We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in Shinjuku - easy to trains, sites and shopping”
Review of Hilton Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2013

A lovely stay... didn't stay much in the hotel to enjoy all of it's amenities. Decor is nice and beds very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel for business or other and the wedding chapel area is pretty.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveloveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our product, service and great location!

My team and I thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,409)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Tokyo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,513 - 2,519 of 4,409 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed here to participate in the recent Tokyo Marathon. Despite the full occupancy, everything ran smoothly and service was excellent. The free shuttle bus to Shinjuku station ran like clockwork every 20 minutes. I did not get the chance to use much of the facilities due to my full schedule but I will surely stay here again on my next visit to Tokyo. Highly recommend this hotel to both business and leisure travellers.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkllhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Dear guest,

It is great to hear you loved your stay for the recent Tokyo Marathon and congratulations for participating!

We look forward to welcoming you back and hopefully you will have the chance to relax and enjoy our services and facilities.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed for 3 nights but unfortunately we seemed to be stuck with a smoking room and it smelled so bad! The staff were really good but I don't feel we got what we paid for. We booked a king Jnr suite and it was very dated inside, good size but nothing in room was impressive.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mysayok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Guest,

It is unacceptable that you were allocated a smoking room if a non smoking room was requested and for this please accept my apologies.

A junior suite is a large standard guest room (1.7 room bays) with the benefit of a large sofa/sitting area and additional storage space. It is however not one of our luxurious room types and if this type is required we suggest that you book an Executive City Suite, Executive Tower Suite or Executive Deluxe Suite.

As mentioned we are however renovating 200+ rooms currently and we will have new room designs available from the second week of March 2013. The new designs we feel will be very well received and along with new bathrooms significantly enhance the guest experience across all Deluxe and Executive room categories.

Thank you for choosing Hilton and again our apologies for the incorrect allocation of smoking preference. When you next choose to return to Tokyo please contact my assistant at Hiroyo.uchikawa@hilton.com and we will ensure you are well taken care of and all VIP courtesies are extended.

Sincerely

MR. JAMIE A MEAD I General Manager

HILTON TOKYO
t: +81 (0)3 3344 5111 | m: +81 (0)80 3276 0036 I f: +81 (0)3 3346 1704
6-2-2 Nishi-Shinjuku |Shinjuku-ku| Tokyo 160-0023 | Japan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Hyatt Shinjuku – Tokyo

Pros:
• Classic 5 star property
• Excellent concierge, Excellent service
• 7 minute walk from Shinjuku station
• They define the pursuit of excellence here

Cons:
• None

ProTips:
• Upgrade to an Executive room and stay on the executive floor with nightly cocktail bar and fine appetizers at Happy Hour as well as Executive check-in bypassing the chaotic lobby.
• The sauna here is an exception to the usual ‘no-tattoo in Japanese saunas ‘ rule. They understand that a high number of guests from the West have tattoos and are friendly and accommodating.

This is a great hotel with highly trained and efficient staff. Expect the best here. We spent a week and a half here using it as a base to explore the city and found it to impress again and again. The service is great. The location is a short walk from Shinjuku station and if you absolutely need to dine in the options are more than palatable. This place is what you’d expect from a Hyatt property and we wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again. The experience on the executive floor was extremely pleasant. The view is amazing and on a clear day Mt. Fuji-san is clearly visible in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyKidsAreCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

I assume your review is for Hilton Tokyo based on the facilities and the nature of your comments (i.e. Hilton allows fashion tattoo and our competitor hotels do not).

We would appreciate if you could amend this part of your review and resubmit if the hotel name is incorrect.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

On a trip to Tokyo, I stayed here and also a very large local brand closeby. Both get mixed reviews. The bottom-line for the Hilton is that the rooms are large (by Japanese standards), the location is good, but the property needs maintenance and I got tired of being nickle and dimed on everything.

Location: Right next to the Nishi-Shinjuku station or about a kilometer or so from the main Shinjuku station. Also right next to the Shinjuku Park (1km loop around) and the government buildings. Plenty of restaurants nearby.

Rooms: I was upgraded to the junior suite, which was nice. However, I noticed the wallpaper was peeling at the seems, the vinyl furniture was well worn (showing through in many places), and overall just needing an eye for detail from the maintenance crew. Compared to the local chain, this hotel was, however, more modern. Compared to other Hiltons around the world, this one ranks near the bottom for the quality of the property.

Price: Unfortunately, this is where things fall apart. The basic room rate gets you a room. If you want breakfast (which they push upon registration), you'll have to fork over $20+ a day. Also, if you booked here based on the great reviews for the executive lounge, be aware that you must be Gold or Platinum to gain free access. Otherwise, be prepared to pay handsomely (I was quoted $80+ a day!). Now if you want internet, guess what? You're right, yet another outrageous fee. You can, however, go down to the lobby and get 2-3 hours of free wifi down there.

Bottom line: I would only recommend staying here if you get the breakfast, lounge, and wifi bundled with a good rate. Otherwise, look at the other hotels within walking distance that are better values.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brian796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and for choosing to stay with us.

As mentioned in previous responses we are currently renovating the hotel and you stayed in a Junior Suite that is no longer part of our available inventory. From March 2013 the new guest rooms will be made available and this will be completed by early April.

Your comments regarding poor maintenance are however surprising as this hotel is regularly cited for exceptional maintenance and housekeeping. My team is investigating your comments for immediate rectification.

I would however like to respond regarding your 'nickel and dimed' comments as we have a very transparent pricing policy. At Hilton we always give our guests the choice of room category and inclusions to provide a price and product suited to the guests requirements. All Hilton hotels charge for internet, breakfast and Executive Lounge access unless you choose a rate that includes these items. Our Executive Floor pricing also has many inclusions including daily breakfast (2) internet, all day refreshments, evening cocktails and canapés, afternoon tea, express laundry and valet etc.

Gold Hilton HHonors members are entitled to a room available upgrade with lounge access and Diamond Hilton HHonors members are entitled to Lounge access and all inclusions regardless of the availability of room upgrade to Executive.

Internet is available free of charge in the Lobby on L1 and L2, all restaurants and in our business centre including 6 computers and printing.

I hope this clarifies this and provides clear information for readers of this forum.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Traveling for business can be a real downer, but the Hilton Tokyo is always nice to stop at. The rooms are spacious, uncluttered and very clean. The usual amenities are available. The property in not new, but very well maintained. I found the prices in the restaurant to be exorbitant, but one can eat elsewhere if he so chooses. The gym and pool area are very nice. The bus that runs to Shinjuku station every 20 minutes is very convenient for commuting, shopping or dining. The staff is gracious and offers a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to receive a balanced review from such frequent traveler and we appreciate that you took the time to share your experience on this forum.

Concerning our restaurants - pricing is aligned to the local market however we do have great value lunch and dinner course menus from US$25 and a la carte from US$25 available. I do however apologize if this did not meet your expectations and we will incorporate your comments into our menu and concept reviews.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

agree with others who comment on the ridiculously small lobby area, where there is virtually no seating and I think the idea must be to discourage anyone from spending any time there.Other than this a comfortable Hilton, if you are wanting something with more Japanese flavour this may not be it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pheephox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your comments are appreciated.

The lobby area of this hotel can become very busy as noted however please note that additional lounge space is available on L2 and L7 in guest lounges.

We do however aim to provide a great hotel experience with exceptional service, guestrooms and restaurants. Unfortunately the design of the hotel is as it is and we are unable to make the lobby any larger. The design is also typical in many hotels and public buildings in Japan with limited seating provided due to the traffic volumes and space limitations.

We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for your comments.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,016 reviews
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 83 in Shinjuku
3,026 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 83 in Shinjuku
2,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,330 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo

Address: 6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: £202 - £561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 821
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tokyo is located in Shinjuku, the heart of Tokyo's business, shopping and entertainment district, and is an ideal place to experience modern Japan. A complimentary shuttle operates between the hotel and Shinjuku station and the Tokyo Metro subway is connected to the hotel. Relax in one of the modern Japanese-style rooms and admire stunning city views. The hotel offers WiFi and internet access throughout all rooms and public space. Rejuvenate in the 24-hour on-site health club and relax in the sauna or soothing whirlpool spa. Play tennis on the rooftop courts or swim laps in the indoor pool. Exercise with Technogym equipment, the official supplier of the Olympics and Paralympics. TSUNOHAZU expresses folkloric traditions and boundless energy of the Shinjuku neighborhood in an open-format space composed of colorful materials, surprising design elements and four distinct dining and entertainment zones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hilton Hotel Tokyo
Hilton International Shinjuku
Shinjuku Hilton
Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing