We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Hotel but really expensive!”
Review of Hilton Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is one of the best Hilton's we've ever stayed in, wonderful bustling foyer area (sometimes a little too busy but that's Tokyo for you!) and the rooms were a good size for Japan, nicely finished. The location is perfect with a very handy shuttle to Shinjuku station that we used every day. Frankly this hotel would get 5 stars if it wasn't for my pet hate which is when a place holds it's guests to ransom for their on site amenities. The prices in the foyer restaurant are just ridiculous, one late night we didn'd have the time or energy left to go out so ate in there and I paid 1800 Yen for fish & chips with the smallest portion of fish I'd ever seen - we were also hustled out of the restaurant after our meal as apparently the staff were keen to close (it was only about 9.30pm). The bar in the hotel is lovely but again prices just too much to justify more than one drink there - they charge the same as the New York bar in the Park Hyatt except you don't get amazing table service and fantastic views of Tokyo! I'm sure the hordes of business people through the hotel every week don't care but it's a bit much for you're average couple of family travelling.

Thoroughly recommend this hotel though, for Tokyo the nightly rate we paid wasn't actually too bad and you can fairly easily go out in Shinjuku for more modestly price food and drink.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Oatway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest
thankyou for your overall positive review and we are glad you enjoyed our great Tokyo vibe. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,018 - 2,024 of 4,588 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

You can expect great service typical of Hilton hotels. The staffs are nice and attentive to your needs. Hotel is near NishiShinjuku Subway Station of the Tokyo Metro Line and close to lots of eateries and shopping centers. If you don't mind the walk, the hotel is also around 10 min away from the Shinjuku JR station by foot.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Johnson Luan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest
thankyou for your 5/5 review and great comments about our location and services. We look forward to welcoming you and the family back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Handy shuttle bus picked us up from Shinjuku station. Quick check in by friendly staff member & upgraded to larger suite.
Room spacious, 2 TVs & great views from 38th floor. Bathroom ok size but found it a bit of a struggle to get into the bath to take a shower.
Exec Lounge was big but often crowded. Staff always friendly & helpful. Breakfast in lounge was adequate but high light was evening drinks & snacks.
In good area with plenty of restaurants in surrounding buildings.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Kathryn6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest
thankyou for your overall positive score and for comparing our hotel so favourably - that is very encouraging for all team members. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities especially our famous Executive Lounge and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is one of the most convenient hotels that i have stayed. To start off, the hotel itself looks like has been renovated as from outside it looks a bit old, but you would be surprised when you get into your room. Colorful room, with Japanese window and a very large rooms for a Japanese standard. The only draw back was the concierge staff were a bit rude and so were some(not all) of the front office staff. Apart from the rooms, the other best thing is you have free shuttle to the central part of the town, Shinjuku, where you can go to shopping...food..or even the main Shinjuku subway station. The shuttle service is available till 930PM in the night.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy a mild earth quake stay in the top floor...38th floor. Thats what i did. Enjoye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kishan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest
thankyou for your 5/5 review and great tips about our location and regular shuttle service to the shopping area. I have noted with concern your comment about some of your interactions with our front office team members, this is not acceptable and I will be sharing this feedback in briefings with them. We experience frequent mild earth tremors in Tokyo and glad to read that it added to your overall travel experience. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Excellent location not only for business but for family vacations as well. The subway entrance is below the hotel, including great access to the JR Railway station. Sites within walking distance and felt very satisfied with local services convenient to hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Luz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest
thankyou for your 5/5 review and excellent comments about our location that is very helpful for other travellers. We hope to see you back again in Tokyo soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Simple, relatively compact and clean room. I was in a room with two singles on 24th floor facing the backside of the hotel which actually had a little bit of a view in the distance as the front side of the hotel has several office towers blocking much of the city view. The room is clean with a simple layout, not sure on how recent the rooms are however room, furniture and fixtures fairly recent. strong water pressure. Very nice breakfast spread in the main lobby dining room and very good service as in many places in Tokyo. Lounge food also very nice, not the full more comprehensive spreads of the Conrad near the tsukiji market (or Conrad HGK) but still very nice.

A few key points for this hotel:
- Access to the subway system (Shinjuku station) directly from the hotel or a walk from outside if you would like - about 15-20 min. fast walking to subway station (I did not time myself but that is my guess - whatever the case relatively short walk)
- Nice breakfast
- Compact, simple, clean and modern rooms, quiet a/c
- Lounge staff and dining room staff all very helpfull and pleasant
(I had no specific issues or requests)
- approx. 37 floors , kind of a semi-circle shaped building
- No steam sauna, only dry sauna (the Conrad Tokyo has a stomping good steamroom)
- Great location in Tokyo - about 20 minute walk from what i would consider a very happening area in Tokyo yet a quick walk back to the quiet business district where the hotel is located - the immediate blocks around the hotel are primarily office towers.


Only stayed here and the Conrad in Tokyo, both great, Conrad complete different area. I preferred Shinjuku area and i had no specific needs to be in any particular district.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank winterday21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest
thankyou for your overall positive review score. Thankyou also for you comprehensive feedback about your room, our facilities, food and great location. We are glad to read we compared favourably and look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Despite the sticker shock, overall, a very positive experience. Even when you know everything is more expensive in Tokyo, you may feel a bit of a sting when you check into this very welcoming, big hotel. And it's not that the prices are unreasonable; rather, the bill grows big quickly, especially if you're converting yen to dollars in your mind with every purchase. Still, the rooms are quiet, clean, sleek and modern; you'll breathe a huge sigh of relief when you close the door on a hectic day in Shinjuku. That walk to the station may cause you to break a sweat, and yet it may not be worth it to pay for a taxi that sits in traffic. HIlton provides lots of reasons to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barracoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Guest
thankyou for your overall positive review and feedback to other visitors on our Hotel. Now the exchange rate is very favourable so we look forward to your return and showcasing many new facilities since your last visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 84 in Shinjuku
4,138 reviews
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 84 in Shinjuku
3,175 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 84 in Shinjuku
3,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#13 of 84 in Shinjuku
1,008 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 118 in Minato
3,265 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 84 in Shinjuku
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo

Address: 6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: £195 - £550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 821
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tokyo is located in Shinjuku, the heart of Tokyo's business, shopping and entertainment district, and is an ideal place to experience modern Japan. A complimentary shuttle operates between the hotel and Shinjuku station and the Tokyo Metro subway is connected to the hotel. Relax in one of the modern Japanese-style rooms and admire stunning city views. The hotel offers WiFi and internet access throughout all rooms and public space. Rejuvenate in the 24-hour on-site health club and relax in the sauna or soothing whirlpool spa. Play tennis on the rooftop courts or swim laps in the indoor pool. Exercise with Technogym equipment, the official supplier of the Olympics and Paralympics. TSUNOHAZU expresses folkloric traditions and boundless energy of the Shinjuku neighborhood in an open-format space composed of colorful materials, surprising design elements and four distinct dining and entertainment zones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Rakuten, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hilton Hotel Tokyo
Hilton International Shinjuku
Shinjuku Hilton
Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing