and pretty nasty.
If you can afford it, the Four Seasons is only a couple of blocks away. It is a fabulous hotel and there is a shuttle service to the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Back_to_Sandringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,474 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,061 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#13 of 83 in Shinjuku
990 reviews
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 83 in Shinjuku
3,083 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-104-19 Totsuka-machi, Shinjuku 169-8613, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Shinjuku
#6 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#8 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#8 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#10 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: £102 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo, located on the edge of Okuma Garden in downtown Tokyo, is a luxurious and elegant retreat set in the centre of one of the world's busiest commercial capitals. Although our presence in Tokyo is recent, we have brought with us a legendary level of service and the experience of operating Osaka's premier hotel, The Royal, for over half a century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rihga Royal Shinjuku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing