We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Price and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main
Ranked #25 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Price and Location”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The best part about this hotel is the location (only a 10 minute walk from Shinjuku station and 15 minutes from the heart of Kabukicho). After catching a shuttle bus straight from the airport to the front door of the hotel (At only 300 yen I highly recommend this after a long flight from the GC), we were greeted with fantastic service and a compact but cosy room. It has all of the basic necessities such as kettle, television and a comfortable bed, as well as a clean and tidy bathroom. We booked this hotel more than 45 days in advance and were given a massive 40% discount on the overall price. As a first time traveller to Japan, the English speaking staff were extremely friendly and helpful. There is also free wifi, and english computers that you can rent. There is a Family Mart on level 1 (Lobby is on level 3) which have fantastic cheap meals if you are travelling Japan on a budget like we were (and also great for hangover feeds after a massive night in Kabukicho!) Make sure you walk down towards Shinjuku Gyoen Central Park (gorgeous!) and gawk at the massive Government Buildings. There are no luxury facilities like pools or gyms, but that's not what I was in Japan for so I didn't care at all. We stayed in the main building (not the annex) so I am unsure what the annex rooms are like. The best part of all was that on our last night we were upgraded to a Premium Suite at no extra cost! I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough for budget travellers and will definitely be staying here again on my next trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisaeknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    704
    635
    161
    77
See reviews for
282
398
322
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

this hotel's best feature is its accessibility. there was an airport shuttle that took us and our luggages from the airport. the travelex office is a few minutes walk. the two-day unlimited metro card that came with the roundtrip airport-hotel ticket was used easily as the metro station was a few minutes walk also. there were many places to eat, including the takashimaya department store.our mount fuji trip started with a pickup from our hotel.our tokyo tour included both pick-up and drop-off. the room was tiny but we were on a non-smoking floor and there were two mirrors that a shortsighted person could use. overall and because we knew what to expect, thanks to trip advisor, we really enjoyed our stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: be sure to write reservation desk if you need a non-smoking room. i read on trip advisor that a coup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lala19a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Located not far from Shinjuku JR Line and the most convenient is the airport bus stop right in front of the hotel. Lobby situated at 3rd floor and 2nd floor consists of a family mart convenient store. Althought the rooms are small but is clean and staffs are helpful. I also signup for a Mt.Fuji+hakone excursion package with an travel agency located at the lobby. Pickup from hotel and back so no hassle. Whoever like gambling, there is a pachinko store beside the hotel too.
Is a 10mins walk from hotel to Shinjuku JR station connection to Oedo line too, u have an option to walk outdoor or underground if it's rain. And 5mins walk to Tocho-mae Station, just walk pass tokyo metropolitan buildings (no underground walkway).
As i have told u i like walking, so i can reach kabukicho (often called "sleepless town"-entertainment & red district area) in roughly 15-20mins.
The room (double room) itself has a mini fridge, tv, electric kettle, no safe box, iron upon request at the lobby, yukata & all toiletries needs. What i need to learn is how to use bidet (electronic toilet bowl)..haha.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleLatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Decent location, a less than ten minute walk to the Shinjuku station. The rooms are small but clean. The bathrooms are pre-made, tiny but functional and clean. There is no closet space, but this is Tokyo. And there are good restaurants and a Family Mart downstairs. The only thing cheaper would be a capsule hotel. I'd stay here again if I wanted to save money.

The bean pillow is too thick, but thankfully they also include a regular pillow.

They provide a nice pajama shirt.

Room temperature can't be controlled and the window doesn't open.

Room Tip: Be sure to request non-smoking if you care for that. Otherwise there is a smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mountaindolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

If you are a smoker, this place would be great for you. You can smoke in the rooms. There's even an ash tray in the loo.

If you are a non-smoker like myself, this is not a great hotel. We didn't know this was a smoking hotel when we booked it through our travel agent. As soon as you walk in the front door you can smell cigarette.

Although our room smelt fresh and clean when we got here, that smell soon died out and it had the lingering smell of cigarette coming through the air conditioning vent. It was worse at some points, we think it was when our neighbour was having a smoke.

The rooms are very small. The width of the room, is exactly the length if the bed, and the bed is pushed right up against the walls at the end of the room. There is only one way in and out of this bed, and it means climbing over the person next to you.

Next to the bed is a desk which holds the TV, fridge and desk equipment. That is all that is in the room. The bathroom is also very small too.

This is a good place to stay if you don't mind the smell if smoke everywhere, and you don't plan on spending much time in your room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SezDee205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flensburg
Level Contributor
194 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I´ve been staying for 5 nights just recently. My single room was small, but you have to have japanese relations in mind regarding space. The room was equipped with everything needed, though. Free internet access via WLAN, a clean bathroom, a small fridge, hair-dryer, tv and so on. Nothing special, but all one needs. Shinjuku Washington Hotel is huge and has a couple of restaurants on site, two of them serving breakfast for 1.500 Yen. There is one with a set western menue and one with a buffet, but the offer of western-style food is similar in both restaurants. Be prepared for standing in line for a couple of minutes at least at the buffet-restaurant during breakfast-time from 7.00 to 10.00 am! You certainly have to keep that in mind, if you are up for an organized tour with a scheduled pick-up time ! Downstairs you´ll find a convenience store (family mart), which is very useful for buying drinks and snacks. Great about this hotel is the location. It´s got its own airport limousine bus stop in front. It´s located just across the Tokyo metropolitan buildings with free access to the observatories in the 45th floor and the main office of the Tokyo tourist information. Shinjuku station is only 5 minutes away and the hotel has access to the station by tunnel. A post office is not far away, either. ATM´s there accept foreign credit cards to withdraw money. So, i liked the Shinjuku Washington Hotel just because of its convenience and perfect location. If you do not need any luxury, you will be fine there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pernilleFlensburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We have spent two nights in this hotel after having travelled around Japan and stayed in other hotels in Tokyo itself, and I must admit that this one was definetely one of the worst we have ever stayed in.
At arrival after queuing at the reception desk, you have an ice-cold welcome without any smile asking you to pay straight away. The rooms are clean but very small. The bed is pretty old and grinchy, the pillows are like cement bags, windows are not bigger than those in airplane. When enterring the bathroom you definetely think you are in a train toilet, and certainly don't expect to fit two people in the bathroom.
Pray that no tourist groups in while you stay so insolation doesn't exist.
On the positive side - nice view over the Metropiltan Government Buildings.
Quality/price balance is not worth it so if you have the choice avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Follow my adivse - Definitly do not choose that hotel. You could find a much better location/hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shinjuku hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Washington Hotel Annex
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#15 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main

Property: Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main
Address: 3-2-9 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hotel Tokyo
Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing