We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in the heart of Shinjuku”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in the heart of Shinjuku”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a huge hotel and there are maps available to show location of restaurants, etc. We booked a refurbished room and were pleased with our plaza luxe room on level 29. Very roomy for a Japanese hotel. Bathroom had been renovated. Both the room and bathroom were spotless. Amenities in the room were also great.
The club lounge is relatively small but staff are very welcoming and helpful (they are a great asset to the hotel). Not a huge selection of canapés in the evenings or nibbles during the day on offer but still a very pleasant place to relax and look at the view of Tokyo from level 34. Breakfast for club members is on the ground floor in the bar area. Whilst breakfast was OK, for the duration of our stay there was absolutely no variation in breakfast offerings - some little changes would have been appreciated.
Fantastic location to explore the Shinjuku area and, as noted by others, it is within easy walking distance of Shinjuku station, shopping and local restaurants.
Concierge staff are very helpful and, given the size of the hotel and the number of people staying there, check in/out is extremely well managed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oztraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeioPlaza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for the kind remarks regarding your recent stay at Keio Plaza Hotel.
We are glad to hear our club lounge staff and guest relations staff were able to accommodate your needs. We will definitely pass on your generous words of appreciation to them.
We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit!

Best greards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,466
    1,645
    449
    107
    81
See reviews for
1,054
1,173
228
639
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

It's the third time we stay at the Keio as a family. The rates are not cheap( japan is never cheap anyway), but I must say the location is fantastic, good food abundance just a 5 min walk away, shopping malls are 10 mins away. My only complain is that the free wifi signal are not so strong. For families that intend to visit Disneyland, they have a direct free shuttle.

Overall we will stay here again

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BernardWYLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeioPlaza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for choosing the Keio Plaza Hotel as your regular hotel in Tokyo.
It is great to know that you enjoyed our location and services.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The room is simple and clean, 10 mins walk to Shinjuku station.
opposite Tokyo metropolitan office, it has an observation deck(free admission)

However, since it is such a big hotel, try to avoid the peak hour to have breakfast.
I have the breakfast at 8am,all of the 3 restaurants are long queue.
Wifi is available in room only. There is no wifi in the lobby.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank yszydx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeioPlaza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Keio Plaza Hotel.
We offer free wi-fi access in only our guest rooms at the moment. However, we are planning to increase our wi-fi access to include the lobby area in the near future.
We look forward to seeing you again with our improved services.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I always stay at Keio plaza whenever in Tokyo due to the fact that it is a nice comfortable hotel and in an area i like. The rooms are always good, spacious and clean and all amenities provided.

This time around some set backs. Checked in early but told rooms not ready till 4pm which was way past their standard check in time.. However, we went out, came back and treid out luck at 1.30pm and found out that the 2 non smoking rooms that we had booked was full and the hotel was completely sold out and only smoking rooms were available. Knowing how bad smoking rooms can be plus personal allergies this did not go down well.

Weirdly after being told the hotel was sold out....they offered us a higher room type that was non smoking for Yen 2000 per night more. Fine with me as i really could not stay in the smoking rooms.

On check out (standard 11am) we asked if we could have one room till 12noon as a compensation for our original non smoking not available and having to upgrade to a higher room type. We were promptly told that we had to pay extra. To be honest, that is fair but as may be the front could have been more lenient and not so robotic. Not even did they say let me see or let me check for you etc etc.

I probably would stay here again. I just hope this issue does not happen again.

For the hotel to consider.....if you advertise all non smoking rooms when we make the booking, please keep that promise.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mhom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeioPlaza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for choosing the Keio Plaza Hotel as your regular hotel in Tokyo.
We are sorry to hear that we were not able to fully satisfy your accommodation needs this last stay. Since we do not have all the information regarding your stay available, it is difficult to pinpoint what kind of miscommunication actually occurred. However, please allow us to inform you that when a guest makes a reservation through online travel agents such as booking.com, agoda, expedia or overseas travel agents, all requests are subject to availability and are not guranteed. In order to ensure a specific room type on your next visit, we recommmend you to make a reservation directly to the hotel at www.keioplaza.com. Please rest assured that I will address and share your concerns with the responsible staff and stress to be more professional. We certainly appreciate your feedback as it is important for us to improve on our services.
We hope to have the opportunity to once again welcome you back to the Keio Plaza Hotel in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I travelled with my family to Tokyo last June12 to June 15. We decided to book this hotel because of its reviews and its free disney shuttle service. The reviews, were definitely right! This hotel provided us with a pleasant to superb service all the way. It has its own assortment of restaurants and shops that gives you a taste of Tokyo's unique culture. You don't need to travel far to buy souvenirs. You could just simply shop then and there at the comfort of your hotel. Also, all hotel staff are just simply polite and accommodating. I will definitely recommend this hotel to those who will travel to Tokyo!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peritwinkle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeioPlaza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for endorsing the Keio Plaza Hotel via tripadvisor.
We are thrilled to learn you enjoyed the hotel so much. Our staff always strives to offer friendly and and efficient services in order to satisfy our guests' needs.
We look forward to accommodating you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel between 2nd to 7th June 2014 for 5 nights. Booked a triple room for 3 adults and 1 child.Room is spacious and clean. Main reason why I chose this hotel is it provide free shuttle bus to Disneyland and Disneysea. The free shuttle bus is indeed very convenient for us especially when after a long, tiring day of fun in Disneyland. The journey stated was 60mins but we actually reached Disneyland in 40 mins much to our delight! I liked that they also provide fabric refresher in their closet which we sprayed generously on our recycled jeans when we got back the hotel. If ever visit Tokyo again, Keio Plaza is definitely my choice!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeioPlaza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Keio Plaza Hotel.
We are glad to know you enojoyed our Good Neighbour shuttle bus service and had a good time at the park. Tokyo has lots of places to explore, and you will certainly find something new each time you visit our city.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

It is a big hotel and can be very busy in the morning when all the tour groups depart, so be careful if you are in a rush to check-put. We had a ‘non-renovated’ room but it was not too bad. It was reasonably big and had all the amenities. Unlike hotels in other countries, they however do not provide any body/hand lotion. The concierge desk in the lobby can provide decent assistance with directions and touring sites. It also has some very good neighbourhood map that you would want to have. They even booked show for us as we do not speak Japanese. We also signed up for the ‘executive membership’ when we booked the hotel as it was free. It entitled us to have access to the business lounge which was very good. The lounge had a good selection of drinks (including alcohol) and treats at various time of the day. Be sure to visit the washroom and watch the automated toilet does its show. Breakfast for the ‘executive member’ however was a disappointment. Japanese dishes are usually low in protein and for the breakfast in the executive area on the first floor, there was hardly anything worth eating, more like a continental breakfast. We did not try the buffet breakfast so we cannot comment on it. The hotel is centrally located with great shopping facilities close by and the subway station about 5-minute walk away. Go to the Keio department store at around 6 pm and down to the food floor. It is jam packed with shoppers buying ready-to-eat food to take home around that time. They provide food samples very much like some of the grocery stores here in North American, allowing you to taste various dishes. Some of them are really nice. The prices of many food items also drop by 20 to 50% after the crowd is gone and one can easily buy lots of food, heat it up with the microwave on site and take it back to the hotel room. There are however, plenty of restaurants between the hotel and Keio department store where the subway system is located, so food is never an issue. Similarly, many of the bakeries in the shopping mall underneath the department store also have their baked products on sale in the early evening before closing. You can easily satisfy your carbohydrate rush that way. Another thing one has to watch out for is foreign exchange. Unlike other hotels, this one does not provide currency exchange service. There are currency machines on site that provides rates not too bad as compared to currency exchange stores that can be found close by. Forget about banks for currency exchange as all of them around the hotel only have banking machines with no teller service. The only one with teller service does not provide currency exchange.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NMJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeioPlaza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for choosing the Keio Plaza Hotel for your stay in Tokyo.
It is great to hear that you did enjoy our location and guest relations service. However, we are disappointed that our staff could not give you the correct infomation regarding money exchange, in particular that there is one bank close to our hotel that offers specialized services for money exchange with teller, available from 9:00a.m. to 7:00p.m. on weekdays, 11:00a.m. to 5:00p.m. on weekends.
We appreciate your comments in regard to the breakfast at our tea lounge. As you pointed out, the tea lounge serves a complimentary light breakfast for our members and indeed may not satisfy those who are expecting a full breakfast. We will review your experiences/valuable comments with our team as we are continually trying to make every effort to improve on our services.

Best regards,
We look forward to hosting you again and extending an even higher standard of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,063 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#14 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo

Property: Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Address: 2-2-1 Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-8330, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#6 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1438
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Booking.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keio Plaza Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing