We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand-new hotel at inconvenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Ranked #12 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brand-new hotel at inconvenient location”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Location:
The Granbell Hotel Shinjuku is located relatively far away form Shinjuku station and is imho still located in the red-light district of Shinjuku. Because the hotel is relatively new, the location of the hotel is located at the wrong place on google maps so be careful and inform yourself well where to go otherwise you will find yourself in the run-down red-light building which was according to our research the address of the hotel when copy+paste the official address of the hotel. After walking around asking different people who could barely speak english, we finally found the hotel opposite of small boutique hotels offering all kind of services.

Rooms:
Be booked the economy room and I must say even though it is very efficiently designed, the room is very small and there was nearly no space to store the luggage. Be careful with the so far uploaded pictures here on tripadvisor, those are showing the more high-end rooms which are way more expensive. Nevertheless, the room has all amenities of a high-end hotel. The only thing I would immediately change is the "aggressive" sound of the television which should rather be relaxing and welcoming. The same applies for the elevators.

Breakfast:
Because the hotel was very full, the queue to have breakfast was approximately 15 meters. Overall the quality of the breakfast is very basic and the whole experience is more like canteen style. The view on the other hand is nice and the staff is very friendly.

Overall the hotel is a good alternative, if you can accept the inconvenient location and the small rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthias321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shinjuku-granbell, お客様担当マネージャー at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2015
Thank you very much for stay with us and taking time to write comment on Trip advisor.

We are very sorry to learn that you found our location to be of inconveniences and since our hotel is brand new, google map did not reflect correct location.


We want you to know that we take your concerns seriously and thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to fix something that is wrong.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    661
    201
    37
    25
See reviews for
155
629
145
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This hotel is lovely. New, chic, sound proof and in a great location. Leave the station out of the central East exit, walk 2mins down to the main street, turn right until next car traffic lights (there are small lane way lights) turn left until next lights, uphill and three streets on right. Rooms have iPod dock, toiletries, fridge and a terrific view. Roof top bar amazing. Breakfast provides a vast choice. The rooms are very small and the view and convenience makes up for it. Enjoy

Room Tip: If you are traveling in Japan as a couple it is better to book a twin room. Double beds are mostly l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shinjuku-granbell, お客様担当マネージャー at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2015
Firstly apologies for not coming back to you earlier.

Thank you very much for your stay and taking the time to write your feedback about our hotel.
We are very pleased to hear that from you we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to having to welcoming you back.

Sincerely yours,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The Shinjuku Granbell opened in mid-Decemeber. It is part of the Granbell chain which has a couple of other hotels in Tokyo (notably in Shibuya).
We booked the brand new Granbell hoping that we would get the same service like in Shibuya. We were in for a big bad surprise. The reception staff had no English skills to communicate on the basics..like how to pay, check in-check out, practical arrangements etc. It was a nightmare explaining to them even in sign language what we wanted. So first advice to the hotel: get some people that speak a bit of English to welcome and help tourists. The rooms were fine for the small compact sizes of Japan. We had some problems with heating which were eventually resolved.
The hotel is located in the red light district. The host clubs and love hotels are all around it. Not the best district to be located. Almost a 10 minute walk from Shinjuku station. Think again before you book.
Breakfast was included but for some reason they run out of fruit. In order to make them understand that we wanted some apples or oranges if possible we had to liaise with three people and have someone interpreting.

Room Tip: There are many room options. Try upgrading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Davincicode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shinjuku-granbell, お客様担当マネージャー at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2015
Thank you very much for your stay with us and taking the time to write your feedback about our hotel.

We are very disappointed and sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay with us and we value all feedback and will share your comments with our team. Also, we will take this opportunity to review and improve on the overall standard of our services.

We hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back. We would certainly do our utmost to ensure a more comfortable and enjoyable stay.
Once again we sincerely apologize for our incompetence and our lack of communication level.

We hope that you will stay at our hotel again in the future.


Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Incredible hotel !!

Rooms are modern, new, clean and well thought out. I absolutely fell in love with this place and made my unforgettable experience in Japan that much better.
Staff were polite and helpful, not that you would expect anything else from the Japanese.

We were lucky to stay on the 16 floor during our stay, rooms are a size you would expect in japan, and of a perfect size for the limited time you spend in there while traveling. If your spending all your time in a hotel you may as well of stayed at home.

The location was great, just far enough from Shinjuku station to walk and to be nice a quite. And if your not in the mood to eat out in the hundreds of tiny restaurants in Shinjuku and surrounding neighbourhoods the restaurant was amazing as well. One of the best meal i had while in Japan.

I will be returning to japan and will definitely be making this my home while away.

Thank you so much Granbell Shinjuku

Room Tip: Get as high up as you can !! The view was great !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrisrT7605LY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shinjuku-granbell, お客様担当マネージャー at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2015
Firstly apologies for not coming back to you earlier.

Thank you very much for your stay and taking the time to write your feedback about our hotel.
We are very pleased to hear that from you and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back again.

Respectfully yours,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

It's a new hotel so all the rooms were half-priced with free breakfast, which made it worth it but as a budget traveler, I don't think I'd stay here on full-price.

Good things: The hotel has that fancy modern designer feeling so 1 of my travelmates liked it a lot. Breakfast spread was good with both Japanese & Western choices. Staff were very polite and fluent in English. Everything in the room was nice and new with well-thought designs. The breakfast restaurant has a very good view as it's on a high floor. Check-out is at 12pm, which is nice and late, especially if you have a late flight out.

Bad things: I stayed in the smallest room (economy double) and it was the tiniest room I've ever stayed in of any hotel in the world (and I've stayed at a few business hotels in Japan). For 1 person, I think it'd be OK but it's tight for 2.

Issue: This probably was only because we were there during a peak period (new years day) but there was a 30 minute queue to be seated for breakfast in the mornings and then another 10 minute queue for the buffet. We also had to wait 20 minutes for check-in and there was luggage all over the lobby (not enough space behind the counter), which was messy and a little unsafe since the staff couldn't watch all the luggage.

Iffy things: It's on the fringe of Kabukicho, a red light district. We had no trouble and saw nothing more scandalous than the outside of love hotels but it may not be for everyone. The location is near to Higashi-Shinjuku station (2 lines) so it's a bit of a walk to get to some lines at Shinjuku Sanchome or Shinjuku station. I don't know if I'd want to attempt it with luggage.

Pet peeve: I didn't like the video they kept playing in the elevator because it gave the lift the effect of flashing lights. I also didn't like that the TV would be turned on when you returned to your room showing the hotel page with annoying (to me) music. But this stuff only annoys me and not other people.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingdomnoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shinjuku-granbell, お客様担当マネージャー at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2015
Thank you very much for your stay with us and taking the time to write your feedback about our hotel.

We sincerely thank you for your stay and deeply apologize for some problems of our hotel.
As we are constantly striving to improve on our facilities and services, we will share your gracious comments with our staff as encouragement.

We hope that you will stay at our hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

This new hotel in Shinjuku sits in the middle of Kabuki-cho. The location is a bit peculiar, surrounded by love hotels and a bit in the red light district of Tokyo, so it might not be for everyone.
The regular rooms are small, but apart from that the rest was great in the stay: location is perfect to get to Shinjuku metro and train lines which makes it an easy place to visit Tokyo and around it; the breakfast buffet was nice and complete with wonderful views from the top floors. A cozy bar and a terrace in the top floor as well made a perfect spot to finish the day.
I will no doubt come back again here next time I am in town, rather than the more expensive hotels as the Marriott which although nice would not stay in our minds later on.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xoselo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shinjuku-granbell, お客様担当マネージャー at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2015
Firstly apologies for not coming back to you earlier.

Thank you very much for your stay and and taking the time to write your feedback about our hotel.
We are very pleased to hear that from you and We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely yours,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Brand new property (as of Dec 2013), so the facility is in mint condition. Nice design touches. Very good beds. Open deck bar on a high floor offers a very nice view of the Shinjuku area. Breakfast buffet has a very decent selection, both Western and Japanese breakfast items. The rooms are tiny. Our room,definitely was not the smallest one,yet it had no closet and once the luggage was in there was practically no room to move around. Sound isolation is average and, although we stayed at a high floor we could hear partying activity on the street (the hotel is in a night entertainment/ love hotel area). We could also hear our neighbors, even as they talked on the phone. The staff attitude is great, for the most part. There were some communication issues and some staff members are slower than others (took us a long while to check in). Perhaps things get fine-tuned over time. The wi-fi quality was a major frustration, regardless of where in the hotel we tried using it. In general there was a feeling of a very well maintained student dorm, brought about by average age of the guests, the noise, tight space and a very high number of guests the hotel accommodates.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NY008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shinjuku-granbell, お客様担当マネージャー at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2015
Thank you very much for your stay and taking the time to write your feedback about our hotel.
We are We are very pleased to hear that from you and you enjoyed our hotel.

However we are very sorry about some problems and we hope to change for better these problems in the near future.
We deeply appologize for the inconvenience that you had to bear and ask for your understanding.

We look forward to having to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#14 of 82 in Shinjuku
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,328 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 82 in Shinjuku
3,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Granbell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Granbell Hotel

Property: Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Address: 2-14-5 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shinjuku Granbell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in December 2013 and located right in the heart of the lively Kabuki-cho area in Shinjuku. All the guest rooms are modern and stylish with unique design concepts. Higashi Shinjuku subway station ( Fukutoshin Line, Oedo Line) is just a 4-minute walk away. We are also 7-minute walk from the Shinjuku Sanchome subway station, 15-minute walk from east entrance of JR Shinjuku train station and 10-minute walk from north entrance of Seibu Shinjuku subway station ( Seibu Shinjuku Line). We offer great access to every place in Tokyo. We are located in a convenient place for business, sightseeing, and shopping in Shinjuku area. The rooms are fully equipped with beds made by Simmons, and we also provide free Wi-Fi to ensure that your stay is comfortable. We also have ample hotel facilities. On-site restaurant G features casual French and Italian cuisine cooked by a first-class chef. You can also relax at the Rooftop Bar that has an open terrace from which you can enjoy a bird's eye view of the night scenery of Shinjuku. Please have a wonderful time with urban night view and nice cocktails. PC, Printer ( lobby at 1F) / VOD (a charge) / an iPod dock speaker/ Free internet access (Wi-Fi, wired)/ a fridge / an electric kettle / a telephone/ a toilet seat with bidet functions / a safe / air cleaner / a humidifier / an iron / trouser press / a transformer / a wheelchair (free rental) / coin laundromat (2F) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Rakuten, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shinjuku Granbell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing