We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice to stay inTokyo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ibis Tokyo Shinjuku

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ibis Tokyo Shinjuku
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great choice to stay inTokyo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Not speaking or reading Japanese can cause a severe culture shock in Shinjuku - just look at the train station to which you just arrived from Narita Airport: this is where more than 8 million people pass daily through endless escalators, stairs, gates, and turnstiles. So what a relief it would be to learn that your hotel is a very short walking distance from the train station! Just make sure to look at the Google maps first (in Tokyo, Google has mapped out much more than in American cities - even underground floors are clearly marked). So you will find it very quickly.
The lobby is small, but the staff is wonderful - if this is your first touch with Japanese customer service, start getting amazed - by comparison, Canadian are the rudest boors :) The rooms are tiny (see photos), but well-thought out - and you will not stay there longer than needed, there is a whole Tokyo out there for you. The price is hard to beat, location perfect, breakfast very well organized and neatly presented. There are so many restaurants, stores, coffee shops, 7/11s and so on that the hardest thing would be to choose what/where to eat.

The windows have heavy blinds - as outside it is the ocean of lights and advertising. So you may want to bring your eyemask and ear plugs.

Nevertheless! - HIGHLY recommended.!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heyValera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibis_T0ky0_Shinjuku, Guest Relations Manager at ibis Tokyo Shinjuku, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Valuable Guest

Thank you for choosing ibis Tokyo Shinjuku on your recent trip to Tokyo. It is very rewarding to learn that we were able to deliver the high level of customer service during your stay. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel location nearby Shinjuku Station where you can easily access to other areas of Tokyo for sight-seeing.

Your kind review is very much appreciated. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again here at ibis Tokyo Shinjuku on your future trip to Tokyo.

Kind Regards,

Kie Sekimoto
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    478
    279
    51
    27
See reviews for
196
222
271
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this place purely because I arrived during golden week in japan and nothing else was left that was under 400 a night. I booked a single room and literally I had to laugh when I opened the door. I could touch each side do the room at the same time and the only place I could open my luggage was the entry way to the room which was the only open space. Also when I say luggage I mean a small carry-on, forget about large luggage it won't happen. Bathroom worked but a bit old but clean. Another surprise happened during my one night stay, a small earthquake. The room swayed very nicely and the bathroom module creaked but nothing crumbled so that was good. Bottom line this place is simply for laying your head down and nothing more. If you have a choice go somewhere else but it worked for what I needed at the time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank nomadicAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibis_T0ky0_Shinjuku, Guest Relations Manager at ibis Tokyo Shinjuku, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Valuable Guest

Thank you for choosing ibis Tokyo Shinjuku on your recent trip to Tokyo and taking the time to post your feedback of your stay with us during the busiest time of Golden Week.

I am disappointed to learn that you were not fully satisfied with your stay and we didn’t give you a positive impression of the hotel facilities and room space. Unfortunately Tokyo is one of the most expensive cities in the world that offers a limited space for hotel rooms in an economy category at the best value.

We hope that we will have another opportunity of welcoming you back to ibis Tokyo Shinjuku when you look for a budgeted hotel at the best value in central Tokyo on your future trip to Tokyo.

Kind Regards,

Kie Sekimoto
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

As stated in its website and all travel sites, 5 minutes walk from JR station West Exit. Clean; Cheap (you may get a cheaper price from other hotels of similar quality but defintely a bit far from JR train station)

I booked a twin room through the most popular Japan travel site, no deposit required logging on as member(you need to know some very basic Japanese or Google translate would help).
Just reliased ibis is under Accor group upon arrival, regret I cannot get membership points making my booking through that Japan website.
Checked with frontdesk if we can put the two twin beds together, thelady reverted that the room we stayed our first night cannot do so and she offered us to swap to another room from the second night, what we need to do was just packed our baggage, left it in the room and returned the door card to frontdesk 2nd morning. When we came back the 2nd evening, get the new door card from frontdesk and, yes, our baggages already transferred to the new room waiting for us.
Something interesting to share, there was earthquake in Japan dring our stay, no exception, the hotel was hard shaking for seconds, we just woke up by that. Believe it or not, we went straight back to sleep seconds, may be a minute, after the shake, we must be too tired or have, too much maybe, confidence of the building strength.

Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyChan_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We booked 3 rooms for 3 nights & thanks to the staff for having our rooms side by side. Simple hotel, clean & comfortable, no complaint except that the left behind of water with tea leaves in the instant kettle was not clear when check-in to my room. The lady staff who help us with our check-in on 21/04 was friendly and helpful. Location was good & convenient. Overall, its good, will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coming2You
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I was impressed by the location of the hotel - very close (5 min walk) from Shinjuku station which had access to all of Tokyo in under 30min via the efficient rail and Metro systems. I had a single room which incidentally turned out to have a double bed anyway. The room was very small with just enough room for the necessities. As others have noted the bathrooms and hotel in general are a little old but still fully functional and perfectly comfortable for a few days exploring Tokyo. Staff were very friendly and helpful with very good English. I had a great stay at the Shinjuku Ibis.

Room Tip: Plan your route from Shinjuku to the hotel the first time as the station is HUGE and has so many exi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutch_dl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I shared a twin room in the Ibis Shinjuku. It's not big, but there is enough space providing you keep your suitcases out of the way. The bathroom is tiny and a bit "tired", like so many in Japan. The bathroom door opened outwards because there is not enough room to open inwards. Reception staff were helpful and had reasonable English. There is a jug in the room and a mini fridge, so you can make tea/coffee. That leads to my one small criticism. We were unable to buy milk for our tea (because we couldn't read the labels and we had bought drinking yoghurt instead) and so asked the hotel restaurant could they give us a small jug of milk. They wanted to charge 500 yen (the equivalent of about $5) for this.
The location is great, although it is difficult to find. I walked past it twice before seeing the escalator to the first floor entry.
On the whole I think it is good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noosh03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#15 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#11 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Tokyo Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Tokyo Shinjuku

Property: ibis Tokyo Shinjuku
Address: 7-10-5 Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Star Hotel Tokyo)
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Tokyo Shinjuku 2*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your ibis Tokyo Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Tokyo Sinjuku Hotel Shinjuku
Star Hotel Shinjuku
Ibis Tokyo Shinjuku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing