We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main
Ranked #22 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst hotel I've ever stayed in”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights in Washington.

Rooms are far too small even by Japanese standards.

The hotel is always warm and the queue for breakfast is about 25min long.

Reception is rude and the breakfast menu is almost all Japanese food.

Beds are tiny and they provide 4 hangers to hand clothes.

Smell of fish is horrible in all of the hotel.

Would never stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank barrheadtravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    730
    642
    161
    77
See reviews for
293
408
326
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The hotel is located about a brisk 8 minute walk from the South exit of the Shinjuku Station, so it is centrally located. A great eating area with tons of small, but delicious restaurants are nearby. The price is good, the rooms are very small by western standards, and maybe a tad for Japanese standards -- small bath with a deep soak tub/shower combo; double sized bed with almost no room between the bed and the desk. All Japanese tv -- no English. Hard pillows -- the kinds with beans or pellets in them. No counter for the bath, six hangers equals a closet, but the location is great and the price, for Tokyo, is okay. Our room had a porthole for a window and on the 4th floor, a view of an A/C unit.
Breakfast can be purchased with the room -- three choices: western, Japanese and multi-cultural buffet. The buffet does not change much -- bad eggs, great croissants, ham or limp bacon, terrific wedge cut potatoes, hot dogs (yeah, hot dogs), salad, and a lot of Japanese food that was interesting, sometimes delicious, but didn't change much.
There is a Family Mart on the first floor, many, many restaurants, including a pretty good teppanyaki place (review to come), and a few pretty hole in the wall places.
Elevators are small and slow and all stop in the lobby, whether you want to or not.
The clientele is mostly foreigners (including us) -- mainly Chinese, some Korean, a few Europeans and a few Americans. And about 40% Japanese.
So what's the deal -- great location, good price, reasonable facilities...
Service sucks. The front desk is rude and not too accommodating. The concierge desk (code word for the foreign desk) was rude. Despite staying for seven nights, they wanted to charge us $9 an hour for a late check out. The buffet manager was rude. All in all, they were pretty much all rude.
And what a shame. We will never stay at this hotel again, despite all of its advantages, because we deserve to be treated a little nicer with less obvious distain and condescension. Again, if you have a really tough skin, and don't mind rudeness, stay here. Otherwise, there are plenty of great hotels in Tokyo.

Room Tip: Bring a hotel room keycard from another hotel or ask for two keys so that you can keep the electrici...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrEricJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shinjuku hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is my 2nd stay here in this hotel and this time with my family. I had booked a twin room in main building and I was upgraded to a triple bed room with extra space which was a bonus for my baby gal as she had space to roam about in room ( Which I don't think she had if we got our normal booking room ). Location was good being right in Shinjuku ( JR trains/Shopping/Food ), hotel was about 10 mins to train station or an underground walkway from hotel basement to train station.
The room was clean and air con working well. Bathroom is standard and clean as well.
What I like on this hotel is the Airport Bus stops direct at hotel and there is a Family Mart which has almost everything.
Only dislike on this hotel is still the lifts! During my stay, hotel was full of tour & school groups, lifts was either full or cant get in. During this stay, I was lucky to get high floor (23), so, I could get into lift 1st. But had to stop on almost every floor as there was people on every floor trying to get down.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NgGregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Very small and not very clean rooms suitable for only 1 guest especially at lower floors. Not enough space to open a 21 inch luggage except on the bed. No closet. What you see on the net is not what you get. If you don't like the aroma of stale tobacco don't go to this hotel. Thats what the air is like although you request for non smoking room Bathroom is the smallest of the typical Japanese small modular bathrooms. Just enough for standing room for 1 slim person. Plumbing is good and toiletries are from Shishiedo. Thats about the plus point. Staff do not understand English only the ones at their International counter and that do not operate 24hrs. Our bad luck to meet a rude and unhelpful Japanese staff. Untypical of the generally wonderful Japanese hospitality Don't expect to get food to eat after 10pm or before 6:30 am except tidbits snacks from a small convenient store on the Ground floor. Although it is only 10 minutes walk from Shinjuku station I will not return. There are plentiful other hotels nearby the Shinjuku Dtstion.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tltjoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The title says it all. I stayed in Washington Hotel in November 2012. The location was good, only 8 minutes walk from the main Shinjuku station and the area is pretty good and quiet (West Shinjuku).
The price of the room was quite OK but the rooms where small. I knew that rooms are quite small in Tokyo area but this one was really tiny. I didn't have space for the luggage ( I had to move a cloth hanger) and the bed was small. It was enough for me as I don't mind small rooms and spaces (love camping in tents) but it might be problem for other visitors.
As for service and cleanliness it was good as typical in Japanese hotels.

To summarize: good location and tiny room but if there are better choices at similar price range.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rc e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Good location. Have international check in where they speak English which is great as I am quite surprised how little English the Japanese speak where I've been so far. Upgraded to bigger room which is a decent size plus had basic massage as a bonus. Recommend for budget stay but please give us one English free to air channel

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in a double suite. Very friendly and helpful staff, great location and easy to find, rooms clean and neat but very, very small, double room really more suited to one. Sparse facilities, coat hangers and hair dryer but very little else.
The bed was very comfy and there was a pretty spectacular view, but in all honesty, the room stank. Literally, it smelled like old tobacco and sewerage, it was pretty revolting.
Would rather spend a bit more next time and find somewhere else a bit more upmarket.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a non-smoking room if you don't plan on smoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyeTraveller90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Washington Hotel Annex
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#14 of 82 in Shinjuku
950 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,291 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 82 in Shinjuku
3,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main

Property: Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main
Address: 3-2-9 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Rakuten, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Ebookers, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hotel Tokyo
Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing