We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms. Close to Shinjuku Station. view of tent city off putting”
Review of Hilton Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Tokyo
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here to spend one night on the town while visiting family in Tokyo. It is convenient to the Shinjuku station but the issue is, when we went to walk around until our room was ready, we ran into a number of homeless people. Then we went into our room and behold, we had a view of the tent city. The rooms were nice and cozy and clean. My husband would advise that if you are not used to a group bath in Japan, that this hotel is mostly full of Japanese so they have no issues with sitting butt check to butt cheek in a group hot tub. He as the only westerner, so he did the polite wait 5 minutes and leave, but he much preferred the option of a private bath to rent.
The business office was wonderful shipping some items for us and we had a business lunch with a client form the U.S. at their restaurant which was quite good.

Room Tip: a room away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXAggieLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 4/5 review however I am rather perplexed with your comments on a tent city and the view of the tent city from the hotel.

Shinjuku Chuo Park is located approximately 300 meters from the hotel directly adjacent the Hyatt Regency and Park Hyatt. There are homeless people in the park however there is definitely no tent city and they pose no risk whatsoever to residents or guests. Tokyo as one of the largest city's in the world has homeless people in all areas of the city much like New York, London, Paris or Beijing.

I would however like to confirm for readers of this forum that the hotel has a view of the park but from 11-38 stories up and 300+ meters away with trees and other buildings there is no view of people using the park. The Tokyo Metropolitan Government and other organizations also work closely with the homeless residents of the city to provide meals and shelter accommodation. Hilton also conducts activities in the park periodically to assist in this cause.

Concerning our fitness center we do have a traditional Japanese bath and this is utilized only naked. The concept of communal bathing is a part of the Japanese culture and this facility is a part of our fitness area on level 5. It is a large area and personal space is always respected. For guests not wanting to experience this all of our guestrooms have full bathrooms with bath and shower.

We thank you for your candid feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,434 - 2,440 of 4,705 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

Excellent hotel in Shinjuku area of Tokyo. Well located, excellent service. It was a wonderful place to stay for 4 days. Nearby restaurants and shopping area. direct access to a metro station. walking distance to Shinjuku station. direct bus service to Narita Airport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Herbert6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 5/5 review it is sincerely appreciated.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone. It is centrally located, near a lot of restaurants and subway system. Rooms were clean, staff was courteous and everything was right. The Indian restaurant in the basement was not up to par.

Room Tip: We took whatever room they gave us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prabhakar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very complimentary review, we sincerely appreciate the time taken to share your experience.

Please however note that all of the restaurants and shops including the Asoka Indian Restaurant in the shopping center below the hotel is not operated or affiliated in any way with Hilton Tokyo. Our Concierge is however able to recommend some great Indian Restaurants in the city which I am sure will meet your expectations.

We wish you safe onward travels.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

A very good hotel with a good location, great room, good facilities and really good staff ( although all the hotels we stayed in our trip also had really good staff). The only negative comment we have is the exorbitant charges for internet access. It's such a small thing but a real annoyance/hassle factor. Get the marketing manager onto this and either raise room prices and provide it for free as most hotels do, or better yet, keep the prices the same and provide free access.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank NorthVancouverite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and I am very pleased you had a great stay with us.

We provide complimentary internet for our Gold and Diamond HHonors members and also in our L1 and L2 lobby and business center for all guests. In room internet is approximately US$15 per day for up to five simultaneous connections to secure high speed WiFi or wired internet. All full service international hotels in Tokyo charge for internet and this allows our guests to choose what amenities are required rather than include in all rates.

We do however than you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Overall a mediocre stay again at this hotel. In fact the only reason I chose it was due to the Diamond benefits I thought I would receive.

Typically as a Diamond member, I consistently receive the following (even at Conrad Tokyo):

1. Upgrade - didn't happen
2. Welcome letter from HM - didn't happen
3. VIP welcome gift - chocolates or fruit basket - nothing in my room
4. Complimentary pressing of 2 items of clothing - nope...

I did receive complimentary breakfast and Lounge benefits but to be honest - it was so crowded and so understaffed I didn't bother going back for cocktails and canapés after the first night.

On top of this I had to change my room as all I could hear on the first night was 'ton ton ton' from the ceiling keeping me awake. The new room was an interconnecting room and every morning at 5.30am I was woken up by the noisy businessman in the phone next door - thin walls, thin roofs...

What was good?

The service was spectacular considering how understaffed the hotel was. Also a good gym/pool/spa area.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Japanuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Upgrades for Gold and Diamond Hhonors members are subject to availability at the time of arrival and all Hilton Hhonors amenities are offered at this hotel. Hilton Tokyo is proud to be one of the top 10 hotels in Asia Pacific for guest satisfaction and amongst our HHonors Members we are also consistently ranked very highly for benefit delivery and service including our Executive Lounge.

Rooms at Hilton Tokyo are 28m2-34m2 across all categories which above the standard size at other upper upscale hotels in Tokyo, Suites range from 50m2-150m2. Rooms would not be considered tiny at this property and are comparable across all other Hilton Hotels in APAC and significantly larger than many hotels in Tokyo.

Based on your reservation you reserved a standard guest room and due to occupancy an upgrade was not available. Hilton Tokyo is a very busy hotel and we always suggest guests reserve the room type (Standard, Deluxe, Executive, Suite) required prior to arrival to avoid disappointment.

Based on your feedback we are of course very disappointment as it is so very different from the great majority of reviews on this site. I would also sincerely appreciate if you could bring any concerns to our Executive Floor Manager or HHonors Manager's attention during your stay. The team at Hilton Tokyo are absolutely committed to excellence in hospitality.

Thank you for returning to Hilton Tokyo and we look forward to welcoming you back. My team and I remain at your service and can be contacted at anytime to assist you.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

They have become so Americanized that there is not much Japanese hospitality. We hopped the train and took a short ride to Toshima via Ikebukuro and stayed at Family Inn Saiko to compare and we wished we could have stayed in Toshima more. Hilton needs to step up their game . I am going back to Tokyo once a month and I may give it another try. I stayed one night then went back another on the way out. yes, the rooms are clean but the customer service is just ok. I may have shown up at super busy times and I understand that the staff was very busy. The executive lounge is way too busy and full. It's not a bad place but.......

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GG S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We look forward to welcoming you back and creating an exceptional stay.

Hilton Tokyo is a western style hotel providing Japanese hospitality. We are also proud of our strong Japanese design elements throughout the hotel and we continue this focus with our new guestrooms and restaurants designed in Japan and using Japanese materials.

Our hotel is very popular and can be busy especially over weekends and national holidays. The team always does there very best to ensure the highest levels of service. Our Executive Lounge also operates supplementary space due to full Executive Guestroom occupancy plus Diamond HHonors members with amenity lounge access over peak times. We appreciate your understanding and assure you of our commitment to hospitality.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back and wish you safe travels.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Because we had our first stay in Tokio,we choose a Hilton Hotel to do nothing wrong.And it was really the best choise.First and very important for a Tokio-newcomer is the Transfer from Airport to the Hotel.This worked perfectly.Same on the way back from Hotel to the airport.Transfer is perfect,because the is a dropoff and a pickup-point in front of the Hilton.Very comfortable.
Hotel is great.Reception is very competent,checkin very quick if you are HHonores member.
Room was excellent.We booked an executive room in an upper floor.We had room 3427 in the 34th floor.First night we ordered food by room service.Meal was excellent.All over all we had one of our best stays in an hotel worldwide.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Try to book a room on upper floor,so you will have a great view over tokio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hdgleich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very complimentary review and I am glad you had a great first visit to Tokyo.

Tokyo is an amazing city with so much to see and do - I hope you left with the intention of returning and experiencing more of the city and Japan.

Thank you again and safe travels.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 87 in Shinjuku
4,215 reviews
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 87 in Shinjuku
3,273 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 87 in Shinjuku
3,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#12 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,031 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#14 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,467 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 87 in Shinjuku
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo

Address: 6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: £210 - £509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 821
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tokyo is located in Shinjuku, the heart of Tokyo's business, shopping and entertainment district, and is an ideal place to experience modern Japan. A complimentary shuttle operates between the hotel and Shinjuku station and the Tokyo Metro subway is connected to the hotel. Relax in one of the modern Japanese-style rooms and admire stunning city views. The hotel offers WiFi and internet access throughout all rooms and public space. Rejuvenate in the 24-hour on-site health club and relax in the sauna or soothing whirlpool spa. Play tennis on the rooftop courts or swim laps in the indoor pool. Exercise with Technogym equipment, the official supplier of the Olympics and Paralympics. TSUNOHAZU expresses folkloric traditions and boundless energy of the Shinjuku neighborhood in an open-format space composed of colorful materials, surprising design elements and four distinct dining and entertainment zones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Southall Travel, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hilton Hotel Tokyo
Hilton International Shinjuku
Shinjuku Hilton
Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing