We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, basic, clean and central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Ranked #6 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My family of 5 spent 7 nights here in May 2014.

We had 2 interconnecting rooms which were quite small. Only single bed configuration so my husband and I had to sleep in separate beds.

The bathrooms were very small but manageable.

The staff were all excellent, very well trained and helpful.

The mini shuttle bus that runs to Shinjuku Station was very convenient. Most days we walked but often after a tiring day of sightseeing, it was nice to have the option to take the bus back to the hotel.

It was unfortunate that we could not use the pool. My children are aged 5, 3 and 16 months. Hotel policy permits anyone under the age of 5 into the pool area. Even with a supervising adult. A real disappointment as our kids love to burn off some energy in the pool.

The gym was small but adequate. Great views over Shinjuku.

The restaurant was fantastic, and all staff who worked in there were very professional and helpful. The breakfast wasn't too busy, although we usually ate at around 10am every morning. We had dinner there too which was on the expensive side but very good quality food, always quick and fresh.

There is a convenience store located within in the hotel on the basement level as well as a few eateries and a local train station, not on the JR line.

I would stay here again, but not in the interconnecting rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samanthajmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,457 - 1,463 of 3,130 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located near the government buildings. There is not that much shopping in the immediate area, but you can easily walk to Shinjuku station and there are a lot of shops there. There is a subway stop near the hotel, you literally walk down the steps of the hotel and you are in the subway. If you want the main Shinjuku station, they have a shuttle service that will drop you to the station and pick you up. The hotel staff was very friendly and willing to help you the moment you started walking near the concierge desks. Ask for a map of the area before you leave the hotel, as it can get confusing if your walking back to the hotel from the subway. They also provide subway maps in English, which will help you get around.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Guame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed 6 nights in the standard room.
Location is good for my needs. Quiet and away from the crowed street. That also means you need to walk about 5 to 10 min to the nearest subway, or you can take the free hotel shuttle bus to Shinjuku station. (Hilton is just cross the road. They also offer free shuttle service.)
It has convenient stores underneath the hotel, very handy.
Room size is average considering this is Tokyo. It is very clean.
Nothing else to complain apart from noises occasionally be heard from upstairs.
In overall, I am happy with it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 223lt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this property for three days on business. Well located, clean and quiet, the room was very modern and efficient, with see-thru bathroom, great shower and comfortable bed with bedside light controls. Also has a great automated blackout shade for midday sleeping for the jet lagged guest. The Wifi setup is very clumsy and requires a device from the desk and help from staff to set up. Exercise room is adequate but small and the weekend opening time of 7:30 is not convenient if there is an early morning meeting to attend. Food at hotel functions was very good and service consistently attentive. Overall a solid venue for business related stays.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank hepadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The facilities at the hotel were all very impressive, well kept and maintained however the cost to use them was outrageous! Yes, Japan is expensive but $80AUD for breakfast was way too high. Being charged $20+ to use the pool?!

The staff overall we're very friendly and accommodating however communicating English was an issue.

Being charged for wireless Internet in a 5* hotel seems ridiculous.

The hotel was very kind in responding to out request with a room that had an excellent view.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mgee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed at the hyatt regency when on business in the area. It did not start well, after 17 hours of travel I was told that the hotel did not have reservation. Luckily I had the paperwork. The rooms are a good size for Japan and the bed is very comfortable. Ate in the Caffe on the first evening, not very impressed, Luke warm food. Breakfast was better once you have queued for a seat. I would stay again

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights on the tail end of our honeymoon. At first glance the hotel seemed fine. We arrived early (~10 AM), and check in was not until 3:30 PM. The hotel graciously held our bags for us while we killed time. When we finally checked in, we were taken up to our rooms. Immediately upon the elevator doors opening, there was a funky stench that we both identified as old dingy hotel. The room was fine - but that's about it, just fine. It was clean, and plenty of space for the two of us (especially in Japan where we were expecting a small room).

Our first morning there, we surprisingly slept in and made it to breakfast around 10:30 AM, when they told us we had missed the buffet. Instead, they gave us an a la carte menu. We chose the only Western option - two eggs with meat, toast, juice and coffee- which came out to 6600 yen (about 66 USD)!! We thought this was absurd. We had been staying in all four and five star hotels throughout our entire honeymoon, and everywhere we have gone breakfast was either included or very reasonable. For us to pay $66 for 4 eggs and toast, we were floored. Granted, Japan is an expensive city but this just seemed way overpriced.

The concierge was great! They spoke English very well. They provided us with maps, highlighting routes for us to take. Gave us advice of places to see and eat. Helped with transportation, etc. Very good service there!

Overall, the hotel was fine. The location was ok (they had a free shuttle to Shinjuku). I think for a business hotel, this would have be fine. For a honeymoon or a pleasure trip, keep looking.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view. Even nonsmoking rooms have residual smell of smoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Abby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,546 reviews
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,114 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 83 in Shinjuku
3,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,379 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#13 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,000 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Tokyo

Address: 2-7-2 Nishi Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Shinjuku
#3 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#3 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: £154 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 746
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented High-rise Hotel with seven-story Atrium, situated in commercial area of Shinjuku, facing Shinjuku Central Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Splitty, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Hotel Tokyo
Hyatt Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing