We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Perfect business/convention style hotel as far as location. Rooms were standard - ours was in the older tower/floors- clean and good size shower. Again everything being relevant to Japan size accommodations. Location can't be beat though - few blocks to Shinjuku station above or below ground. Loved that being home base to explore Tokyo while husband was at conference. Restaurants and bars are good - not cheap though - so often left hotel for GREAT meals - much cheaper. Would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank worktotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeioPlaza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for choosing the Keio Plaza Hotel as a your business trip hub in Tokyo.
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and restaurants/bars.
Our location is one of the best in Tokyo, not only for business trips but for leisure trips as well.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,521 - 1,527 of 4,138 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

The location is very practical. However there are several drawbacks to this hotel. The rooms are very mediocre and old fashioned. Bed is hard and trimmings could all do with a makeover. The western breakfast is only served until 9:30am and the range of food is neither particularly fresh nor exciting and the coffee was awful. I hurt my leg and went up to the clinic and the staff couldn't speak any English and couldn't even understand what I was saying. The gym was not cool enough and the range of gym equipment hasn't been upgraded in years. I know this for a fact as I used the gym almost 10 years ago and exactly the same equipment is in place. All this would be ok if the price met the quality level of 3 star but it's definitely overpriced in my opinion.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeioPlaza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
We are sorry to hear that we could not meet your expectations.
We are not sure which room type(s) you were assigned to, however we have been going through an extensive refurbishment of our guest rooms.
Also, it was really unfortunate that you injured your leg and had a difficult time communicating with the clinic staff. We regret that we could not properly assist you in finding an English speaking clinic nearby. At the Guest Relations Desk, we can arrange a clinic or hospital for guests who suddenly become ill or get injured.
We hope you have recovered from your injury and trust you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I love this hotel in term of location. Good location, easy to access from Shinjuku station using underway. The hotel lobby was nice and big.

But...

The room was pathetic. Very small for 4 stars hotel, bedding was poor, hard, the funiture very old, carpet look not clean because of old, bathroom also old style, overall very pathetic room. For the price almost $200 a night, that was so rudiculous.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RolandL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeioPlaza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your review of the Keio Plaza Hotel.
We are so disappointed that we could not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us.
We assume that your room was one of the remaining rooms in the hotel that have not gone through refurbishment. In order to offer our valued guests with the most comfortable stay possible, the housekeeping team works hard to maintain our rooms. However, we understand it is difficult to erase the impression of oldness.
Assuming you give us another chance, we want to recommend you stay in one of our renovated rooms on a future visit.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Keio Plaza Hotel is a large facility that is very suitable for business travel and meetings. I shared with a roommate and our room was adequately sized to be comfortable for both of us. The bathroom was clean, contained several amenities, and had a very modern toilet with features. The concierge service was adequately staffed and readily available to provide assistance. As a first time visitor to Japan, I did not like the hotel location because it seemed too far from things I wanted to do but since Tokyo is so vast, according to others the proximity to the subway is a real plus. Room service seemed excessively expensive but there is a convenience shop on the lower level with a wide range of toiletries, beverages, snacks, etc. at very reasonable and affordable prices. The hotel pool was my major disappointment. First and foremost, it is not free to guests. Coming from the U.S., my experience has always been that those staying at a hotel are always able to utilize the outdoor pool. The Keio Plaza charges an additional $20 to go to the pool, even if you just plan to sit outside. (We got the impression based upon observation that there were different prices for different people.) In any event, if you have any tattoo, you are not allowed to go out there. I understood in advance that tattoos are generally forbidden at traditional Japanese onsen or natural hot mineral baths but feel it was overly restrictive and inconvenient for a modern tourist hotel to turn away guests from an average concrete swimming pool in the middle of Summer. I would not stay there on future trips.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CuriousTraveler8048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeioPlaza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Keio Plaza Hotel.
We are sorry for disappointing you in regard to the swimming pool.
We realize that tatoos have become popular and many people display them (tatoos) as a kind of fashion. However, we would appreciate your understanding that tatoos are not commonly accepted in Japan due to our social background and cultural differences.
Should we have the opportunity to host you again, we would like to recommened a package plan that includes use of the swimming pool.
Thank you again for your valuable feedback and expressing your thoughts.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in this hotel twice.
one conclusion:excellent and comfortable !!

Rooms in this hotel is very great. the environment is clean and the bed is very comfortable to sleep on.
When it comes to breakfast.there might not be many choices,but all of them are delicious !!

And this hotel is close to the metro and JR station,it's also convenient to go everywhere you want to go to !

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank 緯倫 黃
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeioPlaza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for the fantastic review!
It is great to hear that you enjoyed our room, breakfast, and location.
We have been working hard to ensure room comfort for our guests. We will share your comments with our team as encouragement to continue our ongoing process of improving on our facilities and services.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Tokyo.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Chose this hotel for two reasons :
1) It's one of the drop off/pick up points for the airport coach but make sure you book a place for your return to the airport because the coaches are not as frequent and they can be full on certain days and certain times.
2) Near to Shinjuku station.Take the hotel's east exit, cross the road and it's a straight walk of less than 10 mins.
In fact we stayed here twice - at the beginning of our trip and then on the return leg.
Booked the Superior Twin non smoking room in both cases and they were spacious and comfortable. However I reckoned we had a better room the first time round in the Main tower because it felt larger and more modern. Second time we were in the South wing. The difference was that it said ‘renovated ’in the booking details for the Main Tower room.Free Wi-fi in the rooms with excellent signal strength.

We took the breakfast option which was served in the Cocktail & Tea Lounge. As its name suggests it's really a lounge and tea venue with low coffee tables and a bit awkward for eating breakfast. On the plus side it's a very relaxing area with ceiling to wall glass windows giving a view of the mini waterfall outside. Breakfast was a decent (but not extensive) western buffet spread. They have a super buffet at the Glass Court on the 2nd floor which is where you will also find a slew of restaurants (French, Italian, Korean, Japanese, Chinese and a coffee house)
Hotel has a convenience store on 2F in the South Tower that opens from 5.00 am – 2.30 am
On our last night in Tokyo we had drinks and snacks at the hotel's 45th floor skybar with a splendid view of the city lights

No complaints and plenty of reasons to stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sengch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeioPlaza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for choosing the Keio Plaza Hotel for your stay in Tokyo.
We are thrilled to read your comments that we could meet your expectations.
As you mentioned, breakfast at the Cocktail & Tea Lounge may be informal, but we always pursue the perfect atmosphere and quality time for breakfast. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed the Lounge.
The sky bar Polestar is one of our most popular bars, with its opening in 1971. Polestar is loved by many of our guests for its classic/authentic setting and great selection of drinks.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Third time at Keio Plaza Shinjuku. Stayed in a refurbished Luxe room. Very nice view from 32nd floor. Everything is clean and nice and comfortable. Safe, free wifi, hairdryer, minibar, coffee maker, ironing facilities. Everything works at Keio and everything is near. A great location for exploring both Shinjuku and whole Tokyo. Shinjuku station just 5-10 min walk away.

Breakfast was not included to our room rate this time. There's a Royal Host cafe in the next building, which was a good option (great value) if you want to eat breakfast outside your hotel.

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kanerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeioPlaza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for choosing the Keio Plaza Hotel as your preferred hotel in Tokyo. We really appreciate your repeat business.
We are so glad to hear that the Luxe room met your every expectation. The Plaza Luxe rooms were remodeled last summer in order to provide quality space and a relaxing atmosphere. This room category has become one of the most popular rooms in our hotel.
It was stated in your comments that you "can't wait to go back". Well, we at the Keio Plaza can't wait to have you back at our hotel. We look forward to accommodating you again soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 84 in Shinjuku
4,587 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#13 of 84 in Shinjuku
1,008 reviews
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 84 in Shinjuku
3,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 84 in Shinjuku
1,403 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 84 in Shinjuku
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo

Address: 2-2-1 Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-8330, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#6 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: £153 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1438
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keio Plaza Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing