We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agnes Hotel and Apartments Tokyo
Ranked #24 of 84 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed at the Agnes Hotel for 10 days on a business trip. It was a great experience, very well connected (next to Idabashi station), close to my company's office and more importantly for Tokyo, big rooms at quite reasonable rates. Also a special mention for the hotel staff, really excellent Japanese hospitality. They went out of their way to help me including arranging for taxis, tours at the last moment etc. etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tgta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2012

I am writing from The Agnes Hotel located in sweet Kakurazaka district of Tokyo and I'll leave tomorrow reluctantly.
I had previously stayed at this hotel in December 2011 and even then I wanted to write a very positive Trip Advisor report about it, but sometimes laziness is stronger and takes over.
This time I cannot avoid to do it because I’m completely captured by the joyous atmospher of this elegant, graceful and sweet hotel in which a team of first-class, young, high professionalism and courtesy, that reveals the joy for their work and for contact with the numerous customers.
The decor of the rooms, spacious enough, is of great quality and effect for the beautiful color of birch wood furniture, also stylish and functional. The rooms, beyond a spacious and very comfortable bed, are equipped not only with a TV art, even with a stereo system that allows you to enjoy the highest quality without distortion and with continuity of several pieces of symphonic music transmitted continuously by the many Japanese radio stations.
The bathroom, spacious and elegant with beautiful rustic tile floor, is equipped with both a shower and a bath in tub (Jacuzzi).
The small restaurant La Colline, adjoining but independent, offers high-level dishes, characterized by French cuisine made, however, less baroque to the influence of the Japanese and Italian, and this especially for the aesthetic and the combination of colors and flavors. The espresso coffee is one of the best from me tasted throughout the world and the breakfast has the same excellent quality of the restaurant.
Outside, there is also a small patisserie "Le coin vert" which looks interesting, but I have not been able to experience.
In conclusion, I am very sorry to leave tomorrow.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gaeliov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

This was my first time in Tokyo and chose the hotel because of close proximity to the British Council. Location is great with the Idibashi metro/train station only a few minutes away and busy local streets with tens of excellent restaurants at all levels o pricing to suit your budget.

Rooms were were spacious and comfortable. Best thing about the hotel are the extremely courteous staff - comes with being in Japan I suppose.

Hotel misses out on many essential business requirements. Cable TV offered only a range of Japanese channels, even BBC and CNN were dubbed in Japanese. No wireless access accept a very weak connection in the front lobby. Wired connection was available and good enough.

Restaurant was priced at extortionist levels - you can walk to high quality and reasonably priced restaurants just round the corner.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjiqbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

The Agnes Hotel reminds me of a well run bed and breakfast. It is not a ritzy place, but has everything you need to get by in Tokyo.

Staff are very helpful, its close to the subway and lots of great places to east are close by.

It is a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Os_Ishmael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Small hotel very near the British Council office and close to the Iidabashi metro and JR stations. Not a business hotel so lacked some of the usual facilities you might expect and the internet connection, via cable rather than wireless, was free but very slow for the first couple of days of my stay. The hotel only has one (expensive) French restaurant and a bar serving basic snacks so not suitable for those unwilling to venture out. But if you do venture out there are lots of very good and inexpensive places to eat within 5-minutes’ walk but with no English language menus ordering can be fun …

The rooms are small but adequate and equipped with microwave and washer/dryer. The bathroom has a good shower and separate Jacuzzi tube.

Breakfast is a mix of ‘western’ and Japanese with eggs cooked to order and a small buffet.

Ver helpful staff - I'd probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank espressoHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

this is not a glam hotel, and the rooms are not visually distinctive. however, the service is impeccable and the attention to cleanliness in the rooms is superb. by comparison with big brand 5 star hotels i have been lucky enough to enjoy, there really is a lesson to be learned from how clean rooms at the Agnes are kept.

had breakfast once. it was adequate, but nothing special.

free wireless is always a bonus

no fitness facilities

location, is actually very good in terms of access to the subway (5mins walk) and numerous restaurants just a few mins away. There is a lot of European restaurants, so may not suit those looking for more local delicacies. There are Japanese restaurants - just not as many as French/Italian/Spanish ones.

If you have a copy of the address in Japanese (printed from the website) or their business card, taxi drivers can easily find using their GPS

One word of warning for non-Japanese speakers like me. A local Izakaya (kind of meat on a stick restaurant) specializing in chicken and duck that is located in the basement of a building behind the hotel (no connection to the hotel) should be avoided. Unfortunately, my wife and I were completed ripped off. The food itself was very good, but we were clearly taken for a ride

Thankfully, Tokyo is a great place to visit and after a number of visits, this is the only time we've had any problems.

Overall, Agnes is an unassuming place - popular with locals - that covers all bases very well, albeit very discreetly. So discreetly you might miss the effort that has been put in to make your stay as stress free as possible

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForeverHoliday123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

The Agnes is a perfectly functional small-medium hotel snuggled a street back from the main road in Iidabashi. It's quiet, the staff are pleasant and helpful, my room at the back of the place was dated (as in, 1970s soap opera dated), but the bed was quite comfortable, and it was blissfully quiet at night. Taxis dont seem to know the place too well, so English speaking tourists would do best on arrival in Tokyo to call the hotel en route and have the staff explain to the driver how to get there. It won't win any personal awards from my end, but it was quite well priced (I think I got a corporate rate through my office though), and you'll sleep well. And in Tokyo, both of those factors are a blessing...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peekay68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Hotel Metropolitan Edmont Tokyo
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
APA Hotel Iidabashi Ekimae
APA Hotel Iidabashi Ekimae
#70 of 79 in Chiyoda
4 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 79 in Chiyoda
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo
RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo
#9 of 84 in Shinjuku
412 reviews
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Hotel Grand Palace
Hotel Grand Palace
#29 of 79 in Chiyoda
502 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Richmond Hotel Tokyo Suidobashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agnes Hotel and Apartments Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agnes Hotel and Apartments Tokyo

Address: 2-20-1 Kagurazaka, Shinjuku 162-0825, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: £99 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Agnes Hotel and Apartments Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Agnes Hotel and Apartments Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agnes Hotel Shinjuku
Agnes Hotel And Apartments Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing