We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Ranked #12 of 84 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

This new hotel in Shinjuku sits in the middle of Kabuki-cho. The location is a bit peculiar, surrounded by love hotels and a bit in the red light district of Tokyo, so it might not be for everyone.
The regular rooms are small, but apart from that the rest was great in the stay: location is perfect to get to Shinjuku metro and train lines which makes it an easy place to visit Tokyo and around it; the breakfast buffet was nice and complete with wonderful views from the top floors. A cozy bar and a terrace in the top floor as well made a perfect spot to finish the day.
I will no doubt come back again here next time I am in town, rather than the more expensive hotels as the Marriott which although nice would not stay in our minds later on.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xoselo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shinjuku-granbell, お客様担当マネージャー at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2015

Firstly apologies for not coming back to you earlier.

Thank you very much for your stay and and taking the time to write your feedback about our hotel.
We are very pleased to hear that from you and We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely yours,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

920 - 926 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

Brand new property (as of Dec 2013), so the facility is in mint condition. Nice design touches. Very good beds. Open deck bar on a high floor offers a very nice view of the Shinjuku area. Breakfast buffet has a very decent selection, both Western and Japanese breakfast items. The rooms are tiny. Our room,definitely was not the smallest one,yet it had no closet and once the luggage was in there was practically no room to move around. Sound isolation is average and, although we stayed at a high floor we could hear partying activity on the street (the hotel is in a night entertainment/ love hotel area). We could also hear our neighbors, even as they talked on the phone. The staff attitude is great, for the most part. There were some communication issues and some staff members are slower than others (took us a long while to check in). Perhaps things get fine-tuned over time. The wi-fi quality was a major frustration, regardless of where in the hotel we tried using it. In general there was a feeling of a very well maintained student dorm, brought about by average age of the guests, the noise, tight space and a very high number of guests the hotel accommodates.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NY008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shinjuku-granbell, お客様担当マネージャー at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2015

Thank you very much for your stay and taking the time to write your feedback about our hotel.
We are We are very pleased to hear that from you and you enjoyed our hotel.

However we are very sorry about some problems and we hope to change for better these problems in the near future.
We deeply appologize for the inconvenience that you had to bear and ask for your understanding.

We look forward to having to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The Granbell Shinjuku is situated in Kabukicho, the night entertainment district, pretty much all the hotels nearby are love hotels, although the area is not dangerous.

The hotel is not easy to find, the hotel should put some pictures on the website with directions (like the Shibuya branch), it is near Hotel Atlas.

Because it's brand new, the facilities are great. However, the rooms are very small, so it may feel constraining after a few days.

The staff are lovely, though the level of English varies.

The nearest metro station is Higashi-shinjuku, which is not the main Shinjuku station.

The Shibuya branch has a better location.

There is a big selection at breakfast, the quality was slightly above average, and it is much better than the breakfast at Shibuya.

The wifi had a tendency to drop off. Only Japanese channels are offered, although when I stayed at a higher floor, for some reason I could tune into cable channels such as CNN and BBC. The staff said that this might be because I picked up the signal from another building.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chickenvspeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shinjuku-granbell, お客様担当マネージャー at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2015

Thank you very much for stay and taking time to write your feedback about our hotel.

We are very pleased to hear that from you and you enjoyed our hotel.
However, we are very sorry to learn that you found our location to be of inconveniences.

We look forward to having to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank forgottenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank minsae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: ひたすら高いお金を払い、サービスの悪さを受け入れること。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 和幸吉
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank ᄌ ᄀ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shinjuku hotels
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#13 of 84 in Shinjuku
1,007 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 84 in Shinjuku
1,469 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 84 in Shinjuku
4,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Granbell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Granbell Hotel

Address: 2-14-5 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range: £85 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shinjuku Granbell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in December 2013 and located right in the heart of the lively Kabuki-cho area in Shinjuku. All the guest rooms are modern and stylish with unique design concepts. Higashi Shinjuku subway station ( Fukutoshin Line, Oedo Line) is just a 4-minute walk away. We are also 7-minute walk from the Shinjuku Sanchome subway station, 15-minute walk from east entrance of JR Shinjuku train station and 10-minute walk from north entrance of Seibu Shinjuku subway station ( Seibu Shinjuku Line). We offer great access to every place in Tokyo. We are located in a convenient place for business, sightseeing, and shopping in Shinjuku area. The rooms are fully equipped with beds made by Simmons, and we also provide free Wi-Fi to ensure that your stay is comfortable. We also have ample hotel facilities. On-site restaurant G features casual French and Italian cuisine cooked by a first-class chef. You can also relax at the Rooftop Bar that has an open terrace from which you can enjoy a bird's eye view of the night scenery of Shinjuku. Please have a wonderful time with urban night view and nice cocktails. PC, Printer ( lobby at 1F) / VOD (a charge) / an iPod dock speaker/ Free internet access (Wi-Fi, wired)/ a fridge / an electric kettle / a telephone/ a toilet seat with bidet functions / a safe / air cleaner / a humidifier / an iron / trouser press / a transformer / a wheelchair (free rental) / coin laundromat (2F) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shinjuku Granbell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing