We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shinjuku New City Hotel
Ranked #40 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Spent a week at this hotel with some friends. We had a twin room which was fully equipped and really spacious for japanese standards. The room was clean as common areas in the hotel. Staff was really kind. We had wireless access which was a bit unreliable on our floor (12th).

Despite its location in the West Shinjuku area (which at night is a bit deserted), it's close to the JR Station, which makes it a good "base-camp" to explore the city.

We really liked the free bus service from/to the station, even though it was a bit crowded and had a limited timetable. Because of that most of the evenings we ended up returning to the hotel by foot because the last bus leaves at about 22:00. Since there's not much life nearby the hotel, extending the timetable would be a good idea.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWJ79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    218
    144
    23
    15
See reviews for
77
124
61
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Decent price and location. Make sure to ask for a non smoking room. And a room which faces the park for a better view. Did not try the breakfast so cannot comment on that. They are very strict about check-in times.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Louie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our double bed is so small, we started to wondering if we were in Hobbiton. There's Wifi all over the Hotel, but could be quite sluggish after dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShuoChengWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shinjuku hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I like staying at this hotel. Everything is all good and staffs are all friendly. Only one thing that you have to seek for information about hotel's shuttle bus because it is a bit far from Shinjuku station by foot. Anyway hotel provides shuttle bus service so be prepared for its schedule and you will have more comfort.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Great hotel for the money and quite spacious as far as Japanese hotels go. We stayed for 4 nights in May 2014. Its close to the Tocho-Mae metro stop, just a few minutes walk, and its also close to Shinjuku JR station (about a 15 minute walk). The hotel has a great shuttle bus to and from the JR Shinjuku station which when we arrived in Tokyo was a godsend with our heavy bags after a long flight. The hotel is clean and has daily room service, with all the amenities you need like towels, hairdryer etc. We couldnt fault this hotel for the price we paid. Its obviously not luxury its quite dated but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vickster01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We book 2 rooms, triple and double. We were very happy with the service and the location. Hotel staff is very accommodating. The shuttle service going to Shinjuku train station was very helpful. The 2 thing lack on this hotel was a wardrobe cabinet. They only have hook where you can hang your clothes and the english channel. Will definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyvill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Ellyn, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. The first two nights we booked a double, the second two nights were in a semi-double room. The semi-double bed is a little tight for two adults, but manageable. Rooms are small, bathrooms are very small, but there is hot water for tea and a mini fridge available. Overall, this is a good, clean basic hotel that met our needs. It is a 15 minute walk to Shinjuku train station or you can take the free shuttle bus. Starbucks, Denny's, and Family Mart are close by. We loved walking through the park across the street.

Room Tip: Be aware that a semi-double bed is a little tight for two adults. Better to book the double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku
Hotel Rose Garden Shinjuku
#13 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
Nishitetsu Inn Shinjuku
#9 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Listel Shinjuku
Hotel Listel Shinjuku
#37 of 81 in Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Shinjuku
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
E Hotel Higashi Shinjuku
#17 of 81 in Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku
Hotel Sunlite Shinjuku
#36 of 81 in Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku New City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku New City Hotel

Property: Shinjuku New City Hotel
Address: 4-31-1 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shinjuku New City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Fastbooking, JAPANiCAN, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shinjuku New City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinjuku New City Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing