We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Perfect location - close to the busiest subway station in Tokyo
Hotel shuttle runs every 20 mins to the station.
Great hotel- modern rooms with great view from top floors. Can see Mount Fuji.
Breakfast buffet so huge and delicious!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Dear Guest
thankyou for your 5/5 review and great comments especially about our famous breakfast buffet. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,986 - 1,992 of 4,588 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Just spent the weekend at the Hilton Shinjuku during muy trip to Japan. This is really a good hotel located in Shinjuku. Very nice location, good rooms, gym and excellent buffet...very nice & polite english speaking girls at the hotel reception...all types of shops, restaurants just at a walking distance of 5 mins. I would really recommend this hotel for the visitors planning to stay near Shinjuku area during their trip to Japan

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Dear Guest
thankyou for your 5/5 review and favourable comments about our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Location & Transport: The hotel is located at Shinjuku, walking distance from train station, very convenient as the Shinjuku is a must-visit in Tokyo. However, do not try to walk from train station with your luggage. No need to take cab from airport to hotel. Airport express will drop you at hotel lobby directly (second drop-off point from airport), cheaper if you buy return tickets (instead of one-way ticket), generous discount if you purchase tickets with a JCB credit card.

Room: Stunning view, modern Japanese design, comfortable and clean. We stayed for 2 nights, nothing to complain at all. Room is slightly small but acceptable, this is Tokyo what do you expect? Gym is small but we did not use Gym during our stay – so much to see in Tokyo!

Service: Most staff can communicate in English well, please do speak clearly and avoid complex sentence structure. They are very polite and helpful. For example, when check-in, we were very sleepy and we had a lot of languages (after 3-week trip at California, Tokyo was the last stop and I was exhausted after a night flight from LAX). I was half-jokingly talking to the check-in staff if we could have room with least walking distance as we want to reach our room asap, they immediately brought our bags up (the lady did not accept our tips) and gave us the first room from the lift lobby (*smile* this is kind of cute). On the last night, my mate was not feeling well and I changed my transport schedule to airport last-minute, they quickly arranged transport for me.

Price: Reasonable given the quality of the service, its location and the city it is in. I will certainly book with them again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank yixin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Dear Guest
thankyou for your 5/5 review and great comments about your interactions with our team members. We note that you might be returning and we certainly are looking forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We had an executive suite, we loved the view of the city from here. Executive Lounge was lovely with great appies and a fresh breakfast! The hotel was very clean. However, I don't know if I am too fond of the glass shower sliding door that opened up to the bedroom lol.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank SuperSangha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Dear Guest
thankyou for your 5/5 review and great comments about your suite. Just to note for your next visit that there is a shoji screen that can be utilised to separate the bathroom from the bedroom area. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

A really nice hotel with great rooms, good gym facilities and an excellent breakfast buffet which is crucial.

Also as I found out one drunken night, 24/7 food available from downstairs. Don't remember eating it and apparently was a mess but the kind hotel staff catered for my drunken munchies ha ha

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Seb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Dear Guest
thankyou for your 5/5 review and kind appreciation of our wonderful team members who strive constantly towards hospitality and making it right for each and every guest. We hope to see you again soon for more antics in Tokyo - one of the greatest cities in the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here from 9th August - 16th August and we had good experiences every day. At check-in, we were offered early-check in at 11am and our 3 rooms on Level 34 provided us amazing view of Shinjuku and Tokyo as a whole. We also got discounted price for breakfast buffets because of our long stay at the hotel by the friendly receptionist.

Location-wise, it's located at the safer and quieter side of Shinjuku but the hotel provides a free shuttle bus to Shinjuku Station which stop in front of Keio Department Store (bus stop number 21) and this is really convenient for guests. If you prefer, you can also walk from the hotel to the hipper and louder side of Shinjuku which is only like 10 mins walk away.

Because it's summer and it's tremendously hot in Tokyo, the hotel even provided guests with free flavoured shaved ice at the hotel's lobby and hired a friendly guy to provide cute balloons to the kids. This is especially appealing to us because we had a 3 year-old with us who enjoyed this so much!

The concierge has a complete file of attractions in Tokyo and even if they don't (which is quite rare because they knew basically everything), they'll try their hardest to assist you.

Some really minor issues:

1) The rooms were cleaned quite late in the evening. On some days, the rooms weren't cleaned even at 5pm and we called to enquire about it. It wouldn't be a problem if you come back later in the evening but if you stay indoors most times, this may be a bit of problem. Good point: when they clean your rooms, they really clean them throughout. I thought their works were good :)

2) We were told that it was the school holidays when we went hence MAYBE that's why the hotel was so packed throughout our stay. At breakfast, there were long queues before we got seated so there was always that battle of patience every morning. Bonus point: wholesome Asian breakfast!!

3) We had a baby with us and he was cranky all night and I got some rude guests to shout at us to ask the baby to "shut up". HOWEVER, we were pleased that when we called the guest relation office, they quickly came up and helped to sort it out somehow (I don't know how) and we never heard from that rude white person again.

Overall, the staff were really attentive. They are well-staffed at the lobby area but maybe Hilton could do better in terms of house-keeping. 5 star stay. I would come back to stay here on my next visit!

Room Tip: Higher floors provide you with clearer views of the cities because surrounding it are quite tall bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farhanah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Dear Guest
thankyou for your 5/5 review, especially your kind comments about our team members assistance to you and your family during the very busy holiday season and also your great tips for other readers. We hope to see you and the family back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton for 17 days when we were preparing to move. I have diamond status so they gave us free internet, which is fast (although we have to sign up every day, which is annoying), free breakfast, and access to the executive lounge. Breakfast was a large buffet with EXACTLY the same food every day. The omelet chefs were fantastic. The chocolate chip muffins were quite good, although often they were stored in the same cabinet as the banana bread, which made them taste like banana bread. Everything else was pretty mediocre. The sausage was hot dogs and the bacon was crap. The executive lounge suffers from the same malaise as the breakfast buffet - same mediocre stuff all the time. It is depressing to go in every night and see chicken nuggets with ketchup (sometimes called "BBQ sauce"). It's fine if you want to serve the same chicken nuggets, fried veg, samosas every night, but just offer some Thai chili sauce to go with it and people will be happy. Better yet, take a page from the recipe book of the Hilton on the Park Melbourne (or any of the Hiltons in Victoria, New South Wales, or South Australia), which has consistently excellent offerings in the executive lounge. The room was fairly small, but we were traveling with a pet, and I believe they have certain rooms set aside for people with pets, so I wasn't expecting an upgrade. The fitness center was very nice - plenty of cardio equipment and just enough weights. In general the staff were friendly and helpful. The location was great, and in case you're here in the rainy season there is a tunnel that leads from the lobby to Tochomae metro station. This was very convenient. In general a mostly positive experience, I just wish they would have gotten the food right.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJacobe, Director of Operations at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Dear Guest
thankyou for your overall positive review. It is always a pleasure to welcome our most valued Diamond HHonors members and it was our privilege to have you choose our hotel for such an extended stay. However we read and must apologise that you found the food on offer in our Executive Lounge to be so disappointing and the breakfast buffet a little monotonous. Your comments have been shared with our culinary team with direction to find immediate improvements. At the end of October we will be re-launching our multi-million dollar renovation of the restaurant floor on level 2. Please let me know directly when you might have the opportunity to visit again and experience the exciting new concepts. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 84 in Shinjuku
4,138 reviews
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 84 in Shinjuku
3,175 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 84 in Shinjuku
3,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#13 of 84 in Shinjuku
1,008 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 118 in Minato
3,265 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 84 in Shinjuku
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo

Address: 6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: £195 - £550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 821
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tokyo is located in Shinjuku, the heart of Tokyo's business, shopping and entertainment district, and is an ideal place to experience modern Japan. A complimentary shuttle operates between the hotel and Shinjuku station and the Tokyo Metro subway is connected to the hotel. Relax in one of the modern Japanese-style rooms and admire stunning city views. The hotel offers WiFi and internet access throughout all rooms and public space. Rejuvenate in the 24-hour on-site health club and relax in the sauna or soothing whirlpool spa. Play tennis on the rooftop courts or swim laps in the indoor pool. Exercise with Technogym equipment, the official supplier of the Olympics and Paralympics. TSUNOHAZU expresses folkloric traditions and boundless energy of the Shinjuku neighborhood in an open-format space composed of colorful materials, surprising design elements and four distinct dining and entertainment zones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Rakuten, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hilton Hotel Tokyo
Hilton International Shinjuku
Shinjuku Hilton
Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing