We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Stop in Japan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“1st Stop in Japan”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The first hotel in Japan for the family and we were pleasantly surprised. Check in was painless and the porters were quick to help. We had adjoining rooms that were reasonably sized, the bathrooms were a bit tight but had a great range of amenities. The Hotel is well located with cheap eats just down the road and close to the JR station, take note of the different routes so you can take the easiest one when lugging the suitcases back. We utilised the free bus to Tokyo Disney but book on arrival and the Mt Fuji tour also departs from Keio. The restaurants seem to be full so make a reservation if you fancy one and the little in house 7/11 is great for drinks and eats for the room fridge. All in all a great experience and we would return if in Shinjuku.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippin_4Kicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,526
    1,693
    464
    112
    86
See reviews for
1,089
1,209
236
663
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

* The room itself is nice. I got a business room so there is lots of extra desk space for my work. The rooms are quiet and clean.
* The annoying part is the food - it's extremely expensive to eat anything in this hotel. And the breakfast isn't particularly exciting. The breakfast coupon apparently only covers a western style breakfast. Excuse me, I am in Japan and want to try every food I've never experienced before. Please pass me the chopsticks. I refused to eat there and had the less-than-average Japanese breakfast instead.
* This hotel lobby is the biggest I've seen, and not necessarily easy to navigate. There are 2 main floors with restaurants, check-in counter (always busy) and other shops. There is a lot of traffic. The lobby does not have wifi either, which means that as an American with no Japanese cell phone, I need to go to my room to check my email and communicate with people. Not convenient.
* This place has a chaotic feel about it that puts me on edge once I leave my room.

I stayed at the Hilton Tokyo last year, just down the street. I highly recommend the Hilton Tokyo over the Keio Plaza Hotel. Superior breakfasts, rooms, and service. And you don't notice the large amounts of people like you do at the Keio Plaza Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

There's so much to say but it's quicker to say what I didn't like- nothing. Everything thing from the service, dining, shopping, rooms, and cleanliness was excellent. The lobby is luxurious and always buzzing with activity. The fitness center is nice and the shopping lobby is huge. The proximity to wonderful sites like local parks, the fun store of Tokyo Hands, and pachino lounges.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I was there during my end year vacation. As like others Japan's hotel whose functional interior, so this it. But Keio Hotel is one of hotel whose bigger room class than others. They had 2 restaurant for breakfast, and the Japan's restaurant better than another one. There are a lot of choices of food near the hotel. There are many restaurants at the downstair of lobby, which sell food start from 2,000 JPY per person, or you can walk around 1 block from hotel and find Japannes authentic restaurant which open 24 hours and sell food start from 100 JPY. This hotel loated near MTR station, you can reach Shinjuku station from Tocomae station which located 100 metres from hotel. This hotel provide local tours to Mount Fuji-Hakone area, Tokyo sight seeing and many more. This hotel also provide bus to bring you to Disneyland Tokyo, Haneda and Narita's airports. And this hotel has guess relation who standby 24 hours to help you to get direction anywhere of Japan. Such as great Hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyceWibowo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed here at the beginning and at the end of my trip, and the hotel was kind enough to store my large luggage while I was travelling elsewhere.

Service was great from the moment of check-in - Hotel staff escorted us and our bags directly to our room. The renovated rooms in the main tower are definitely better than the older looking rooms in the south tower.

I also liked the hotel's location - A 5 min walk from Shinjuku JR station. There are a number of camera stores and restaurants nearby.

All in all, a very nice place to base yourself in Tokyo.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nttnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I normally stay at Park Hyatt in tokyo. I couldnt get in so i stayed at Keio.
Im in the Plaza Luxe rooms. They seem to be brand new rooms. Its absolutely faultless!! ive also got views of the snow covered mountains.
Full points for room
Full points for breakfast
Full points for service
Fail with the gym (sorry Keio!!)

I would highly recommend this place and stay here again.
(there is very good convience store on ground floor too)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamMelbAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The breakfast concept of giving choices is good - able to pick different restaurants serving different breakfast meals was refreshing; traditional Japanese breakfast, international buffet breakfast, or very early morning American breakfast at the café.

Pleasantly surprised at the concierge desk where this young lady helped me with detailed instructions on getting to my meetings. The venues were in English, she googled the location in the map, printed it out the map in Japanese, highlighted the path, circled the train stations, and wrote the English names next to landmarks (in case I walked there), even printed out the train station lines, which train to take and which of the 3 lines, names of the stations (in case I missed the station and travelled the other way). I showed the map with the Japanese/English wordings to the taxi driver and he easily found the way. The clarity and time saved was invaluable.

Many customer friendly lifts, hardly have to wait long during peak hours for lifts to arrive.

Nice spacious room layout similar to studio setting with sofa next to bed and window seats. Liked the full set of amenities.

Room Tip: Please book hotel airport bus early as the spaces fill up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 81 in Shinjuku
4,229 reviews
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 81 in Shinjuku
2,866 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,258 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,233 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#14 of 81 in Shinjuku
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo

Property: Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Address: 2-2-1 Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-8330, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#6 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1438
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keio Plaza Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing