We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is my second time staying in this hotel, first time was 8 years ago my first time visiting Japan and first hotel. It is still a great hotel despite being over 40 years old rooms are excellently maintained like new. Great breakfast can select between western restaurant or Japanese restaurant for the buffet breakfast. Staff are all very helpful. For a hotel of age you get pretty big rooms unlike the new hotels smaller rooms.

Location is excellent, close to many restaurants and shopping malls and of course the busiest rail station in the world Shinjuku Station.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PiiJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeioPlaza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for coming back to the Keio Plaza Hotel for your stay in Tokyo.
We are so pleased to hear your compliments regarding the room, helpful staff, and location.
We will share your kind comments with our team as encouragement in our ongoing improvements.
We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Tokyo!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,551
    1,704
    468
    113
    87
See reviews for
1,103
1,224
238
668
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in this hotel the location is fantastic there is everything you need around the hotel, restaurants, grocery stores, buses, trains, parks. You can walk underground from the hotel to anywhere great in the wet and the heat of Japan's summer.

We stayed in a Double Standard Room non-smoking in the main tower on the 19th floor we had a great view, the room had plenty of space, the king bed was very comfortable (although the pillows were not), the bathroom was a good size, the air conditioning worked well which being summer we needed the room was great. The train station is 3 minutes walking to which you can get the trian to anywhere and very safe at night. The bus stop is across the road.

The Concierge were so helpful nothing was too much trouble the language barrier was never an issue we always managed to work through it such a pleasure to deal with everyone in this hotel. All the staff are a credit to this hotel and to themselves, be proud of yourself for making our stay so memorable.

The Glass restaurant for breakfast was good, the Sky bar a good place for a pre dinner drink and the view amazing, the bakery has good pastries and the coffee lounge on the lobby level is an excellent place to relax after a long day. We also ate in the French restaurant and the Japanese on the 7th Floor both are a little pricy being in the hotel but worth it we highly recommend the food it was glorious we would eat there again.

All the staff could not do enough to help us, the laundry service was fantastic and the packing of your clothes on return was way above expectation thank you.

We filled in the Questionnaire as you do then thought well that will be that, a few days after we returned home we got an email from the hotel acknowledging what we had said which shows they do read them and care what we think that impressed us.

We will stay in this hotel whenever we return to Japan and highly recommend to anyone staying in Tokyo to stay here, it is very central to the all the sights you would be seeing.

We can't thank the staff enough for our wonderful stay. We recommend the Keio Plaza Hotel and we will return one day.

We wish you good luck and safe travels.
Dallas and Leah Rowland

Room Tip: main tower 19th floor or higher, last room end of the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeioPlaza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Dallas and Leah Rowland,
Thank you for sharing your experiences and also for recommending the Keio Plaza Hotel.
We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us as a whole.
Your compliments are our greatest motivation in striving to offer a higher quality of service. We definitely will share your wonderful comments with our team.
Again, we are truly grateful that we were able to be a part of your memorable holiday.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here for a week during a business trip to Japan. Nice sized room, good bed, quiet, good location, great view, a 10 except for the front desk staff.

Everything we asked was a big deal. They gave me a hard time about upgrading to a better room, although I was willing to pay more money. They gave us a hard time about getting a breakfast voucher for a different restaurant in the hotel. They gave us a hard time about a late checkout. Their VIP fruit plate was a banana, a kiwi, an orange and a bottle of water.

But, good sized room for a decent price, so yes, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: pay the top rate and you'll get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siam-Orchids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeioPlaza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for choosing the Keio Plaza Hotel for your business trip to Tokyo.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the unfortunate experiences you encountered at the reception desk.
We value all feedback and use these comments to improve on our services.
We are, however, happy to hear that our room and location did meet your expectations.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here for twelve nights mid to end of May. Location perfect Shinjuku station few minute walk and subway on the doorstep excellent for commuting to any part of Tokyo. Also subway very clean safe and inexpensive. We had a Plaza Premier room which was in the main tower between 35th and 39th floor. The room was large and equipped with everything you would ever want including free Wi Fi. The views were fantastic out of the full length glass wall which was fitted with electric curtains I do mean this room had everything. Fantastic value for money in Tokyo. Concierge service were very helpful and informative. Yes it is a large hotel but the service we found to be excellent i.e. when my broadband access code ran out after ten days I called reception and was told they would attend to it, much to my surprise two minutes later a young girl was at my door hand delivering a new code now that's service. The room was spotless every day when we returned and the housekeeping were attentive to every detail. I would recommend this hotel to anyone pay the extra for Plaza Premier room money well spent and for Tokyo prices a bargain. One last thing on returning home I received a letter from Toru Higashi of the Housekeeping department thanking me for filling in the Questionnaire in the room I have filled in these questionnaires in hotels all over the world and this is the first time anyone has thanked me for doing so. So this hotel does care what you think. Thank you all at Keio Plaza Hotel for making our stay very enjoyable. Will we be back YES

Room Tip: Pay extra to get a Plaza Premier room in main tower floors 35 to39 Large rooms fantastic views and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeioPlaza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for the great review!
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our Plaza Premier room, services, and location.
Also, we are so pleased to know that our team was efficient in responding to your request. At the same time, we are sorry for the inconvenience regarding the wifi password and thank you for your understanding and patience. For security purposes, the wifi password has to be renewed every 10 days.
Furthermore, thank you for endorsing our house keeping team. We will definitely pass on your kind words to Toru and the team.
Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The rooms are nice but the location is the best thing. It's a 5 minute walk to the Shinjuku station. From there you have access to a plethora of travel options. You can even walk from the station to the hotel in and underground walkway. This was nice when it was raining.

We had breakfast a few times at the buffet in the coffee shop. Not cheap but we enjoyed it.
WiFi in the room. Good air conditioning (Important in the summer).

I will be staying here on my next trip to Tokyo

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeioPlaza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for choosing the Keio Plaza Hotel for your stay in Tokyo.
We are glad to know you enjoyed our location, room, and breakfast at the coffee house JURIN.
As you have experienced, we believe our location is one of the best in Tokyo for both leisure and business travellers.
Regarding the coffee house JURIN, it is now closed for refurbishment and will reopen on October 28th as an "All day dining Jurin".
We look forward to welcoming you back, with our new look JURIN, in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Visited Tokyo again in Dec 13 for 2 weeks and stayed in a Plaza Luxe Double.

The room was big for Tokyo's standard and the view from the room was magnificent, overlooking the nearby park. The complimentary access to the lounge (which i believe was only for those staying on the Plaza Luxe) on the 24th floor was a nice plus, to rest the tired legs with free beers, soft drinks, packet milk for the kids, and snacks. And given the price, i thought it was a great deal altogether.

One thing which i would have done more was perhaps to dine at the various restaurants on the way from the hotel to the Shinjuku station than at the hotel itself. While the food at the hotel's restaurant was reasonable, the prices were abit high imo.

My previous stay in Tokyo was at Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku. Comparing the two, i definitely go back to Keio again even though it is slightly pricier - for its big rooms which are suitable for small families, and also the free bus rides to Tokyo Disney Land.

Room Tip: Request for rooms with views of the nearby park. Cant remember the name though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbf2897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeioPlaza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for choosing the Keio Plaza Hotel for your family trip to Tokyo.
We are thrilled to hear that you were satisfied with the Plaza Luxe room and the Luxe Lounge.
As you may have experienced, Shinjuku is one of the most popular districts for leisure travellers, with its great shopping, various kinds of restaurants, and entertainment.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great hotel. Excellent bedding, bath, Wifi, and restaurants. Although the hotel restaurants are expensive you can always find a good eatery across the street. It's a short walk to the Shinjuku station. Learn the easy subway system and you can travel anywhere in and out of the city.
The staff is friendly but there are some language barriers. I certainly will return to this hotel. Airport bus stops in front of hotel.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a suite and get a fantastic view of a great City!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rcuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeioPlaza, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for the great review!
We are so glad to know that you enjoyed our room, services, and location.
Also, we are happy to hear that our team was able to offer friendly services. However, we understand that not all of our staff have perfect English communication skills. We will continue to strive on improving our language skills in order to offer better services.
We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 82 in Shinjuku
4,291 reviews
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#6 of 82 in Shinjuku
2,921 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,261 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,291 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#14 of 82 in Shinjuku
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo

Property: Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Address: 2-2-1 Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-8330, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#6 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1438
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keio Plaza Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing