We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay but will not come back again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tokyo Central Youth Hostel
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“pleasant stay but will not come back again.”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Tokyo central youth hostel is located at Lidabashi, Tokyo which is a really good area to stay. The nearest train station is at Lidabashi which you can access in 5 mins through the underpass. There are many eateries around this area which we have tried quite a handful and all are yummlicious. According to my japanese penpal, she mentioned is a french area.

The hostel is located on the 18th level which offers a really nice view of Tokyo. The hostel occupies 2 levels and many of the rooms are pretty spacious even for the 4 of us when we stayed there for 9 nights. The breakfast offered at the hostel is healthy and tasty at an affordable price.

The only few things that we are not too content with are the curfew timing for the closure of the building and shower. As much as we know it can be inevitable but we think it can be better arranged. Otherwise, service offered by the front desk are wonderful (except this young japanese guy who was rude which was uncalled for when we asked for some help.) The housekeeping for the room can be better since we stayed 8 nights straight. Not much housekeeping was done which made the room quite dusty.

Something to consider if you are on a budget or if you have a group of friends who you will like to have a stay with.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desfindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    39
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
3
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Orange, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

It's in a big building but the hostel is on the 18th and 19th floor next to the metro! Great location to Restaurant row down the street! Next to the metro! What a great place fun and happening also very very calm and quiet! So many locals stayed here! Great English speaking staff!! I would only stay here every time I visit Tokyo!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank NEDAPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Family of three stayed in the hostel for three nights in December. It's right next to the train station. We had a great city view from the room. It looked like every room has nice view as the hostel is up on the high floors. Staff were all very friendly and helped us with directions and etc. Hostel has a little kitchenette and convenient. All very satisfactory. We had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank redstrings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

I have stayed in many hostels and this one is good for large groups i imagine. but did not suit us as a couple. The bathrooms are only allowed to be used at certain times, am and pm. The kitchen also has restricted time when they can be used. Bathrooms only on the top floor so you have to go up a flight of stairs to use. When you are on holiday you want to be able to come and go as you please and stick to a rigid timescale. I have used many YHA s and this is the first one like this I have found. However it's good location. Right next too a station. On JR line. For a large YHA surprised it did not have a cafe on site. Not all staff talk english

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We booked a triple private room rather than dormitory as I was travelling with my brother and 16yo son. There is a curfew at this hostel because it is in a Govt building on the 18th and 19th floors only and similar accommodation in this price range is possible at chain style hotels where you get your own bathroom/towel/toiletries. It's a personal priority as you sacrifice kitchen facilities and opportunities for socialising. Free wi-fi in the common areas worked well and the staff were friendly and helpful. The building itself is right next to the railway line but it can be a challenge to find reception as the only sign we saw was on the directory near the inside elevators. Easy once you know to go inside the Central Plaza/Ramia shopping arcade. Burger chains and a convenience store close by. Easy access to the inner city Yamanote green JR train and close to Akihabara "electric city" The showers and bath room are on the 19th floor which is only accessible by stairs. Japanese bathing involves showering first to cleanse then soaking in a hot communal bath (men and women separately but could be confronting if you are uncomfortable with public nudity) There are toilets and sinks for men and women on the 18th floor.

Room Tip: The triple room had 2 sturdy double bunks and a sofa so could possibly sleep 5. Big glass windows g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaybee1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nagano japan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I stayed one night .
location is so good. Just 1 min from IIDABASHI Station.
Rooms are on 18th floor,so you could enjoy the nice view of Tokyo .

In a room ,we have 4 beds and big sofa and chairs.
You will feel relax in your room.
At night it was quiet, so we slept well.

In Bath room, they have a big Bath Tub and 8 showers .
You could try Japanese Bath.
Bath room and WC are not clean on the small corner.

I cooked at morning.
Small kitchin !. For just one people !
If you don not cook at a hostel, it is OK. You have a 500 Yen breakfast.

I recomend this Hostel for just stay and go sightseeing in Tokyo.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tatami28a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

There's a curfew at night and you can only shower during the specified times, but overall it's a decent stay. If you get back past the curfew, you can still get in, but will have to call and wait for the person to come get you.

Bed's a bit hard but relatively comfy. The room we had had 2 bunk beds (4 beds) and a table in addition to locker space. The bunkbeds have curtains around them. The view from the room is nice since it's on the 18/19th floor. It's pretty quiet except for some morning announcements sometimes. I also liked the wifi, but some people had problems staying connected to it. There's also coin laundry/dryer (no detergent so buy your own though). Hot/cold water is available on the 19th floor.

The shower/bath is shared space so if you're uncomfortable getting naked in front of others, bring a towel with you or get one for 200 yen. Shampoo/body wash is provided. If you don't like sharing and want more privacy, you can get a small hotel room of your own elsewhere for less than 1000 yen more.

Iidabashi 飯田橋駅 station (of 4 Tokyo metro lines as well as JR) is right downstairs. There are many shops/restaurants and a supermarket in the same building (on the other side).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redeyeblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Shinjuku New City Hotel
Shinjuku New City Hotel
#40 of 81 in Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Shinjuku
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
#20 of 81 in Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Shinjuku
Imano Tokyo Hostel
Imano Tokyo Hostel
#1 of 25 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Kuyakushomae Capsule Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyo Central Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyo Central Youth Hostel

Property: Tokyo Central Youth Hostel
Address: 1-1 Kaguragashi, Shinjuku 162-0823 , Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Speciality lodging in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tokyo Central Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tokyo Central Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokyo Central Youth Hotel Shinjuku
Tokyo Central Youth Hostel Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing