We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in TK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tokyo Central Youth Hostel
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best hostel in TK”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

very spacious and comfortable and clean, good bath room and clean toilet
staff very polite. location is also good
only bad thing about it is the curfew which is 11:00 PM
and that there is no wifi inside the room

Room Tip: there are 10/8/4 people room and you cannot choose the room but the staff will assign you to a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cloverx11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    39
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
3
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We'd looked forward to our two nights in this sky high hostel. The location is good. Very close to the subway & JR trains. Lots of places to eat (including a grocery store) in the building. But the rooms weren't as comfortable as we'd wished. Really slim mattresses that made for uncomfortable sleep. The air conditioning couldn't quite mask the Tokyo swelter, but that may be due to this problem:

The carpets had been just cleaned, likely due to some sort of biological accident of the sort that one doesn't really want to contemplate. The floors started out wet, proceeded to gummy, and by the time we checked out the enzyme cleaner had gotten to work--and the stench was over-powering. Again, not really the hostel's fault, but it did really affect our stay in an unpleasant way :(

Otherwise the facilities were good. Seemed like people had to wait awhile to do laundry (only one machine on our half of the floor). Plenty of bathroom/shower space. Wi-fi in the common areas. We didn't eat at the hostel because there was a great bakery downstairs in the building & we found dinner out and about.

Good for large parties--all 8 of our traveling family stayed in one room. Privacy curtains and lockers for those in smaller groups.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sydney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I stayed here for a night with a friend in a room that was for three people. Split between 2 people it was still reasonable. Oddly, it was set up for four (two bunk beds). It had a sitting area and a nice window. The staff were friendly and helpful. There were vending machines in the sitting area.

If you aren't from Japan, you might not expect its location (the website does provide excellent directions, which I didn't pull out of my bag - leading to 10 minutes of confusion). It is located on the 18th floor of a generic looking building. Taking the right exit from the train station saves time. Again: just follow the website directions and you'll be fine.

One good tip: try to get a room near the middle so you can get wifi. Wifi is available in the lobby/sitting area, but only extends to 2-3 rooms into the hallway.

Also: the showers are only on the 19th floor.

Overall, we were delighted by this hostel! While it isn't directly downtown, it is close, and it is easy to reach the city through the adjacent train station.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This hostel is very clean, offers very nice views, hospitable staffs that are very helpful, nicely located in kagurazaka district which is very cozy. Many local japanese stayed here and i met many wonderful people. It is a hostel after all and would be better idf the price was brought down. Definitely enjoyed my stay and shall return here.

Room Tip: my only advice is to bring ear plugs as you never know what kind of room mate you ought to get, big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shienchii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The people are very nice. Hostel is within walking distance to the must sees of the city has to offer. The only problem i would say is the price. It is really expensive it Tokyo in general so i guess thats is not the main concern of the hostel. But i think it is one of the budget friendly accommodation in the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Tokyo central youth hostel is located at Lidabashi, Tokyo which is a really good area to stay. The nearest train station is at Lidabashi which you can access in 5 mins through the underpass. There are many eateries around this area which we have tried quite a handful and all are yummlicious. According to my japanese penpal, she mentioned is a french area.

The hostel is located on the 18th level which offers a really nice view of Tokyo. The hostel occupies 2 levels and many of the rooms are pretty spacious even for the 4 of us when we stayed there for 9 nights. The breakfast offered at the hostel is healthy and tasty at an affordable price.

The only few things that we are not too content with are the curfew timing for the closure of the building and shower. As much as we know it can be inevitable but we think it can be better arranged. Otherwise, service offered by the front desk are wonderful (except this young japanese guy who was rude which was uncalled for when we asked for some help.) The housekeeping for the room can be better since we stayed 8 nights straight. Not much housekeeping was done which made the room quite dusty.

Something to consider if you are on a budget or if you have a group of friends who you will like to have a stay with.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desfindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

It's in a big building but the hostel is on the 18th and 19th floor next to the metro! Great location to Restaurant row down the street! Next to the metro! What a great place fun and happening also very very calm and quiet! So many locals stayed here! Great English speaking staff!! I would only stay here every time I visit Tokyo!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank NEDAPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku New City Hotel
Shinjuku New City Hotel
#38 of 81 in Shinjuku
477 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#14 of 81 in Shinjuku
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Imano Tokyo Hostel
Imano Tokyo Hostel
#1 of 28 in Shinjuku
93 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Space Hostel Tokyo
Space Hostel Tokyo
#1 of 63 in Taito
207 reviews
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Unplan Kagurazaka
Unplan Kagurazaka
#5 of 28 in Shinjuku
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyo Central Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyo Central Youth Hostel

Property: Tokyo Central Youth Hostel
Address: 1-1 Kaguragashi | Central Plaza 18 floor, Shinjuku 162-0823, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Speciality lodging in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tokyo Central Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We re-opened on 2011 as “Tokyo Central Youth Hostel”, accommodating more than 35,000 guests per year, of which the 40 percent are from overseas. Our hostel is located near Iidabashi Station, where is the heart of Tokyo. It is a very convenient location, where you can take Jr lines or Tokyo metro lines and go to Shinjuku, Tokyo, Ueno, Akihabara, Asakusa, Harajuku, Ginza and Roppongi. The facility consists in 4 to 10 people bunk bed dormitory style rooms and Japanese style tatami rooms located on the 18th and 19th floors overlooking a panoramic view of Tokyo. We place high priority on the concept of cleanliness, safety and comfort. Individual room keys and locker keys are provided upon check in. We are popular among youth organizations, young ladies and families because of the safety. For the security of the building and our guests we have a curfew that no one can come in or going out from 11pm to 6am. Around our hostel are plenty of restaurants, also convenience stores, supermarket, 100yen shop, pharmacy, hospital, post office around our hostel, it is very convenient. You can walk to the Imperial Palace or Tokyo Dome Stadium from here. We are looking forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tokyo Central Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokyo Central Youth Hotel Shinjuku
Tokyo Central Youth Hostel Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing