We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Ranked #11 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overall good experience!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Overall had a really good stay at the Granbell Shinjuku
So first day i recommend getting a taxi from shinjuku station it only cost us 770yen which is no more than $10 (AUD). We looked for about an hour and couldn't find the hotel even with help of locals. But after finding it for the first time its easy to find again! Only 10mins from Shinjuku station and all the main areas. Many comments on here about walking through red light district but its fine! If anything a bit of fun! Also theres ways to avoid it by walking alternate streets!
Staff at hotel all very nice, speak english pretty well. Its got everything you need! Rooms are a good size considering its Japan, bathroom also a good size! NIce clean and modern hotel. Would recommend for any type of stay whether it be holiday or business.
WIll stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandLover222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    645
    188
    36
    24
See reviews for
149
603
142
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Everything was great thus my high overall mark.
Let me list minor disadvantages:
- compact
- bit far from the station (please note, that Shinjuku is located very strategically)
- difficult to find however good maps are provided
- close to red light district, but very very safe and unnoticeable

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kazardan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed just 48 hours in Japan,so two nights at this hotel.
As everywhere in Japan, the staff was most friendly. The room was manifestly spotless and also really comfortable. I did sleep really well without any kind of noise.
Wifi was working well and the style of the hotel was a nice change compared to my previous trips to Japan (I stayed in real business hotels).

Anyway, advice for the visitors:
I highly suggest a very careful planning about how to get to the hotel if you use something else than the taxi (with streeview check and precise itinerary "study).
It's actually less than 15 minutes on foot from Shinjuku station once you know the way... But before and with bags, it can be a real challenge to locate it! in particular if you take the wrong exit of the Shinjuku station!! Do NOT exit somewhere else than the central east exit.
The Shinjuku Narita Express platform is far from this exit but you must avoid exiting via the south exit which is indicated on this platform.

Room Tip: As usual, higher room = less noise from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank M_i_k_e_GVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Hotel is about 15 to 20 minutes walk from Shinjuku station, if you arrived from Narita Express. Check-in time is strictly at 3pm, but I could leave my bags there while I travelled around the area.
Convenience stores and restaurants are everywhere around the area, and although it is located just one street away from the red district, it still feels pretty safe.
The service was pretty good, and they helped me with finding locations of various places. Was really thankful that they spoke English!
The room was for 1 person, but it was very very comfortable. A little small if you have too much luggage, but overall very good quality sleep.
Rooftop bar was really pretty, and looked very affordable.
Worth a stay if you are willing to spend about USD$100 per night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jia284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our room was amazing and we found the service to be very good. Others have mentioned lack of English with staff, but we didn't experience any difficulties being understood and receiving assistance. We booked a night out through the front desk and sought directions on a few occasions with no trouble. The rooftop bar was a great place to relax after a busy day, with terrific views and a nice selection of cocktails. Although we wouldn't recommend the restaurant for dinner (but I do love Italian food and can be a bit fussy with it - this was too oily and too sweet), there was a great selection of traditional and western breakfast choices. The bed was super comfortable and having a bath with one of many selections of bath salts while looking out on the city skyline incredible. Others have also mentioned having trouble locating the hotel - it's about a 2 minute walk from Higashi-Shinjuku station with one turn, a bit trickier from Shinjuku but only because the station itself is enormous and confusing. Once you get your bearings there, the hotel is easily located. We really enjoyed our stay here and would come back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Showustheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Martin
Level Contributor
126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Good location in Kabukicho... At 10 minutes by walk from Shinjuku Station.
We were stayed one night, and booked a room at 16th floor, with a beautiful view.
Rooms are spacious, and clean.
Wifi everywhere in the hotel (rooms, lobby...).
Washing machine.
There is a roof bar and lounge bar very nice to have a good time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cthsxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shinjuku-granbell, お客様担当マネージャー at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2015
Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to write your feedback about our hotel.
We are very pleased to hear that from you and you enjoyed the room.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours truly,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

First off, I want to start by saying the location is bad, which is why this "4 star" hotel is so cheap. It's a 20-30 minute walk from shinjuku station and there is nothing in its near vicinity.

Second, the real reason to avoid this hotel is they have zero value for customer service. I requested an early checkin since I had an overnight flight and just wanted to sleep, but when I arrived they tried to charge me approx $100 for checking in at 12pm and not 3pm!!! Absolutely ridiculous a full nights pay for 3 hours! After an argument they decided to offer me early check in at 1pm so I would have to wait one hour and pay $40. At that point I just said cancel the reservation and went to the nearby best western which is in a better location for the same price and they let me check in right away.

Avoid this hotel, this type of service is unacceptable for a "4 star" hotel. They even tried convincing me other hotels won't let me check in at 12 if I left. I understand if rooms are occupied and must be cleaned but simply trying to bargain with me for extra cash to get into an already empty room is ludicrous for a hotel that is rated 4 stars, now I know why it's only $100 a night.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
20 Thank Ash K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shinjuku-granbell, お客様担当マネージャー at Shinjuku Granbell Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2015
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback about our hotel.

We are truly sorry that you had such a disappointing visit because of the poor customer service you received and we want you to know that we take your concerns seriously and that I will share this in our corporate office.

Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to fix something that is wrong.

Yours sincerely,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
#5 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,261 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
#14 of 81 in Shinjuku
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Higashi Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#8 of 81 in Shinjuku
3,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinjuku Granbell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Granbell Hotel

Property: Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Address: 2-14-5 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shinjuku Granbell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in December 2013 and located right in the heart of the lively Kabuki-cho area in Shinjuku. All the guest rooms are modern and stylish with unique design concepts. Higashi Shinjuku subway station ( Fukutoshin Line, Oedo Line) is just a 4-minute walk away. We are also 7-minute walk from the Shinjuku Sanchome subway station, 15-minute walk from east entrance of JR Shinjuku train station and 10-minute walk from north entrance of Seibu Shinjuku subway station ( Seibu Shinjuku Line). We offer great access to every place in Tokyo. We are located in a convenient place for business, sightseeing, and shopping in Shinjuku area. The rooms are fully equipped with beds made by Simmons, and we also provide free Wi-Fi to ensure that your stay is comfortable. We also have ample hotel facilities. On-site restaurant G features casual French and Italian cuisine cooked by a first-class chef. You can also relax at the Rooftop Bar that has an open terrace from which you can enjoy a bird's eye view of the night scenery of Shinjuku. Please have a wonderful time with urban night view and nice cocktails. PC, Printer ( lobby at 1F) / VOD (a charge) / an iPod dock speaker/ Free internet access (Wi-Fi, wired)/ a fridge / an electric kettle / a telephone/ a toilet seat with bidet functions / a safe / air cleaner / a humidifier / an iron / trouser press / a transformer / a wheelchair (free rental) / coin laundromat (2F) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shinjuku Granbell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing