We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“David on Tour”
Review of Hilton Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Cartagena, Spain
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“David on Tour”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Service is the name of the game at the Tokyo Hilton, every member of staff seem to want to do their best to help you and they all speak excellent English, it gives you the feel good factor. We stayed in a Hilton King room the room we had had been recently refurbished, it was a good sized room and the new design using glass and screens to separate the bathroom gives you a sense of extra space. It seems odd to mention this but the toilet with the heated seat and built in bidet is amazing. The breakfast buffet is fabulous with a fantastic selection and excellent service.
On an unrelated personal issue we had to get in touch with the management and their response was excellent, the issue was dealt with in an excellent fashion, thank you Mr Williamson.
As an example of service I called and asked if they had any scales that I could use to weigh my luggage, these were brought to my room in a matter of minutes, excellent.
The hotel is very well placed for public transport and a Metro station on the Maranuchi line is accessed from the hotel basement.
You can book a Limo Coach from the hotel to the airport and it's a very good service straight from the hotel to the airport and your luggage all looked after for you.
If I have to say anything negative and I always will on this issue, it's 2014 and in room WiFi should be free so catch up Hilton Hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest
thankyou for your 5/5 review and wonderful comments about our location, famous breakfast buffet and bathroom facilities and of course most of all your interactions with our team members including our new GM. We are all very happy to have hosted you and look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,150
    1,448
    377
    103
    68
See reviews for
1,049
1,137
393
971
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Tokyo Hilton is ideally situated for travel to the various tourist spots around the city. The hotel has free transport every 20 mins to Shinjuku Station from where one can access the metro to all areas in Tokyo. Staff at hotel are brilliant and very helpful. Tokyo is a lovely city with lovely parks, numerous shopping areas and places to eat reasonably priced. A must is to go down to the fishmarket in the morning where one can experience fresh shushi which was fantastic. There are numerous trips one can take for the day out of Tokyo, a recommendation is the day trip to Mount Fuji, then cable car to Owakudani volcanic valley - Hakone and boat trip on Lake Ashi. For the return journey back to Tokyo one can return back by bus or travel back on the bullet train which is an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfgang P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest
thankyou for your 5/5 review and it seems you were able to experience a lot of exciting activities whilst inTokyo. We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Hotel is located in the Business district of Shinjuku, 10 minutes Walking to the Shinjuku Station. We walked down the road and sometimes used the Underground Walking Connections.
The Lobby is great, very lively during the day. Check in was very friendly and helpful. The room was fantastic, great view, spacious and a nice bathroom (divided à la japonaise into bath/shower room and toilet/sink. a Little narrow). We had breakfast in the room, perfect.
There are Shops in the Underground area with coffee shop, boutiques and a convenience store which doesn't sell cigarettes. For that you Need to go to the Hyatt opposite.
The Bar is very nice, good Drinks, but Closes quite early, after 1 am no Chance.
I noticed outside that the japanese flag in front of the building was old and ripped off and the red Color was orange by the sun already. I mentionned that twice to the staff at Concierge, but nothing happened the days after during our stay. I think the Hotel should care about this more.

Room Tip: Try to get at top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest
thankyou for your 5/5 review and great comments about many aspects of our Hotel especially about the flag at the front. We will definitely get that replaced and thankyou for bringing this matter to our attention as is very important. We hope to see you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,810 reviews
330 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 673 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed here last year on vacation, and this time, for work, so will be writing from a slightly different perspective

Arriving at Haneda airport, i found the airport bus that takes me directly to the Hilton, for about $10. If you take a taxi, i think that's about $80. The downside to the bus is that it only comes once every hour, and it took 20mins just to pick up all the other passenger from 2-3 other terminals after me. After that it was about 45mins to downtown

Hilton is on the quiet side of Shinjuku. The crowded side is where Shinjuku JR station is, and the hotel provides a shuttle bus that gets you there in less than 10mins

Check-in was ok, though not perfect. I heard about some renovated rooms and asked for 1 of those, and alas my request was denied. So i got an old room, designed and built in the 1990s, and not very pleasant to look at. The toilet of course has no shower, just the safety hazard bathtub which i dislike very much. There was also no complimentary water provided, so i had to buy my own. But on the 4th day of my stay, suddenly, complimentary bottled water appeared. so i felt cheated after that

On the day of my arrival, i was also disappointed to find out the hotel room tv has barely any sports channels, and nothing is showing the french tennis open final. Another disappointment

The gym and pool are smallish, but serviceable. So is the sauna. And like the room, everything just looks worn and old, and all style and design are dead

The breakfast restaurant and spread are ok, but rather odd it seems to be in the lobby coffee lounge. Some people trying to eat on a small coffee table just looks strange. Perhaps it's because they are renovating the entire 2nd floor restaurant complex above, which will re-open in november

The in-room dining menu has the tiniest list of options for japanese food, just 2 options - katsu-don and tempura udon. No sushi etc.. Both were ok

I later found out the hotel has an underground link to a Metro station/line (different from the JR line), and there are also sundry shops, barber, medical clinic, and shops selling clothes and stuff. Nothing impressive though

Overall, a very dated hotel with 0 hardware wow factor and should be rated 3 stars. The japanese service upped it to 4

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest
thankyou for choosing to stay with us again and for your overall positive review of our hotel. For your next visit please note we have a limited number of rooms that have a shower only if you prefer and our deluxe rooms have a shower separate from the bathtub. We have a dedicated sports channel (JSports) that shows a myriad of sports 24/7 along with CNN sports and BBC sports. We are currently renovating our second floor restaurants level including the Japanese restaurant so there are a limited number of certain Japanese items such as fresh sushi available from the room service menu. The renovation has not however affected the offerings or the seating in the Marble Lounge on the lobby level which enjoys tremendous patronage 24/7. We are glad to read that you were pleased with the services offered and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasay, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed from May 22 - 26, 2014. Check in and out was very efficient. Concierge was very helpful and accommodating although there was one concierge who gave us the wrong information about bus reservations going to Mt. Fuji. Very convenient location, with shops within walking distance. From the Narita airport, there is an airport bus limousine which stops directly in front of the hotel. Same for going back to the airport. Airport Limo reservations required. There is also a hotel bus shuttle going to and from Shinjuku train station. Room was very clean. Free wifi only available in the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAZaam88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest
thankyou for your overall positive review of our hotel and detailed feedback about transport which we have shared with our concierge team. We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
148 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The first thing I noticed as soon as I walked into this hotel was the nice scent, very similar to my favorite (but discontinued) The Vert Green Tea Eau de Toilette from L'Occitane. This scent has a calming effect and that is what I noticed immediately. At the front desk counter, I stopped all the conversation and enjoyed the nice scent for a while. The front desk person said they use aroma oil called green tea. Thank you Hilton for helping me feel at home as soon as I walked in.

Staff at the executive lounge was excellent. When I asked one staff about the fish market (in Tsukiji), he provided me all the information I needed, and the next day at breakfast, he remembered our conversation and made sure to follow up on my visit to the market.

What made the this Hilton more than any other hilton was after the check out. I reserved the bus to the Narita airport and watched the bell staff handled passengers' luggage. Two or three people separately checked, double checked and triple checked all the passengers reserved the seat was on board and luggage was loaded against the printed list they had from the front desk. I normally sit on the window seat where they load luggage to ensure my suitcase was loaded to the bus. I realized I don't have to worry about missing luggage here at Tokyo Hilton. This made me at ease. Assuring they take care of the guests after we checked out the hotel. The door man was giving hard candy to the passengers for the trip. Bus ride to the airport is not short. They know we could all use small candy during a long bus ride to the airport.

There were several other small things they did. It may be a such a small thing but this is the Japanese omotenashi. Sure this hotel is expensive, but the service we received was more than what we paid. I reserved a room again at this hotel, this time for my parents. I want them to enjoy the service I received and really feel relaxed, knowing they will take care of the guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hamham730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest
thankyou for your visit and 5/5 review of our hotel. Yes, the aroma we use is 'Sencha' and very popular, actually the home use version is the biggest seller in our retail outlet. We are most honoured that you have recommended us to your parents and we are looking forward to welcoming them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
syd
Level Contributor
105 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is my second stay here and I had a wonderful stay, especially now I know my way around. Check in and check out was super efficient, although when it gets busy it is really hard to know how to line up because people just stand around and use own courtesy system as to who was first and so on. I wish they would put in some sort of line up system otherwise, guests are just standing around in a makeshift line. Everything else was fine, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stugs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest
thankyou for your overall positive review of our hotel and constructive feedback about our busy front desk. We note that you have stayed previously and hope that you will always choose to stay with us when in Tokyo and we look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,801 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,810 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo

Property: Hilton Tokyo
Address: 6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tokyo boasts market leading contemporary guestrooms, spectacular bars and restaurants and one of the finest health clubs in the city. Enjoy Tokyo's most popular location - Shinjuku, with easy access to JR Shinjuku Station and direct access from the hotel to the Tokyo Metro (Subway). Follow us on facebook Hilton Tokyo (Official) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hilton Hotel Tokyo
Hilton International Shinjuku
Shinjuku Hilton
Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing